Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Foul, Feet, Smell, Something Horrible...
A great value bumper pack featuring four classic Carry On films, dating from the series' creative high point (all these films were released between 1964 and 1966). All four of the movies featured here spoof specific movie genres (and in one case, a single movie in particular), and all four rank amongst the series' very best efforts. Carry On Spying, released just as...
Published on 11 Dec 2009 by Matthew Mercy

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some goodies, some not that good
This was my first experience with Carry On. The best one was Carry on Screaming, which really had some great moments. Lets give it 4 stars. Carry on Cleo was almost as good=3,5 or 4-. Carry on Cowboy was not as good, perhaps 2,5 points and Carry on spying was the weakest, 2,0. Kenneth Williams must be an acquired taste. I found him totally obnoxious. One can, of course,...
Published on 15 Feb 2011 by Markku Ojanen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Foul, Feet, Smell, Something Horrible..., 11 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Carry On Collection Vol.3 (Spying / Cleo / Screaming / Cowboy) [DVD] (DVD)
A great value bumper pack featuring four classic Carry On films, dating from the series' creative high point (all these films were released between 1964 and 1966). All four of the movies featured here spoof specific movie genres (and in one case, a single movie in particular), and all four rank amongst the series' very best efforts. Carry On Spying, released just as `Bondmania' was starting to grip the cinema-going public, takes the world of Ian Fleming as its inspiration, and includes one of Kenneth Williams' best and most unusual Carry On turns, as the `snide' secret agent Desmond Simpkins; Carry On Cleo, famously made on the opulent sets built for the Elizabeth Taylor epic Cleopatra, probably ranks behind only Carry On Up The Khyber as the series' most creative and confident film; Carry On Cowboy is probably the weakest of the four, but it is still an accurate and witty western parody; and Carry On Screaming, my favourite movie in the series, is a hilarious Hammer-style horror spoof with a wonderful guest star in the form of the late, great Harry H. Corbett (it was also the final movie produced for Anglo Amalgamated, before the series moved over to new home Rank).
Taken together, these four films come off like a Carry On `greatest hits' compendium, with classic moments in abundance. These include Bernard Cribbins and Jim Dale exchanging an absurd series of secret passwords in Carry On Spying (`I've only got filter-tipped bootlaces...'), whilst Charles Hawtrey explains his code number, 000 (`They just looked at me and said "uh-oh; ooh..."'), Sidney James' cockney geezer-style Mark Antony in Carry On Cleo (`Blimus!'), Peter Butterworth's inept policeman driving Corbett to distraction in Carry On Screaming (`The one that looked like that man, Doris...'), and most of all, the nostril-flaring brilliance of the immortal Williams, who is on top form throughout each of these four movies. An absolutely unmissable collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, Clean Classic fun!, 28 Mar 2009
By 
M. Roberts "Minimazza" (Fife, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carry On Collection Vol.3 (Spying / Cleo / Screaming / Cowboy) [DVD] (DVD)
I always loved the Carry On films and I personally think this is the best volume. Saying that, if I could afford it, I would buy the 30 disc boxset on DVD! They're great for lifting your mood and can be enjoyed by all ages.

The cast are brilliant and always have a hilarious chemistry that is well renowned to continue off-screen as well as on. If you have never seen a Carry On movie, I suggest this be your first purchase.

These films never age. Don't even think about it; under eight pounds for FOUR amazing films? Buy and enjoy! I know I did :o).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a note for people who like subtitles, 24 May 2011
By 
J "jan" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carry On Collection Vol.3 (Spying / Cleo / Screaming / Cowboy) [DVD] (DVD)
I was disappointed when I received this set to see that there is nothing on the wrapper about subtitles, but when I came to play them they do have English subtitles (hooray!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and very good value, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carry On Collection Vol.3 (Spying / Cleo / Screaming / Cowboy) [DVD] (DVD)
I am British although have lived overseas for the past 25 years and now live in Indonesia so I missed to watch many of the “Carry On” series.
I also now suffer from Alzheimer’s and watching theses DVDs has bought back many happy memories which I would recommend to any other British person who has any type of dementia as a good laugh everyday is very much recommended and you certainly get that from the (Carry On Film Series) so all I add to that is “Carry on Viewing and ordering from Amazon”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B001AOHPNK/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_title, 12 Aug 2010
This review is from: Carry On Collection Vol.3 (Spying / Cleo / Screaming / Cowboy) [DVD] (DVD)
Of these new 'Collection' range of Carry Ons we have 4 of the best.

Screaming: Brilliant retelling of every Hammer Horror from Dracula to mainly Frankenstein this film is full of laughs, beautiful ladies (Fanella Fielding, Angela Douglas) and funny in-jokes. Even the Doctor Who reference went almost completely by.

Cowboy: Fantastic spoofing of nearly every Classic Studio Cowboy film to date with a wonderful cast and fantastic performances from Jim Dale, Kenneth Williams and Charles Hawtree, as well as the usual regulars.

Cleo: One of the best Carry Ons there ever was. Using the sets and costumes left over from Liz Taylor's 'Cleopatra' this film heavily spoofs its lengthier predescessor. Every minute of screentime is filled with humour, wit and of-the-time nuances and jibs. Top marks to Kenneth Williams again, Charlie Hawtree, Amanda Barrie, Sheila Hancock and a fantasitc cameo from Jon Pertwee.

Spying: Clever spoof of many spy films cvirculating at the time, including James Bond, MOdesty Blaise and the Third Man. Amazing climax.

Besides which, good price for four classic films destined to never, ever stop being funny.

Avery Avenue Explored!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quality of CD and material, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carry On Collection Vol.3 (Spying / Cleo / Screaming / Cowboy) [DVD] (DVD)
CD in good condition and the films exactly as expected. This is the sort of classic comedy that the Carry On team are well known for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic old rubbish!!, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carry On Collection Vol.3 (Spying / Cleo / Screaming / Cowboy) [DVD] (DVD)
More of the wonderfully awful films from the Carry On team. They are so of their time and having grown up with them I love them!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat!, 20 Oct 2013
By 
J. Osborne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carry On Collection Vol.3 (Spying / Cleo / Screaming / Cowboy) [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a Carry On fan you will love this DVD. Typical innuendo abounds and slapstick comedy all through - a really wonderful way to spend an evening - or two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carry Ons, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carry On Collection Vol.3 (Spying / Cleo / Screaming / Cowboy) [DVD] (DVD)
Great value with a special selection of our favourites. We will be purchasing a further set probably this Xmas.Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daft, predictable, but always makes me giggle!, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carry On Collection Vol.3 (Spying / Cleo / Screaming / Cowboy) [DVD] (DVD)
Completely unsophisticated and non pc humour, but never fails to cheer me up if I'm feeling glum!
A good, banana skin-esque giggle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac7b75e8)

This product

Carry On Collection Vol.3 (Spying / Cleo / Screaming / Cowboy) [DVD]
10.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews