Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VALENTINO - Rudolf Nureyev
I thoroughly enjoyed this film - a must for all Nureyev fans.I found his portrayal of Valentino totally believable and just as I imagined Valentino to be. Of course, as a Nureyev fan, I would have loved to see more dancing, but then Valentino wasn't famed for his dancing and it is commendable that the film was not used simply as a vehicle to show Nureyev's undoubted...
Published on 11 July 2004 by Anita Mattley

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but interesting
Another Russell piece on an "artistic" subject. Nureyev (an good idea for casting - but I doubt if inspired) is sexually enigmatic as Valentino, and is used by his wife as much as by the studios. He also uses himself - as we all do - to get what he wants. As a dancer Nureyev is superb, and his portrayl of Valentino hinges on that. Unfortunately, that isn't really...
Published on 1 May 2003 by Jonathan Bryce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but interesting, 1 May 2003
By 
Jonathan Bryce (Kapiti Coast, NZ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Valentino [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Another Russell piece on an "artistic" subject. Nureyev (an good idea for casting - but I doubt if inspired) is sexually enigmatic as Valentino, and is used by his wife as much as by the studios. He also uses himself - as we all do - to get what he wants. As a dancer Nureyev is superb, and his portrayl of Valentino hinges on that. Unfortunately, that isn't really enough. The storyline is told in flashbacks, by his friends who attend his funeral (somewhat akin to 'Citizen Kane' for that) but the movie doesn't really take off.
There are memorable parts - a ladies group camps outside the Valentino's house and recite poetry in chorus: Valentino's interaction with the various machismo men in his career, culminating with his bedding of a co-star to allay the rumours that caused them to drop a powder-puff on him during filming.
Not great, but interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flamboyant, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valentino [DVD] (DVD)
This film does not work although it has some wonderful designs, costumes and theatrical ideas.
Nureyev dances magnificently but - as he acknowledged himself and did Ken Russell towards the end of his life.
Nureyev is no actor on the cinema screen and just doesn't convince - although his charisma remains intact and it is fascinating to see him "up close',
The format of the film is a little clunky too -and the cameos of the famous when combined with Russell's over the top direction often jar. That said it does hold your interest until then end and is quite enjoyable. The audio and video transfers are both very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Valentino, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valentino [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent film starring some of the worlds top actors. It is well worth watching if only once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ken Russells approach really gets on my wick!!, 5 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Valentino [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
The only thing that can really be said for this film is that it proved Nureyev could act. I would like to see a new version of Valentino's life as it clearly has the potential to make a really good film - but this isn't it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valentino [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A TRASH FILM, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valentino [DVD] (DVD)
a beautiful cover over the CD pocket, an association of best artists: Rudolf Nureyev, Valentino, Ken Russell. It felt like a parody of Valentino and his life. For all my fascination for Rudolf, I don't think he was suited to portray Valentino. Very disappointing. Sergine Seaton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valentino [DVD] (DVD)
Don't think I shall buy another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valentino, Ken Russell, 25 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valentino [DVD] (DVD)
Rudolf Nureyev's limited acting skills are well offset by his extraordinary beauty and Russell's as ever OTT, voluptuous production. A must for dancers, film buffs, designers and fag hags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 27 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valentino [DVD] (DVD)
I adore Nureyev...however he does not portray his brilliant dancing in this film , he was not an actor so I he wasn't too bad, in fact I did not think much of the acting from anyone....I found the story quite flat, Valentino seems to show his delight in women and I don't see much else in this movie. Disappointing....good actors not able to show talent in a low rate movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Valentin-oh, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valentino [DVD] (DVD)
This should have been great but was only ok. I tried to like it and although its better than a thousand other films it didn't quite get there. It was stylized but neither one thing or another. Only buy if you love Ken too much not to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Valentino [DVD]
Valentino [DVD] by Ken Russell (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: £7.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews