Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great portable dock
The Gear4 Street Party 3 iPod dock is incredibly ideal for travel use. Things I like about the product:

+ It plays and charges all current iPods (except the Shuffle), including a Nano 2G, Touch 2G and iPhone 3G.
+ It has a excellent sound quality, it does not sound tinny for the size and price at all
+ An AC adapter is included
+ It runs on...
Published on 29 Aug 2010 by M HALL

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ipod Dock
The unit is fine and works well the annoying fact is the on off switch is on the rear and at the bottom so hard to switch on and off. The volume controls are on the top it would have made sense to put the on/off switch there to.
Spoilt by a simple design error in my opinion.
Published 14 months ago by Terence C Fawdington


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great portable dock, 29 Aug 2010
By 
M HALL (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gear4 StreetParty 3 UK Portable Docking Station Speaker with EU/UK Plug Compatible with iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S, iPad 2/3, iPod Nano 5th Generation and iPod Touch 4th Generation - Black (Electronics)
The Gear4 Street Party 3 iPod dock is incredibly ideal for travel use. Things I like about the product:

+ It plays and charges all current iPods (except the Shuffle), including a Nano 2G, Touch 2G and iPhone 3G.
+ It has a excellent sound quality, it does not sound tinny for the size and price at all
+ An AC adapter is included
+ It runs on ordinary AA dry cell batteries (x4) and does not have its own rechargeable batteries which means that if you run out of power, you can get up and running again when you're away from a plug
+ It is small and folds flat - would easily fit inside the suitcase without taking up unnecessary room
+ It has a fold out stand which makes it sturdy, the iPod is also well supported
+ It's lightweight, even with batteries so very easy to support, and rotate for watching movies/using Cover Flow for example

For the price, it really is great value for a fantastic sounding dock. You wouldn't want to treat this as your main home system - but can you grumble for 30? It's more than adequate for use on the beach or by the pool (it isn't waterproof) and for this purpose it excels. The volume goes fairly loud although there is a little rattle but I wouldn't want to constantly play it at those volumes anyway. The dock however is very glossy, and in black so it is a magnet for fingerprints and scratches. The base also becomes very easily scratched when it is frequently dragged back and forth across a table. I can highly recommend the Street Party 3, the only thing I would suggest to Gear4 is to include a case to protect it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great dock for ipod touch 4G, 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: Gear4 StreetParty 3 UK Portable Docking Station Speaker with EU/UK Plug Compatible with iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S, iPad 2/3, iPod Nano 5th Generation and iPod Touch 4th Generation - Black (Electronics)
I bought this for my son having struggled to find a small speaker dock which will both play and charge his ipod touch 4G. Well this little portable dock does both very well. I have held back one star due to sound distortion at the higher volumes, but otherwise this is a great product for an older child/teenager or as an 'extra' in the kitchen etc.
We tested it with other ipods which we own and it worked (and charged) all of them: ipod 5G, and ipod Classic, ipod nano 2G and ipod touch 3G.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal portable ipod dock, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Gear4 StreetParty 3 UK Portable Docking Station Speaker with EU/UK Plug Compatible with iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S, iPad 2/3, iPod Nano 5th Generation and iPod Touch 4th Generation - Black (Electronics)
Bought this as a nice looking portable ipod dock. I already have a bigger/better dock but it is not mobile.

Excellent price and excellent sound quality. I read some reviews before buying it and noted some reviews complained about the lack of sound quality at high volumes. Well my preferred style of music is heavy metal which HAS to be played loud! I can play my music on this dock as loud as I like and have only noticed minimal distortion.(I do not have the volume on my ipod turned up to the max which may help)?

However I would seriously recommend this dock. It is a well known brand, looks good, sounds good, is very portable, charges your ipod and you can also use batteries. For the price I don't think it can be beaten. Also I could not find it any cheaper than here on amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOoooood!!!, 14 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gear4 StreetParty 3 UK Portable Docking Station Speaker with EU/UK Plug Compatible with iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S, iPad 2/3, iPod Nano 5th Generation and iPod Touch 4th Generation - Black (Electronics)
Very good value for money, more than loud enough for your living room. A good present for the sister. Could possibly wake the neighbours up...possibly. The bass is good, not amazing but definitely goes boom. The clarity of the music is very good and sounds very clear. Overall, really happy with it. Runs on mains, charges your Ipod and can run on 4 AA batteries too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 4 Feb 2009
By 
B. Ford (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gear4 StreetParty 3 UK Portable Docking Station Speaker with EU/UK Plug Compatible with iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S, iPad 2/3, iPod Nano 5th Generation and iPod Touch 4th Generation - Black (Electronics)
Really easy to set up, lightweight and portable.Great to pack into a suitcase or back pack for when your out and about. Looks good,sounds good and the compact size means it's easy to find a place for it to stand. Only down side, no remote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 16 April 2013
By 
avid british reader (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gear4 StreetParty 3 UK Portable Docking Station Speaker with EU/UK Plug Compatible with iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S, iPad 2/3, iPod Nano 5th Generation and iPod Touch 4th Generation - Black (Electronics)
Given the money. Have spent in docking stations for other rooms I can say this is the choice for kids and teens rooms for such excellent quality value- at this price hey can travel with it without the weight and concern if your top end stations- really great value and exc sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is, 9 Jun 2010
By 
Stephen C (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gear4 StreetParty 3 UK Portable Docking Station Speaker with EU/UK Plug Compatible with iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S, iPad 2/3, iPod Nano 5th Generation and iPod Touch 4th Generation - Black (Electronics)
I think the other reviews of this item are a little harsh.

Don't expect it to sound like a Bose or B&W. It's about a tenth of the price of their iPod speakers and much smaller.

I'd say the sound quality is roughly as good as that of a portable radio of a similar size and price, which seems reasonable enough.

I bought mine mainly for listening to podcasts and internet radio on my iPod Touch.

The main selling points are its size and the fact that it can be powered by batteries or the supplied mains adapter.

For anyone concerned about such things, it does charge my third generation (late 2009 model) iPod Touch but only when running from the mains adapter.

The only obvious annoyance for me is the very bright blue LED on the front when switched on. This is enough to dazzle me when I'm operating the iPod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gear4 streetparty3 ipod speaker dock, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Gear4 StreetParty 3 UK Portable Docking Station Speaker with EU/UK Plug Compatible with iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S, iPad 2/3, iPod Nano 5th Generation and iPod Touch 4th Generation - Black (Electronics)
I purchased this for my daughter along with an ipod...didn't expect much, but i was very pleased with it, having either batteries or plug in ..its very compact and can be used any where,the sound is loud and it charges your ipod as well ...ideal for hols or on the beach,can't fault it..may buy myself one .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic speakers, 8 Sep 2009
By 
Dr. Kate M. Moore (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gear4 StreetParty 3 UK Portable Docking Station Speaker with EU/UK Plug Compatible with iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S, iPad 2/3, iPod Nano 5th Generation and iPod Touch 4th Generation - Black (Electronics)
Good speakers bought as gift for techno-phobe parents who finally bought themselves an iPod. Speakers simple to use and produced decent sound. Excellent for travelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get what you pay for, 2 April 2013
By 
M. Hayes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gear4 StreetParty 3 UK Portable Docking Station Speaker with EU/UK Plug Compatible with iPhone 3G/3GS/4/4S, iPad 2/3, iPod Nano 5th Generation and iPod Touch 4th Generation - Black (Electronics)
Nice and small. Sounds OK for 20. Product description states you get a 3.5mm cable for the Line in, but you don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xacc72ea0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews