Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars34
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2009
A great value bumper pack featuring four classic Carry On films, dating from the series' creative high point (all these films were released between 1964 and 1966). All four of the movies featured here spoof specific movie genres (and in one case, a single movie in particular), and all four rank amongst the series' very best efforts. Carry On Spying, released just as `Bondmania' was starting to grip the cinema-going public, takes the world of Ian Fleming as its inspiration, and includes one of Kenneth Williams' best and most unusual Carry On turns, as the `snide' secret agent Desmond Simpkins; Carry On Cleo, famously made on the opulent Pinewood sets built for the Elizabeth Taylor epic Cleopatra, probably ranks behind only Carry On Up The Khyber as the series' most creative and confident film; Carry On Cowboy is possibly the weakest of the four, but it is still an accurate and witty western parody; and Carry On Screaming, my favourite movie in the series, is a hilarious Hammer-style horror spoof with a wonderful guest star in the form of the late, great Harry H. Corbett (it was also the final movie produced for Anglo Amalgamated, before the series moved over to new home Rank).
Taken together, these four films come off like a Carry On `greatest hits' compendium, with classic moments in abundance. These include Bernard Cribbins and Jim Dale exchanging an absurd series of secret passwords in Carry On Spying (`I've only got filter-tipped bootlaces...'), whilst Charles Hawtrey explains his code number, 000 (`They just looked at me and said "uh-oh; ooh..."'), Sidney James' cockney geezer-style Mark Antony in Carry On Cleo (`Blimus!'), Peter Butterworth's inept policeman driving Corbett to distraction in Carry On Screaming (`The one that looked like that man, Doris...'), and most of all, the nostril-flaring brilliance of the immortal Williams, who is on top form throughout each of these four movies. An absolutely unmissable collection.
Again, Robert Ross is joined by surviving cast members on separate DVD commentaries to each film; Bernard Cribbins and Dilys Laye for Carry On Spying, Amanda Barrie and Julie Stevens for Carry On Cleo, Angela Douglas for Carry On Cowboy, and Douglas and the iconic Fenella Fielding for Carry On Screaming.
22 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2009
I always loved the Carry On films and I personally think this is the best volume. Saying that, if I could afford it, I would buy the 30 disc boxset on DVD! They're great for lifting your mood and can be enjoyed by all ages.

The cast are brilliant and always have a hilarious chemistry that is well renowned to continue off-screen as well as on. If you have never seen a Carry On movie, I suggest this be your first purchase.

These films never age. Don't even think about it; under eight pounds for FOUR amazing films? Buy and enjoy! I know I did :o).
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
I was disappointed when I received this set to see that there is nothing on the wrapper about subtitles, but when I came to play them they do have English subtitles (hooray!)
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
Of these new 'Collection' range of Carry Ons we have 4 of the best.

Screaming: Brilliant retelling of every Hammer Horror from Dracula to mainly Frankenstein this film is full of laughs, beautiful ladies (Fanella Fielding, Angela Douglas) and funny in-jokes. Even the Doctor Who reference went almost completely by.

Cowboy: Fantastic spoofing of nearly every Classic Studio Cowboy film to date with a wonderful cast and fantastic performances from Jim Dale, Kenneth Williams and Charles Hawtree, as well as the usual regulars.

Cleo: One of the best Carry Ons there ever was. Using the sets and costumes left over from Liz Taylor's 'Cleopatra' this film heavily spoofs its lengthier predescessor. Every minute of screentime is filled with humour, wit and of-the-time nuances and jibs. Top marks to Kenneth Williams again, Charlie Hawtree, Amanda Barrie, Sheila Hancock and a fantasitc cameo from Jon Pertwee.

Spying: Clever spoof of many spy films cvirculating at the time, including James Bond, MOdesty Blaise and the Third Man. Amazing climax.

Besides which, good price for four classic films destined to never, ever stop being funny.

Avery Avenue Explored!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
I am British although have lived overseas for the past 25 years and now live in Indonesia so I missed to watch many of the “Carry On” series.
I also now suffer from Alzheimer’s and watching theses DVDs has bought back many happy memories which I would recommend to any other British person who has any type of dementia as a good laugh everyday is very much recommended and you certainly get that from the (Carry On Film Series) so all I add to that is “Carry on Viewing and ordering from Amazon”
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 December 2015
The ‘Carry On’ films are such a British institution and consists of a sequence of 31 low-budget British comedy films from 1958–92. The films' humour is a British comic tradition of the old Music Halls and bawdy seaside postcards. The films featured many noted British comedy actors and actresses of the day, but the Team regulars included: Sid James, Kenneth Williams, Joan Sims, Hattie Jacques, Charles Hawtrey, Jim Dale, Peter Butterworth, Bernard Bresslaw, Terry Scott, Kenneth Connor, Bernard Cribbins and Barbara Windsor. The Carry On series contains the largest number of films of any British series and they were all made on a strict budget at Pinewood Studios in Buckinghamshire.

Here we have the third quartet in the ‘Carry On’ series dating from 1964 to 1966. ‘Carry on Spying’ links into the ‘Bond’ mania of the day, ‘Carry on Cleo’ of course famously picks up on the Hollywood Taylor, Burton epic of ‘Cleopatra’. While ‘Carry on Screaming’ with the wonderful Fenella Fielding, picks up on the popular ‘Hammer Horror’ films. ‘Carry on Cowboy’ for me is the weakest of the four here.

There are more interesting Robert Ross expert commentaries where he is joined by surviving cast members. Bernard Cribbins and Dilys Laye appearing for ‘Carry on Spying’. Amanda Barrie and Julie Stevens appear for ‘Carry on Cleo’. Angela Douglas appears for ‘Carry on Cowboy’, and appears again with the iconic Fenella Fielding for ‘Carry on Screaming’. Wonderful, sit back, relax and enjoy a golden moment in British film makings comedy history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2011
I love this collection so much it has all the classic Carry On's from a period in which the Carry On's were at it's highest.

First Carry On Spying, Probably the weakest in this set, but don't make it bad, it's a wonderful James Bond spoof and certainly will have you laughing for a while. 7/10
Second Carry On Cleo, A Gem, a classic Carry On, great script, sets are marvellous and Infamy, Infamy they've all got it Infamy. 8/10
Carry on Cowboy, I love this one, it's just so classic, everything about it just so hilarious, very western in a Carry On Fashion. 8/10
Carry On Screaming, if there was a Carry on, then this would be it, amazing film from start to finish, puts Hammer Horror to shame really, not forgetting Odd-Bod. 9/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Very good. So far, I just watched Carry on Cleo, that was the mainreason for me to buy this box. The film is a cheesy guilty pleasure, but still, very enjoyable. The quality of the copy is excelent, and I have to say that even is not described, the film includes English subtitles, and some nice extras, like the movie trailer and some vintage on set photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
This is great value for some of the best ones in the series. Of course Screaming is the best carry on ever! Frying tonight! Daniel Dan who works in a lavatory. Joan Sims . And Harry Corbett is wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2010
This has my 2 favourite Carry On films, Cleo & Screaming.There are some great characters with classic lines. Hubby & I had a few hours of freedom from incessant rubbish on the box & a good laugh too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)