Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars43
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2011
Ignore any negative comments. If you love challenging films which are ground breaking and daring you will love this. Inspite of the sex scenes it is not really erotic. It s not really a comedy, although the script is painfully funny at times. It's just refreshingly original and thought provoking with a deep insight into human nature and supression...but a whole host of other things too. It will not appeal to everyone. probably very few...and certainly not your granny. But this is a great acheivement and it gets better with every viewing. It really does have a strange, intense, dreamy quality about it all and finally the acting is flawless. All the characters are riveting.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bitter Moon is minor Polanski, an overlong but enjoyable black comedy about sexual obsession. It's not particularly deep, but it is occasionally very funny (the poodle and the toaster are particular highlights), with Polanski constantly aware how close to comedy the sexual act is in all its more desperate variations. Perhaps its this sense of pervading black humor amid the emotional sadism that prevents the finale from having the sting it's aiming for, but it's an interesting voyage.

Columbia's DVD contains no extras whatever, but does offer a decent widescreen transfer.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2006
Since watching this film for the first time, it has fast become my favourite film and I have bought 5 copies as gifts, watched it over and over and have forced ALL of my friends to watch it. I'm a bit obsessive like that...

... and this film about obsession cannot fail to tap into that obsessive nature.

At times sexy, at times dark, at times hilariously funny, incredibly moving and at other times... completely surreal... this film offers something fresh and original and cannot fail to entertain. Cleverly shot, I recommend you watch carefully... you will notice something new each time that will get you thinking!

I can't recommend this film enough!

Watch it... and show to all your friends... but don't tell them what it is about... the strange quirks that make it so original come as a wonderful surprise....
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
An interesting film dealing with some 'naughty' themes - cuckoldry, bondage, lust etc, and with a cast that you wouldn't necessarily expect to find in such a movie - Hugh Grant,Kirsten Scott Thomas, and Emanuelle Seigner(Polanski's wife) Worth watching.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
"Bitter Moon" is in fact the English version of a French film "Lune de Fiel" directed by Roman Polanski, in which actors Hugh Grant, Emmanuelle
Seigner, Kristin Scott-Thomas and the Oscar-winning Peter Coyote are all excellent. While this movie has met with an exaggerated amount of
sanctimonious criticism, particularly in regard to its sensual and somewhat sleazy aspects, we should bear in mind that it contains neither
porn nor explicit sex. I beg to differ from those who deliberately overstate that this movie "explores the uttermost depths of sexual perversion".
While not a fervent admirer, I find this view to be untrue and unjust. We are dealing here with a well-acted and very human tale of passion,
nothing more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2000
That is maybe the only movie from those usually named "erotic" that you can put on your shelf together with "The last tango in Paris". One can write about this film a lot, but I will concentrate on what makes you watch it for the second, third, fourth time. It is a movie about Passion, about the time in a relationship when there is no point of return, about when love and hate are one deep feeling, which is called Passion. The story is not what is the most interesting here, the characters are. All four are brilliantly casted by Roman Polanski. Two girls show two totally different sexualities: one open, aggressive (Emmanuelle Seigner) and the other (Kristine Scott Thomas)- hidden, but it's like a volcano inside a sleeping mountain. When Seigner pours milk over herself during usual breakfast it's one of the most exciting moments in cinema, forget "9 and 1/2 weeks". Two male characters also oppose one another: Peter Coyote, a-never-will-be-Scott-Fitzgerald, who wants to reach an end in everything, whatever it will bring to him; and Hugh Grant, an emotional coward afraid of anything connected to deep feelings. The story of Coyote and Seigner relationship affects differently the other pair but to reveal in what way will kill some part of potential viewer's interest...
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
I was very pleased with the prompt and efficient delivery of this product. I am delighted with my purchase and the great service provided. Thank you again. I will highly recommend you to all my friends and family. Jo
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 September 2012
For all those who think that this dark psychological drama from Roman Polanski is just kinky sex and full of S&M, it isn't - and simply isn't a film for you, or at least for what you want.

There are a few reviews around where such people wanted those elements and when they didn't like the baggage and the 130 minutes running time, they gave it one star. This is an intelligent, 'thinking person' relationship drama that follows themes often visited by Polanski, not least his debut, the Polish language Knife In the Water. One couldn't help thinking there's a bit of Bertolucci's Last Tango In Paris and Kubrick's Eyes Wide Open in there too.

However, despite all that is written, apart from the first few minutes, settling us into the characters and scenario, for the first hour or so, is actually a very lovely and often seductive and tender adult love story, set against the romance and beauty of Paris. With Peter Coyote's American writer, following and referring to other 'Americans in Paris' F Scott Fitzgerald and such, becoming the film's narrator and lead character, it really is the rose-tinted view of Parisian life and women that's fuelled popular culture and literature for decades.

In this case, it's Polanski's actual wife (Emmanuelle Seigner) who plays the young and nubile dancer, Mimi, that takes on the older Oscar (Coyote). The seduction and (non-graphic) sex scenes are actually very sensual and erotic, enticing us into a world of bliss, allowing Polanski to share with us his own fantasies (perhaps) as well as putting this relationship on a high plateau, from which it ultimately disintegrates - this being the thrust of the movie.

To give credence and body to all this, a now wheelchair-bound Oscar confides in reserved posh Brit Hugh Grant, in a sort of bitter wife-swap scenario, that's both warped and distasteful. They're all on a cruise to India, via Turkey and the in built confinement and boredom this provides is the prefect trap. Nigel Dobson (Grant) though, cannot keep away from these reminisces and his relationship with his own wife Fiona (Kristen Scott Thomas) is put under the microscope and the four slip into an unhealthy psychological melee.

Throughout, Polanski is playful, devious, malicious and often in love with the idea of his wife playing the young temptress in all this. In my view - and circumstances - would say that this really needs the life experiences of those over forty in its audience for them to halfway appreciate human nature and all its dark sides, as well as its joys. Some say it is excellent, I think it far from being his best work but a whole lot better than many he's made.

I bought my DVD from Cash Converters for 66.6p, recurring.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
very good acting, good story, splendid photography. never a dull moment. psychologically quite well aimed...
Polanski did it again. a great director !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Bought as a present for my mother, she says she thoroughly enjoyed it so who am I to say any different?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)