Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Boy, the Wheelchair, and That Haunted House.
There's something about low-budget horror movies that have a greater impact than their Hollywood counterparts. I thought I'd seen every good horror movie on the market until a co-worker had me borrow this DVD. 1980's "The Changeling" is a quintessential low-budget vintage horror movie, done in that classic late-1970's style. George C. Scott is a widower who is walking...
Published on 22 Jan 2004 by Burjiz

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok film
I bought this film as the reviews looked good on the film, I liked it as a horror fan it wasn't scary, the story was ok what saved the film was George c scott who is a great actor, all in all ok film.
Published 14 months ago by warrior84


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Boy, the Wheelchair, and That Haunted House., 22 Jan 2004
By 
Burjiz (Schaffhausen, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Changeling [DVD] (DVD)
There's something about low-budget horror movies that have a greater impact than their Hollywood counterparts. I thought I'd seen every good horror movie on the market until a co-worker had me borrow this DVD. 1980's "The Changeling" is a quintessential low-budget vintage horror movie, done in that classic late-1970's style. George C. Scott is a widower who is walking wounded following the freakish death of his wife and child (without giving away details, the opening scene is a hair-raiser and sets the tone for the rest of the movie). He moves into a giant, towering mansion to work on his music and recover from his tragic loss. But a few moments later, weird things happen inside the house. Piano keys play by themselves. Voices start speaking. And loud, banging noises happen out of nowhere. Come to find out, the house is haunted by a child. The movie then pursues a murder mystery in which we discover the boy's identity and the history of the house. Unlike most thrillers, "The Changeling" doesn't have much gore, but it has enough intense and spooky moments to make this film earn an R rating. Instead of aiming for shock, this movie effectively works on the viewer's emotions and has a reasonably interesting plot. I wouldn't call it the scariest film ever made, but if you're into horror movies of the haunted house variety, then "The Changeling" should rank high on your list of DVDs to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top horror!, 18 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Changeling [DVD] (DVD)
one of my mums favorite! so i watched this when i was a kid. a great horror! real good!. basic of it is a man who lost his wife and daughter in a accident buys a massive house and discovers its haunted! the bit where they have a seance is scary! hearing the ghost voice on tape! the banging alone is real scary. kinda sad when you find out the story of what happened to the ghost. a real classic horror and the changling is one you will not be dissapointed on! or ever forget!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Chilling Movie, 6 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Changeling [DVD] (DVD)
This film is, quite simply, the scariest I have ever seen. As with the previous reviewer, I first saw it at the age of 11, and afterwards I couldn't sleep for days. Even now, having seen it many times, some scenes still take my breath away with sheer shock.
Its strength lies in the fact that it is not outlandishly gory or horrific, but it plays on the mind for ages before something terrifying actually happens. Even the most terrifying moments seem tame when you read about them; a ball dropping down a staircase, or a wheelchair rocking by itself sounds mundane, but when it happens in this film it will scare the hell out of you!
One thing that really sticks with me about this film - apart from the stunning performances from George C Scott and Trish van Devere - is the music. It lends so much power to the film, and it never intrudes upon the actual story; in fact, since the story is about a musician, it actually adds to the film in a unique and moving way. One tune in particular sticks in my mind, one that the main character spontaneously composes... but I won't tell any more.
A great film, sadly neglected, that deserves every star I've given it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first film i ever recorded!!!, 3 Oct 2002
By 
mr j e bonner (bury st edmunds, suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Changeling [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film in 1983 at the tender age of eleven, i happend to record it by shear mistake, i was off school the next day and sat on my own to watch it.The first scene was set if remember correctly on a snowy hillside with George C Scott making a phone call in a phone box, and a car sitting outside with a lady and small child in it, a lorry then came into veiw and was seen sliding straight into the parked car.The film then moves on to George C Scott moving into a huge mansion which had not been lived in for a long time, and this is where the film really started to hook me, the strange bangings in the morning the strange piano noises.This all becomes a bit much for George C Scott (i have now remembered the name of his character Mr John Russell) who then makes his mind up to find where the banging is comming from and discovers this room at the top of the house which has not been entered for years, in this room he discovers a wheelchair and a music box, the music box plays a melody which was the same tune John Russell had composed himself the night before, haveing never heard it before and thinking he had just written it.Mr Russell then starts looking into the background of the house and soon discoevrs that the building is owned by a very wealthy and well known politician, who turns out not to be who he thinks he is, the film then has one of the best scenes i have ever seen, a seance in a huge room with some real strange going ons!!!! the end of the film still leaves u thinking and wishing the film would carry on!!!!. I am now 29 yrs of age and still to this day say "the changeling one of my most favs film of all time, i hope everyone who buys it enjoys it!!! George C Scott what a great man!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the scariest Films of all time..., 31 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Changeling [DVD] (DVD)
...and that's not an overstatement. Like one or two of the previous reviewers, I too saw this film in the early 80's and at an age of around 12-13. I remember watching it with a friend with the lights off. It petrified us! Then, around 1996 I was at a video fair and found an old VHS copy. I watched it with some buddies and told them about how it scared the living day lights out of me when I was younger and that it would probably be rubbish now. However, it was just as frightening! All four 25 year old lads sat scared stiff all the way through!
What really adds to the fear factor is the grainy, poor quality film stock it was shot on. That was probably due to lack of funds but it actually enhances the overall feel. The acting is first class, the direction spot on. This film deserves to be up there with the Omens and The Exorcists, but for whatever reason it remains one of the best kept secrets in horror movies. Go on, scare yourself silly!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 11 July 2004
This review is from: The Changeling [DVD] (DVD)
Now THIS is what a decent scary movie should be: a good solid plot with atmosphere and suspense.
So few current day horrors can compare to the quality of some of these older offerings - don't be put off by the age of this movie or you'll miss a real treat!
George C Scott is perfectly cast and makes this movie so watchable with his performance.
George's character, in the wake of the tragic death of his wife and daughter, rents an old property from an historical society. Soon after, it becomes apparent he is not alone in the house - spooky events lead him to investigate into the history of the house and he discovers the death of a young boy in the attic at the turn of the century.
It's clear the ghost of the young boy is trying to coerce George into solving the riddle of his death, and so George becomes drawn into the ghost's plans but with devastating consequences.
All is good here: quality of the acting, the sets (especially the house which has so much character), the lighting, the storyline, the twists and turns.....
This movie should keep you fixed to your seat from beginning to end.
Defintely one to buy and keep as you'll not eaasily tire of rewatching this superb offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Horror of all time, 15 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Changeling [DVD] (DVD)
Even after almost 2 decades, this remains the best horror film ever made. It deserves more recognition. It is full of suspense, a good plot, and really creepy without all the ketchup gore of modern 'horror' - if you are a budding film maker and want to do horror - then please watch this film to learn how to do it properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST HORROR MOVIE ALL THE TIME, 9 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Changeling [DVD] (DVD)
First of all i would gave this movie 10 stars if there was 10 stars ..this is the best horror movie in the history of the cinema , please please just watch it , and you will know what i've meant about the 10 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy Classic, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Changeling [DVD] (DVD)
What a great film! George C Scott is at his craggy-faced best in this creepy ghost thriller about a recently bereaved composer who rents out an absurdly large victorian pile in order to get over his loss and, hopefully, work on a couple of new tunes etc. He soon discovers that he is not alone in the house! S*********!!! While watching this film, you may think it's a bit dated and you've seen it all before - and chances are you probably have - but do remember that it was all done here first, and with alot more class. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this any more!, 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Changeling [DVD] (DVD)
If you've never seen this little gem of a ghost story, you might want to give it a try. It's perfect for a rainy evening. Curl up on the sofa,(preferably not alone) turn out the lights, and prepare for two 'haunting hours'.

It's an intriguing story. Musician and composer John Russell, (played by the wonderful George C Scott), moves to an old house in Seattle. He's grieving and traumatised after witnessing the accidental deaths of his wife and young daughter. It soon becomes clear that the house has an odd history, and that John is not alone there - it's haunted by the spirit of a former resident who died in mysterious circumstances. Who the spirit is, and how John finds out about its identity, and the appalling manner of its death, makes for fascinating and spooky viewing.

Made back in 1980, with few special effects, the film still creates an atmosphere of tension and unease. The spirit wants something from John, and can connect with him through his grief at losing his family. It gradually becomes more insistent in its efforts to prompt him into action on its behalf.

Watch for: -
The arrival of the spirit, signified by a single note played on a piano in an otherwise empty room,
The unexpected appearance of a child's toy,
The seance and the tape-recorded aftermath.

Give this film a miss If you're looking for the 'stalk 'n slash' type of story - with blood-spattered walls and demons in the cellar. But, if you like a traditional ghost story with some spine-tingling moments and a gradually-building sense of tension and mystery, then you won't go far wrong with The Changeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Changeling [DVD]
The Changeling [DVD] by Peter Medak (DVD - 2008)
9.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews