Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite low budget movies.
I've loved this film since the first time I saw it almost 20 years ago.
It grabbed me right from the start when the superb theme tune by The Dickies kicked in. The clowns themselves are suitably menacing, they look like badly filled fancy dress costumes gone wild but when they show their teeth it's time to watch out. The line "they were travelling through outer space...
Published on 11 Oct 2008 by I. R. Kerr

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasure
It's riddled with cliches that were old before the 50's ended. The comic relief characters and situations are excruciatingly unfunny. The acting is uniformly awful (this despite the presence of veteran character thesps John Vernon and Royal Dano). The special effects range from low budget to no budget...

...but for its sheer inventiveness and macabre sense of...
Published on 22 Aug 2010 by P. A. Gallagher


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite low budget movies., 11 Oct 2008
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killer Klowns From Outer Space [DVD] (DVD)
I've loved this film since the first time I saw it almost 20 years ago.
It grabbed me right from the start when the superb theme tune by The Dickies kicked in. The clowns themselves are suitably menacing, they look like badly filled fancy dress costumes gone wild but when they show their teeth it's time to watch out. The line "they were travelling through outer space and stopped for something to eat" describes the plot succinctly and Cove Crescent is their chosen pit-stop.
John Vernon as the red-neck deputy Curtis Mooney is the only really bright light in the acting stakes. The special effects are not that brilliant but that suits the movie well, this is not an FX extravaganza but it is one of the best low budget comedy horror movies you will see.
Apart from the big-top space ship and low-grade plastic weapons there's also the klown kar, the klown women (looking as sexy as the stripper in Funny Man), popcorn that grows into monsters and custard pies that dissolve flesh; almost every aspect of the circus clown act is twisted into some fiendish device here.
If I had one complaint it would be the lack of any real extras, most notably the 20 minute "making of" featurette that appeared on the R1 DVD release many years ago is not included here. That grumble aside thanks to the Chiodo Brothers for making a movie that cheers me up every time I watch it and The Dickies for that brilliant theme tune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killer Klowns are kool!, 12 May 2004
By 
Zagnorch (Terra, Sol System) - See all my reviews
In the endless effort to expand my collection of cult/trash-cinema "classics", I decided to give the Killer Klowns a whirl. What I saw was one of the most bizarre and absurd flicks I've ever laid eyes on! Needless to say, this one's definitely a "keeper" for my DVD shelf, filed right next to that DeLaurentiis 'Flash Gordon' flick and 'The Thing With Two Heads!' The whole film is so unbelievably ridiculous, you just can't help but be entertained by it!
Indeed, it has it all: A preposterous premise that somehow got approved by the studio suits. Less-than-stellar acting by a few of the principals, and the "hero" playing his part a little too straight-laced. The perversion of various implements of klownery into weapons of annihilation. Silly klown antics gone horribly wrong. It's ludicrously fun to watch on those days when some pretentious bit of "serious" avant-garde celluloid simply ain't gonna cut it.
The special features included with the movie are of the standard type you'd expect to see on a Collector's Edition DVD. There's behind-the-scenes featurettes, a theatrical trailer, deleted scenes, and a commentary track by the movie's creators. In the secondary track, the Chiodo brothers go over the usual stuff you'd expect to hear in a commentary track, including their childhood dreams of becoming to be movie-makers, discussions about how many of the characters were based on childhood friends, memories of the actors that played the various roles, and certain scenes that were particularly difficult to film. Throw in a few quasi-tangential anecdotes, and (voila) you have the Killer Klowns Kommentary Trakk in a nutshell.
Then there's the "Easter Egg" materials, which pop up when you let the main menu display run for a couple of minutes. Sadly, these "extra" extras aren't all that impressive. The only items here is a re-dub of a line from the movie, and a few video snippets of people auditioning for the roles of the Klowns in full costume. No offense to all you Klown-o-philes out there, but I think I'd get more excited watchin' paint dry than look at these not-so-special "treats"...
'Late
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Klowns rules, 9 Feb 2003
In the early nineties, my sister and I would regularly visit the video shop and hire out videos, on one saturday afternoon, we came across a curiously titled film in the horror section. We decided to rent it to see what it was like. To our surprise and delight it was the funniest film either of us had seen and we were hooked. We rented it out at least twice a month for two years until we moved out of the area. The video store eventually closed down and the video was lost from us forever, until now, that is. I hope that it is re-released if only so a new generation can marvel at its sheer brilliant badness. About the movie, well, it is a wonderfully funny tale about invading clowns who start to capture people from the local town and imprison them in candy floss cocoons. They are eventually defeated by the plucky hero and his girlfriend as is usually the case in these style films. I won't tell you how he defeats them, that will be left for you to find out. The clowns themselves are well made up and slightly creepy looking which adds to the film somewhat marvelously. There are rare moments of never before seen brilliance, I refer to the scene at the bus stop involving a clown, some people and shadows. All in all this, it must be said, is a bad film. The budget is almost certainly small, the acting bad at times and it wraps up rather too quickly. However this, unlike other films, makes it a truly great film to watch. You find yourself laughing at the film even though it is a horror. It is most definately a lads night in with a few beers and a pizza type of film. It is most definately not a arm round shoulder to protect your girlfriend type of film. Enjoy and a crack open a bottle of beer while you do!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic 80's b movie, 17 Mar 2002
The type of film video was made for.The plot has "Killer Klowns" land in a small American town, where they proceed to cocoon the residents in candy floss and make imaginative use of their over sized footwear.
A great low budget, highly imaginative horror flick that sorely merits a DVD discovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Candy girl, 14 April 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you are a fan of old fifties quasi sci-fi monster movies then this will be right up your alley. It was made in the same vein as the blob with the same antagonists. However you may notice that Officer Mooney (John Vernon) is still playing "Animal House" (1978.)
The theory that this may be the source of people being spooked by clowns is plausible after watching this movie.
Finally a movie where the popcorn sticks to your ribs, and what ever. The cotton candy has a 50's spin to it. And this movie will clown around with your mind. You won't be disappointed. See Suzanne Snyder (Debbie Stone) again in "Weird Science" (1985).
The DVD is loaded with the standard goodies. Thirteen year later the directors discus the original intent and some unique problems. There are out takes. And may other pieces of information to make viewing the movie fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Cult Movie, 30 July 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killer Klowns From Outer Space [DVD] (DVD)
The title is a dead giveaway. This is a camp weirdo fright film, with a healthy dosage of comedy, in the style of other horror-comedies such as Shaun of The Dead and American Werewolf in London. This is a tale of an alien clown invasion. A circus tent spaceship lands in a small U.S. town, and when a young couple break into the tent to explore, it triggers the attention of the Killer Klowns, who then go on the rampage in the town, killing people they stumble across, with their very specialised hunting skills. This is a 1950's B-Movie (think of The Blob but with clowns instead of goo), with great colour and imaginative set design, especially the interior of the spaceship tent, which looks like something Willy Wonka would have constructed. Although the film had a relatively low budget, this doesn't harm it in the slightest. The costumes are surreal, the music is perfectly judged, and the kill scenes, though pretty mild, show directorial flair. Put simply, this should have been awful, but it all comes together to give a highly enjoyable spoof horror, perfect for a evening with some beer and popcorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasure, 22 Aug 2010
By 
P. A. Gallagher (Glasgow UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killer Klowns From Outer Space [DVD] (DVD)
It's riddled with cliches that were old before the 50's ended. The comic relief characters and situations are excruciatingly unfunny. The acting is uniformly awful (this despite the presence of veteran character thesps John Vernon and Royal Dano). The special effects range from low budget to no budget...

...but for its sheer inventiveness and macabre sense of humour this 80's absurdity deserves its "so bad it's good" cult classic status. Back in the day it had me with its spoof Alien tagline "In space no one can eat ice cream".

If you're of a strong disposition I'd recommend pairing it up with 'Howard the Duck' for an 80's Creature Feature double bill that's as painful as a mullet, but not as public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We Have Come For Your Children..., 27 Sep 2008
By 
Brady Orme (Edgbaston, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Killer Klowns From Outer Space [DVD] (DVD)
The Chiodo Brothers (Stephen, Charles and Edward) are legends of the makeup and Animatronics fields - From the base '80s-ness of "Critters" to the low-brow satire that is "Team America : World Police" they have reigned supreme in this department, giving even Screaming Mad George a slight run for his money. But why give them a movie of their very own? Surely that would be the same as asking a Filing Clerk for a Nuclear Power Plant to take over for the weekend whilst the Operations Staff go bobbing for apples? Would it Hell.

In a decade filled with quirky B-Movie goodness, it takes a team with vision to present you with something that manages to stand out amongst a crowd with such nuance; Aliens that arrive from the depths of Outer Space that strangely resemble clowns, resplendant with many clownish accoutrements. All of this is set within the usual "aliens-with-mysterious-agenda-terrorise-American-Hick-Town-and-are-defeated" motif, so apart from the Clourophobia fetish, what does this movie give you that is new? The answer lies within the Chiodo Brother's work on the Clowns themselves - Considering the brothers used almost all their budget on pre-production and STILL managed to build such rouge-splattered juggernauts beggars belief. They rock, Insane Clown Posse are exceedingly jealous and such. Hats off.

So, movie-wise the film just works. DVD-wise? bare bones, widescreen transfer, hideous packaging. Looks like a 1985 VHS release, "The Journey Of Natty Gann" perhaps. No matter, Region 1 has had this for yonks, as per usual Region 2 is just beginning to catch up. You know you have to have it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous, dumb, stupid...yet it's great!, 3 Jun 2004
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
You know the score with this film just by reading the title. Yep, it's as good as it sounds. We're talking about a stupid comedy horror that has absolutly no intension of carrying a respectable plot or even of carrying off some half descent acting. What it does do though, is amuse you throughout the whole film with the cheesy script and 'super-scary' clowns!!!! We really need more of these films made. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll love it or hate it, 6 April 2000
By A Customer
I loved it - despite the hammy special effects, the odd camera wobble and the one joke plot! It is definitely a "beer and pizza with a couple of mates" film. If you don't enjoy the film close your eyes and enjoy the soundtrack - the Dickies theme tune is the best. You'll never look at a circus the same way again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killer Klowns From Outer Space [DVD]
Killer Klowns From Outer Space [DVD] by Stephen Chiodo (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: 6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews