Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Werewolf Movie!
The Howling is a werewolf film that is a little different to your average horror -- which is probably why it has endured so long. Karen White (Dee Wallace -- who every bloke went bananas over, in the day, though I thought Belinda Balaski (who plays her friend Terri) was far more "appealing" in this respect!) is a TV reporter who (whilst going undercover to try and expose...
Published on 13 Feb 2011 by ric03

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical
Special effects of its era really date this one, that's not always a bad thing either. I didn't realise were wolfs could be such perverts at the cinema, young lass in black leather and naked underneath was worth seeing too, bless her... Gorgeous.
Published 11 months ago by Mr. D. Barry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Werewolf Movie!, 13 Feb 2011
By 
ric03 (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
The Howling is a werewolf film that is a little different to your average horror -- which is probably why it has endured so long. Karen White (Dee Wallace -- who every bloke went bananas over, in the day, though I thought Belinda Balaski (who plays her friend Terri) was far more "appealing" in this respect!) is a TV reporter who (whilst going undercover to try and expose a serial killer who is stalking her) survives a werewolf encounter. Because of the shock, she is invited (by her therapist -- a Christopher-Lee-like Patrick Macnnee) to recuperate at "the colony" (a spooky, woodland reserve by the seaside) where -- as you might guess -- when the moon comes out, all is not as it seems.

The acting (as was the case for the subsequent year's big werewolf film, An American Werewolf in London) is much better than you would expect in a "creature feature" and the main characters are all convincing. The atmosphere of the colony is great -- think misty trees, wood cabins and sixties (Lost-style) university buildings. Of course, any werewolf film also lives or dies on the beast itself and in this respect, The Howling is a somewhat mixed bag. It seems that the budget was saved for the later stages of the film, as before then (due to some truly awful -- at one point animated! -- effects) I was thinking this was a 2 or at most a 3 star film (nothing more than a well acted B movie, with men in hairy suits; I was wondering how I could have remembered this so fondly!). Throughout, though, there is an razor-sharp tension, that builds and builds and then suddenly erupts into the horror you were expecting from a film of this standing. When the beast emerges fully, you are left suitably terrified to realise what the fuss was all about! (Far more so than with any modern CGI Werewolf!)

Like Piranha and Gremlins, Dante's trademark dark humour is in place (though somewhat muted, in comparison, to make way for genuine tension here). There is occasional skin, but nothing to write home about (if you like that sort of thing in your horror films!) Ultimately, if you like early eighties horror films, then you will feel right at home here. The production values are somewhat mixed, but the setting is charming and atmospheric and the leads keep the storing moving, and when the terror emerges it is genuinely unsettling! If it weren't for the B-movie patchiness at times, I'd give this 5 stars, but don't let that put you off: it's still one of the best werewolf films out there (possibly competing with Ginger Snaps for second place to American Werewolf -- my opinion!) Enjoy!.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Howler of a movie!, 18 Nov 2008
By 
Dismal Angel "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
TV reporter Karen White (Scream Queen Dee Wallace!) becomes traumatised after investigative reporting leads her to a meeting in a dark room with a serial killer she knows only as "Eddie". Following their encounter (and his death thanks to the police), Karen is so traumatised she can neither remember what happened, or what she saw.

At the suggestion of a Psychiatrist (Patrick Macnee, she and her husband Bill are sent to the Colony, an experimental rural rehabilitation centre, where they meet the unusual locals such as the dark leather clad predatory Marsha and her strange animal-like brother.

Karen starts to hear howling at night, and is concerned things are not what they seem at the Colony.

Meanwhile her colleagues from work are investigating the serial killer case which leads them into more dangerous territory - werewolves!

With some spectacular special effects very cutting edge for it's time (it uses some of the technology similar to what was used in American Werewolf in London which was also released the same year as this movie) and an interesting storyline, this has survived through the ages despite it's outdated hairstyles and clothes. Definately a keeper you can watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nail bitingly Scary and awesome tension!, 30 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
I've never thought any werewolf movie would top the brilliance of an american werewolf in London, but this one did the job ... this is not only the best werewolf movie I've seen, its also one of the finest and most intellegent and well made horror movies I've seen, its up there with some of the best horror movies out there. Unlike other horror films the Howling offers you a scary tension that'll raise the fear level high, I've only seen a few horror films that are scary in tension this is one of them. it has a few mild laughs but some of the stuff in the film is chilling and very fun to wacthl its well though up storyline and great cast who are worthy with their acting skills, there is never a dull momment always something happening and everything is shockingly unexpected, its unpredictable and the werewolves look absolutly well polished.... unmissible watch this movie its fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulsepounding Fun At Its Very Best!, 4 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
For as long as I've watched movies, my own personal yearning has seen me lean more towards the horror genre.

At least with a horror movie, more often than not, you will be guaranteed some form of entertainment.

Such is a case in point with this superlative lycanthropic tale based upon the best seller by Gary Brandner and co written by the kings of low budget cinema, John Sayles and Terence Winkless.

I say co-written, but as has become apparent, the script submitted by Winkless lack shall we say, that certain bite, and Sayles being the more literate of the two was drafted in to give the movie a complete transformation.

Of course being in the hands of first time director at that time, Joe Dante, would become the beloved cult classic that we know and love today.

However all things being equal, this movie's lack of success was more or less down to the much bigger hyped other lycanthrope movie being unleashed at the same time, and that movie being of course John Landis's 'An American Werewolf In London' Can we ever compare the two, perhaps not, perhaps maybe my personal choice of the two, would have me leaning towards Joe Dante's directorial debut.

I've always held a deep affection for the low budget B movie, sure enough I watched quite a few in my time, and to be truthful I have been left jaded by many.

However, the spirit that pervades this movie has carried it through the decades, and indeed this movie like so many that have since gone on to spawn a franchise has perhaps had it's reputation somewhat dragged through the mud, but this movie for me represents pure pulse pounding fun at its very best! When it comes to special effects, every artist has his or her own trademark, everyone knows that Rick Baker concocts a mean looking Gorilla, as that is his speciality, and he has carried that trend through many a movie.

Likewise, the same can be said for the work of Rob Bottin, another genius in his chosen field. If you never saw his name attached to movies like 'Legend' but you witnessed the many wonderful creations on show within the movie, you identify instantly that work you see with that of the artist who placed it all together.

This is a horror movie, that carries all before it. Great direction, groovy special effects, an eerie atmosphere that lingers throughout, a well written and literate script and best of all, a legendary list of character actors, who belong to that well cherished list of who's who in the horror world hall of fame.

Without hesitation. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Horror With Bite, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
Dvd Info.
Running Time 87 minutes approx, Region 2.

Trivia.
1)Low budget filmmaker Roger Corman cameos as the man waiting to use the telephone booth after Karen White.
2)Joe Dante regular Dick Miller features as bookstore owner Walter Paisley.
3)Robert Picardo featured as the holographic Doctor in Star Trek Voyger.
4)Patrick MacNee is better known as John Steed in cult sixties tv series The Avengers & seventies revival The New Avengers.
5)Dee Wallace Stone played Elliott's mother in E.T.
6)Rick Baker left production to do the werewolf effects on An American Werewolf In London leaving Rob Bottin to take over, Bottins credits also include The Thing & Robocop 1987.
7)Joe Dantes director's credits include Piranha, The Third story of Twilight Zone The Movie, Gremilins 1 & 2, Explorer's, Small Soldiers.

Review.
I seen this film when I was about 9 year's old on video & it terrified me.

The film is about tv presenter & journalist Karen White whom after a bizarre encounter with a serial killer Eddie Quist is sent to a mountain resort with her husband Bill called the Colony to relax & recuperate on her psychiatrists suggestion as the recent trauma has left Karen with memory loss & irrational emotional behaviour outbursts.

But things are not as they seem at the Colony as Eddie is actually an outcast from a pack of werewolves that live in the colony as Karen with her husband Bill soon discover & must fight not just for there life's but for there very soul's as the wolfpack closes in on them.

Timelord Thoughts.

This is a brilliant werewolf movie that was for it's time contained brilliant special effects.

Based on the novel by Gary Brandner & adapted by John Sayles into a screenplay this movie delivers full blown scares mixed with great humour without sending itself up.

The werewolf effects for there time are very well shot & grusome especially the scene were Eddie Quist transforms into a wetewolf it feels painful & terrifying to watch & nearly matches the effects quality of another werewolf movie An American Werewolf In London as both were filmed in the same year 1981.

It's great to see actor Patrick Macnee play against type as Doctor George Waggner who may or may not be a werewolf & actress Dee Wallace Stone gives a believable performance as tv journalist Karen White.

This film also includes a man/woman having sex werewolf transformation scene thats quite shocking yet erotic, Now there's something you don't see everyday?

This is when studios cared about the horror film's they made & director Joe Dante nails the tone & pacing when to make you laugh & when to make you jump out of your seat.

This is a great classic werewolf horror movie that delivers humour & chills that will have you laughing one minute & scared witless the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my kind of horror, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
i watched this film years ago and then bought it on video, i had to have the dvd as a backup in case the video goes wonky, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still Has Enough Bite After All These Years, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
The Howling is a fun 80s movie. I didn't find the film at all scary, and it's almost without blood. The effects are still very good after 30 odd years.

The cast is good and stars Dee Wallace, Christoper Stone, Patrick Macnee and the timeless Dick Miller, who cites his very small cameo as the best part he's ever played in his film career.

Whilst The Howling is not as nearly as good as I remembered as a kid, the film is still very enjoyable. Sure there are a few moments that don't fit too well, but overall it's classic 80s horror. Also it's just refreshing to see a good werewolf movie. In all honesty I don't think I could name 10 good ones.

Point of note the woman werewolf was my first ever crush- she still looks hot looking back.

You'll have a good time with this movie and it's climax. Try and avoid the dreadful sequels though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80s CULT HORROR CLASSIC, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big fan of werewolf movies , the legend that tells , that a man can somehow turn into a murdering beast by the light of a full moon , has always fascinated me , ever since i seen my first werewolf movie / UNIVERSAL STUDIOS CLASSIC - THE WOLFMAN ,I was well and truly hooked

THE HOWLING is one of my all-time fav werewolf movies ,the story goes something like this , a newsreader /reporter played by DEE WALLACE tries to help the police catch a murderer / serial killer( Eddie ) ,she acts as the bait ,to lure the Eddie out into the open ,so as the police may catch him ,the murderer confronts her , and he then starts to act really really strangley , it all goes horribly wrong , and she nearly gets killed , but she escapes, she then acting on the advice of a famous psychiatrist , signs herself into to a kinda remote psychiatric hospital retreat , to recover from a suspected mental breakdown ,that breakdown was assumed to be caused by her near death experience ,now this is where the horror really begins , because all is NOT what it seems in this remote place

The SFX / TRANSFORMATION scenes are great considering this movie was made in the very early 80s / when there was NO CGI , back in the day ,the transformation scenes were only bettered by AN AMERICAN WEREWOLF IN LONDON , and ROBERT PICARDO who is unrecognisable in his make-up makes a real kickass bad guy /Eddie

A MUST SEE FOR ANY FAN OF WEREWOLF MOVIES - JUST BUY IT - YOU WON'T REGRET IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best howlers since American Werewolf.., 5 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
A true masterpiece by Joe Dante which stands proud next to John Landis's American werewolf in London (stay away from the sequel!!!) The story of a werewolf colony trying to live in tolerence with their prey...humans! The FX are great while not quite outdoing those impressive and painful looking werewolf scenes in John Landis's werewolf classic this still stands out and awws while it scares. But please keep away from the six or seven sequels that proceeded as they really are that bad and pedestrian and I am a fan of sequels but guys these really are that crap, Howling: The Freaks and The Marcupials (did I spell that right?) are the best even though these are stupid premises...Australian werewolves with poches ala kangaroo anyone? but the little werewolf baby is cute. The Freaks has an interesting if stupid story of a sideshow of freaks and a drifter who happens to be a...wait for it, werewolf in a kind of whodunit scenario. But really, there is a reason why these sequels were never titled "THE" HOWLING 5, the reason is that even the creators of these crappy movies knew that they were crap but I suppose the bargain bin sales kept them in the pub for a little longer while Joe Dante is shaking his head wondering why the hell did he allow this to go on through 7 sequels!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic of the Genre, 12 July 2010
By 
Mr. G. W. Jordan "jgary763" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling [DVD] (DVD)
One of my all time favourite movies. I saw it at the flicks when it came out, bought it on VHS and now have it on DVD.
This edition includes a "Making of" documentary and deleted scenes and outtakes which are interesting and informative.
Rob Bottin's makeup effects are awesome and inventive and the general atmosphere is dark and threatening. My sole gripe is with Dee Wallace's makeup in the final moments: more care bear than killer wolf.
If you've never seen this film, you are missing out on one of the great horror films of the early 1980s. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Howling [DVD]
The Howling [DVD] by John Sayles (DVD - 2008)
11.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews