Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minor issues do not mar a fantastic title
Alpha Protocol is getting a lot of flak from "professional" review websites; indeed the general public seems to be echoing these views without actually forming their own opinion of the game.

Alpha Protocol isn't without its flaws - gunplay is weak at the beginning of the game (hence the sub-standard reviews; do you really think professional reviewers spend more...
Published on 12 Jun. 2010 by Robert Lake

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FAILURE OF THE OBSIDIAN ORDER
Strange things expectations. Receiving the same item may trigger either satisfaction or disappointment depending on what you were expecting. From a game that was developed by members of Obsidian, the people who had released such masterpieces as PlaneScape-Torment and Baldur's Gate, one expects lightening to strike yet another time. Unfortunately, they seem to have striked...
Published on 3 Jun. 2010 by NeuroSplicer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FAILURE OF THE OBSIDIAN ORDER, 3 Jun. 2010
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alpha Protocol (PC) (CD-ROM)
Strange things expectations. Receiving the same item may trigger either satisfaction or disappointment depending on what you were expecting. From a game that was developed by members of Obsidian, the people who had released such masterpieces as PlaneScape-Torment and Baldur's Gate, one expects lightening to strike yet another time. Unfortunately, they seem to have striked out.

The first thing that strikes you, however, are how bad the graphics are. Admittedly, great games have worked wonders and have been offering great fun with only limited graphics. There are games that are 10 or even 15 years old, when graphical capabilities were but a fraction of what they are today, and yet they are still more fun to play than most of the vapid eye-candies released these days. Unfortunately ALPHA PROTOCOL is not one of them.
The graphics look just bad. From the institutional colors to the awkward movements of the characters and the almost non-existent interactive environment, the game feels like a cookie-cutter Third-Person Shooter game found in a sales-bin.

Of course this is not a simple TPS game, it is rather a Third-Person RolePlaying Shooter (RPS). Your character advances in level and he also has an inventory. There are classes to choose from and skills to add to. There are different weapons and armor to equip with. Stealth is very important yet not the only way to go and there is a spy story unfolding through the dialogue options and cut-scenes. All this looks quite good on paper yet, somehow, it failed to work for me. And I have been an RPG fan for years.

The story is not absorbing and the characters are caricatures rather than the deep, complex characters one enjoys in a good RPG. The RPG elements are all there but they seem to get in the way of one another and work together. Having a time limit on the (Mass Effect 2-short) dialogue options is not a good thing either.

ALPHA PROTOCOL also sports...mini games. With variations of ideas we have seen in Fallout 3 and Bioshock, hacking and lock-picking are carried out by completing mini-games that (just like in those previous games) get old and tedious. Fast.

As DRM goes, good ol' SEGA slipped in a Limited Activations scheme - but promised to patch it out in about a year, so the game will stay yours. If promises are kept that is.

An RPG that strives to also be a shooter, a stealth tactical game with the possibility of bullet time, an endlessly bifurcating story that manages to end up predictable. This is a game that takes up a lot of different elements on its brush but the picture it paints in the end is unoriginal if not confusing. Had all the different elements worked together, this would had been a masterpiece. Unfortunately, inspiration alone is not enough.
All in all, ALPHA PROTOCOL consists of a lot of good ideas that got thrown together but were then left underdeveloped and unrefined. Maybe they exhausted their A-game on developing the upcoming Fallout: New Vegas, who knows.

Because of the developing team's history, I will be overlooking this one.
If you are out of ideas guys, I would propose developing a game looking like DIABLO III and playing like BALDUR's GATE. And if it had a steampunk setting it would be heaven.

ALPHA PROTOCOL will be remembered as a bump on the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was great, when it worked., 26 July 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alpha Protocol (PC) (CD-ROM)
When I first got this it worked. Albeit, with bugs; the mouse would work erratically - making your character do full u-turns with no warning to name but one hugely frustrating bug. There are quite a few, sadly.

Having upgraded to Windows7 the game doesn't work at all now - it just says 'Alpha Protocol has stopped working...' the support suggested some fixes to begin but when I reported back that their suggestions had not worked, they didn't reply to subsequent emails.

This would be a good game without the bugs, but with it not working on Windows7 I'm afraid this is confined to the history books.

Do not recommend this unless you know a lot about how to get a game to work and can be bothered to search the forums for potential fixes (as I did, tho none worked)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minor issues do not mar a fantastic title, 12 Jun. 2010
By 
Robert Lake - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alpha Protocol (PC) (CD-ROM)
Alpha Protocol is getting a lot of flak from "professional" review websites; indeed the general public seems to be echoing these views without actually forming their own opinion of the game.

Alpha Protocol isn't without its flaws - gunplay is weak at the beginning of the game (hence the sub-standard reviews; do you really think professional reviewers spend more than a few hours playing a game before they give their verdict?) and the background loading causes stuttering which ends up being more annoying than traditional loading screens.

Past these minor flaws, however, you'll find a game with an absolutely impeccable dialogue system. This game begs to be replayed just to see the different responses the player character (Mike Thorton) can give. This leads on to the penultimate point of this review - the game is advertised with the tagline of "choice is your weapon"; the game really does not dissapoint. Every decision or action you make has tremendous reprocussions and said events can wildly change the course of the game. As said earlier, Alpha Protocol has massive replay value. One can only hope that other developers take note of how Obsidian has implemented both the dialogue and branching paths system (although with the undeserved poor reviews, this does not seem likely).

In summation, whilst the gunplay is initially weak and there are some technical issues, once you get past these minor flaws you'll find a clever, groundbreaking game that is definetly up there with current blockbusters such as Mass Effect 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games played in a long while, 11 Feb. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Wirral, Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alpha Protocol (PC) (CD-ROM)
Having been a massive fan of System Shock 2 and the first of the Deus Ex games, the combination of the FPS and RPG styles of play have been sucessfully merged in these two games. Fallout 3 and New Vegas are also similar and just as equally successful.

In my mind Alpha Protocol continues this style of game play, although it tends to follow more the Deus Ex route of a spy/espionage thriller. Considering the bad reviews available I was reluctant to buy the game but when I saw it cheaper on Amazon then on steam (still selling for £20+) I felt it a bargin and the readup of the game sold me.

I do not regret the decision to buy, this is a great game! With some flaws of cause.

I am not going to repeat the read up of the game, but I would like to point out the three aspects of the game I have really enjoyed:
1: Customising your character and equipment
2: The mini games situated within the game, such as hacking computers and laptops, breaking into keypads etc
3: No one method of ending the game. There is a continous dialogue with many characters through out the game, your reputation with these characters can determine if someone lives or dies, or if somebody will provide information or help you in the next mission etc

There are other reasons I love this game, but they are the main three.

So far I have come across only two flaws in the game and both are graphical. The first is a intermittant error when dropped items such as ammo or cash gets stuck in the enviroment, the second is a camera issue when it struggles to determin the best angle to show your character.

To be honest these glitches are rare but annoying when they occur but I had to mention it.

Any way ignoring that, this is a great game and would highly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, despite a premature release by Sega, 7 May 2014
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alpha Protocol (PC) (CD-ROM)
Mike Thorton is the newest recruit to Alpha Protocol, a clandestine American security organisation operating with maximum deniability. When an operation goes wrong and Thorton is targeted for assassination by shadowy forces operating within Alpha Protocol, he is forced to go undercover, expose a devastating international conspiracy and clear his name.

Alpha Protocol is a combat-focused, third-person RPG from Obsidian Entertainment, the developers of Fallout: New Vegas, Neverwinter Nights 2 and the recent South Park: The Stick of Truth. The game is more than slightly reminiscent of BioWare's Mass Effect franchise, with its reliance on cover-based combat and dialogue choices having a huge impact on how the game proceeds. Unlike the team-based mechanics of the Mass Effect trilogy, however, Alpha Protocol's hero Mike Thorton is a lone operator who has a wide array of stealth options to enhance his combat repertoire.

The game is structured around a series of missions in certain cities, including Rome, Moscow and Taipei. In each city Thorton has a home base where he can catch up on email, watch news reports (periodically updated to comment on the chaos caused by his latest operation) and buy new weapons and equipment. From each base he can rally out to do missions, which are sometimes nothing more than short cut scenes as Thorton tries to wheedle information out of someone else but are sometimes long and elaborate infiltration and combat operations. For each mission Thorton can attempt to achieve his objective through sneaking into locations without being seen, going in all guns blazing or attempt diplomacy (or some combination of the three). He also has the ability to hack security systems, remotely unlock doors or set traps. A levelling-and-skill system also gives Thorton a wide array of abilities he can upgrade to improve his chances of success.

The game is also heavily focused on characterisation. Thorton has a reputation with every character in the game, even enemies, and he can improve that reputation by saying the right things to them in dialogue. You can generally engage in conversations aggressively (inspired by Jack Bauer), suavely (inspired by James Bond) or professionally (inspired by Jason Bourne), with occasional extra options available if you have researched the right info about the character. Intelligence dossiers (bought through the black market or found on missions) hold clues as to how people will respond in certain situations, allowing you to manipulate them into helping you out. It's a clever system, enhanced by some satisfying dialogue (written by the mighty Chris Avellone) and some terrific, unexpected outcomes which radically change the way the story develops.

The game's reactivity is probably its best feature, with characters living or dying (sometimes taking entire storylines and occasional missions with them) based on your actions, or how you go about doing things. Alpha Protocol rewards replaying more than most games for this reason, with real consequences to your decisions.

Unfortunately, whilst the plot is excellent and the characterisation is strong, the actual gameplay is occasionally wonky. Infamously, the game was released by Sega in a highly unpolished state, as they had refused to give the game a full QA or testing pass after taking the initial build off Obsidian's hands. Minor bugs - clipping, jumpy camera controls, the physics engine occasionally going berserk - occasionally blight the game but are easily ignorable. More severe are problems with the game not reacting properly to your actions. For example, my usual approach to a mission was to attempt stealth but by around 50% of the way through each mission I'd given up on that and was resorting to gunplay. Yet my version of Thorton soon gained a reputation as a ghost, with other characters reacting to my ability to slip in and out of places undetected with awe. Considering I'd left a trail of blood, fire, chaos and bodies across most of Eurasia behind me, this didn't really make sense. There's also the fact that - especially on PC - the hacking minigame suffers from such poor and unresponsive controls that it's almost unusable.

Combat is reasonable, although pouring points into stealth soon makes you almost invulnerable, able to attack targets at will and hide almost in broad daylight. The stealth part of the game is fun but also made too easy by unconscious enemy bodies vanishing after a few seconds, meaning you don't have to worry about them being discovered. Instant takedowns (lethal or not) are also possible if you take the target by surprise. Played the right way, combat can be trivially easy. There's also periodic bossfights which, depending on the game's whim are either brutally hard or ridiculously straightforward: many areas have blindspots where the bosses can't see you, allowing you to shoot them with impunity.

Alpha Protocol does have a reputation for being heavily bugged, although I did not find this to be the case. Minor bugs abound, but on only two occasions was I forced to reload. Out of a 15-hour game, that's not too bad at all. It's a game clearly in need of a few more months of polishing, but it's still perfectly playable to completion.

Alpha Protocol (****) is a fun, clever, well-written and smart game hampered by minor-but-constant gameplay flaws and a few broken systems. The game is highly replayable and has some great ideas, but in many ways it feels like an early prototype of a style of game that would be achieved with considerably greater skill by Deus Ex: Human Revolution. Alpha Protocol is flawed and underrated gem that is definitely worth a second look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun but flawed niche spy RPG, 31 May 2010
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alpha Protocol (PC) (CD-ROM)
Played on Windows Vista 64bit & Windows 7 64bit.

Technical advice: If your having trouble activating the game, then type "Alpha Protocol - Activation Update" into your search engine & look for the one that has "SEGA" in the link address. This Patch worked for me when the game said my internet connection was undetected & wouldn't let me start the game, the patch took like 2 seconds to install & now i can instantly launch into the game.

Alpha Protocol is a rough & flawed RPG, where the story and characters take president over the in game action & visuals. So don't come into this expecting a game with polished action or top visual quality, as you will be buying a game that isn't right for you. This is all about taking on the role of a spy, managing they're skills, limited appearance, weapons, mods & the main event interaction with NPC's. Where upon what you decide through your actions & conversations leads the games story down different routes. Pick who lives & dies, what decisions to make on missions, preserve life with non lethal combat or kill everything standing, be a suave womaniser or a complete dick, whatever you want. For this, it is a very good game in the way it reacts to your decisions, despite some obvious bugs, glitches & it being less than a top A game all round.

You play Mike Thorton (you can personalize your character visually a bit more with a limited selection of choices, from hair styles, beards, glasses, etc..) who you can mold into anything you like (with an experience background of your choosing), a stealthy suave Spy whose in & out before anyone noticed you were even there, or a cigar chomping kick down doors and count the bodies later Solider, or a complete professional all the way with a mixture, its up to you! you have 9 skills to pick & upgrade too, specializing in just 3 however, from stealth, pistols, submachine guns, shotguns, assault rifles, sabotage, technical aptitude, toughness and martial arts.

Alongside these are the different armor types you can buy, from heavy duty armored suites which are noisy or sleek lightweight and less noisy stealth suites and a few more inbetween for balance. Similar thing with the weapons, you can buy a different quality & array of guns with different ammo types. Both of which offer additional upgrades, with armor you can go for additional stealth, extra armor or computer hacking mods etc... with weapons you can have up to 4 different upgrades from barrel type (eg. silencer or rifling for more damage), gun sights (eg. laser sight), magazine (eg. extended clip or balanced clip) & an accessory (eg. lightweight frame or modified gun chamber). Each will grant you bonuses in some areas of the equipment, but then take away from others, so choices to be made on what you want to specialize in, more damage at the expense of accuracy or vice versa etc...

The gadgets, as everyone knows, gadgets are the staple of the spy, and here we have a selection of lethal & non-lethal types, flashbang, electrocution shock nades, explosive, incendiaries, all of which can be upgraded in damage output or area of effect, and can be thrown or placed on surfaces to ambush enemies. You also have more gadgets that are more gadgety actually, the Mimic which can cancel out alarms or the sound device to get guards to look/run to a place of your choosing so you can slip by or break up guard patrols etc...

The story & intelligence gathering along the way is very good, where you can learn or buy dossier information about the major NPC's or factions in the game, which can help you steer conversations in the right direction or gather important information to work out what is going on with the story & back story. Before missions you can also buy extra intelligence on the area you are going to, like a basic map, or you can go a bit deeper with things like how to take down the security easily, or have a mercenary company draw troops away from your target by having them carry out attacks on other nearby locations, so there are less enemies or lesser quality troops on location when you arrive. Obviously these options are just that, they do make things easier, but you DON'T have to have them, the choice is yours.

The games story will twist & turn on the conversation system, where you are given a limited amount of time to choose a specific response towards NPC's. Generally you will be presented with a selection of responses, such as suave/cocky, agressive/impatient, or professional/practical(also depending on how much info you have on a character, via their dossier, you will also open up more dialogue options, as well as have an understanding of how they will react to certain stances). Depending on your choice each NPC will react positively(+1), negatively (-1) or neutraly(0), which will affect their personal standing towards you (Dislike, neutral, like or friendship) and you might get different outcomes of good/bad information this way. Also the way you physically treat an NPC will have implications to NPC's/missions later in the game, as also in some cases you have the option to kill/arrest/bargain with some NPC's, which can be a good thing or a bad thing on occasion, but its up to you, which is great & adds extra replayability value.

Gameplay wise, the character voices are well done & the story is very strong, with some great humor along the way, as well as some colorful characters, which is the main draw for me. Visually the game is not the best, it looks like an old Splinter Cell game, and it has some glitches like texture & mesh tearing. But this is just the means to progress the story & get over the content of the game which it does an adequate job, of bringing the game together as a whole. Graphics are secondary to my enjoyment if the content is enjoyable.

For a challenging game, you may want to hold back on using some of the special skills/abilities, as they can make things TOO easy, iv'e played allot of these games & i find it mostly easy with a few real challenging moments with boss fights, but some of those are easier than others. The personalization of the characters visually is a bit limited & a little disappointing, i'd loved to of had more outfits to wear & added some more facial options, but i guess they had a hard job just getting this game to work. Your actions in and out of conversations (deciding who lives & dies) will select what path the story takes which is superb & really the main point of this game, which it does amazingly well at, it took me ages considering my choices & outcomes. It can take you anywhere from 10-20+ hours to complete the game.

In conclusion, i really enjoyed Alpha Protocol as a story based game, where your decisions effected the outcome of the story. Sadly there wont be an AP2 due to poor sales of this niche original. Still, I recommend AP for the experience if you like story lead games, that let you decide the outcome of events & peoples lives, as well as molding your own Spy along the way. Plenty of replayability, a very similar game experience to the recent Deus Ex: Human Revolution. If you like your games with the latest graphics & best combat possible, stay away, otherwise, Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glitchy & unpolished, yet fun & involving., 31 May 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alpha Protocol (PC) (CD-ROM)
Alpha Protocol is a spy/espionage game touting itself as an RPG, made by Obsidian Entertainment, the developers that brought us Neverwinter Nights 2 (PC DVD) and Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II - Sith Lords (PC), amongst other things. However anyone buying this game looking for a traditional RPG game is going to be disappointed, since it is more of a shooter/stealther with a level-up system tacked onto it. The closest comparison I can draw to it is the Mass Effect (PC DVD) series of games, but with a great deal less polish and much clunkier gameplay.

You play this game in the role of Michael Thorton, a new recruit in a shady US government organisation called Alpha Protocol. You are sent off to foil the schemes of a terrorist organisation in the middle east, but on completion of your mission you find out not everything is as it seems. Cue conspiracies, globe trotting, shoot-outs, seducing ladies left right and centre and all the traditional James Bond/Jason Bourne style hoopla.

Alpha Protocol presents you with a few different ways of playing your character within the espionage setting. Focusing on your weapon skills allows you to solve your problems with a hail of bullets, while the more technological skills allow you to set up traps and use gadgets, as well as hack computers and security systems more easily. Finally, focusing on the stealth and hand-to-hand skills allow you to bypass your enemies completely or take them down in non-lethal ways. The game rewards you for doing things in different ways, providing a lot of replayability value, as once you have comitted yourself to a course of action there is no going back. Similarly, you are presented with difficult choices throughout the game that significantly alter plot events depending on your choice. Since Alpha Protocol is quite a short game (I finished it in two days), this extends its lifespan by quite a bit.

The conversation system is also good in this regard, as you are given a limited amount of time to chose how you wish to respond. Rather than see which responses you are going to make, you are presented with a general "attitude" of responses, such as Suave, Agressive, or Professional. Different NPC's respond in various ways to each approach, which brings a novel tactical element to conversations. There is some sort of "approval" system in place, in which you can either befriend NPCs or make them hate you, however this system isn't implemented particularly well. Its not always obvious what on earth you are going to say to them when you pick your options so I found myself annoyed several times when I selected an attitude I thought would be appropriate, only to have my character say the total opposite. Also, many characters you gain rating with either die or disappear from the game shortly after meeting them, which seems to make the whole thing pointless for them.

Alpha Protocol was announced some time ago and the game release date has been pushed back at least once, so I am confused about how the game could have been released in the very unoptimised condition it was. On a high end computer I suffered from textures constantly refusing to draw, or "popping" into place as you get nearer to them, spoiling an otherwise decent-looking game. Also, the frame rate would constantly lag and stutter in certain areas, causing the camera to spin around in an incredibly irritating fashion so I would end up facing the opposite direction than I wanted to, putting me in a corner or up against a wall. In a game where it's important to stay in cover and avoid detection, this was almost a deal-breaker for me. My save games also somehow became corrupted twice, causing me to have to re-register with the games DRM each time.

The targeting system for the shooting elements of the game is also glitchy and fiddly, making aiming and hitting foes more difficult than it should be. Fortunately, the enemy AI is amazingly bad in some places, so it makes up for the handicap. Guards seemingly fail to notice when I stab someone in the neck a few feet away from them, get themselves stuck in corners and blindly charge into your bullets/grenades. I found myself putting all my skill points into stealth and hand-to-hand combat, at which point I became incredibly overpowered and could either 1-shot-kill every enemy in the game, or keep them staggered with a constant rain of punches. Suprisingly, this even worked on boss encounters making some parts of the game which were clearly supposed to be tense amazingly trivial.

In conclusion, Alpha Protocol is another mixed bag from Obsidian. The story and characters are interesting, and the replayability value of the game is excellent. However, some of its gameplay ideas are poorly implemented and the array of bugs hold this game back from being the classic it could have been. At the end of the day, I am not sorry I purchased it and had a decent amount of fun, but with a bit more polish and better execution, this game could have been a lot better than it turned out to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesom Game, 24 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alpha Protocol (PC) (CD-ROM)
this has got to be one of my favourite games of all time, its like playing a character whos like james bond, jack bauer and jason bourne all in one, the weapons are pretty sweet and the gadgets are pretty cool, another thing I loved about this game is the fact that before a mission you can choose to pay an informant or accomplice to drop a sniper nearby especially if you want to take care of some guys before getting up close and personal. The story is not bad but thats not the major selling point. The kick butt martial arts is pretty cool as well, as are the skills you aquire over time. The chose in the game is pretty awesome, would definitely recommend having a go at this game, doesn;t take an absolute crazy long time to complete but neither does it require a short amount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Flawed Masterpiece, 24 Jun. 2010
By 
Rafael Torrubia (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alpha Protocol (PC) (CD-ROM)
Despite some minor issues with optimisation, leading to poor loading times and stuttering, and an interface which at times is slightly clunky, Alpha Protocol succeeds at delivering a real roleplaying experience unlike any other. Well-written dialogue and solid voice acting support an innovative and intuitive new dialogue system which lends conversation a tension and dynamism missing from other titles.

Choices are not flagged as good or bad, but are instead categorised under stances a player can take to the conversation - 'Reserved, cocky, aggressive, cautious, etc'. Want to antagonise a bad guy enough to make him spill his plans? You can do that in AP. Of course you can sweet talk him too, or just keep him chatting long enough to put a gun to his head, moving form the dialogue system to combat with ease.

The game's tag is 'Choice is Your Weapon', and that's not hyperbole. Each play-through is drastically different, depending not only on what decisions you make, but where you go, with whom, and when. The result is an organic, engaging experience populated by believable, interesting characters. You can make this your own Bourne Identity, take the suave route as a James Bond-alike, play it out 24 style, or try a bit of a Mission Impossible vibe.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Game of the Year, 12 Dec. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Alpha Protocol (PC) (CD-ROM)
Possibly the most under-rated game ever released.

It's launch was hindered by two factors, one was the bugs and glitches which were blown massively out of proportion; the game is immensely playable.

The second factor was that it was poorly marketed; this is a story based linear role-play game, with multiple, very different possible outcomes depending on how you play. It was unfortunately promoted as a shooter and if you're looking for the next Call of Duty this will disappoint, if you're looking for the next Deus Ex then you're in the right place.

Greatest story-telling and writing in a game for many years. If you enjoy spy-thriller books or films give this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alpha Protocol (PC)
Alpha Protocol (PC) by Sega (Windows XP)
£1.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews