Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest films ever.
This film is fantastic. The most remarkable thing about it, is that almost anyone will find it funny. As a 14 year old i found it hilarious because of all the jokes about teenage life, which is very accurate despite being written by a middle aged man, adults (espiecially paents) will laugh at how exagerated the behaviour is and how the characters are similar to quite a...
Published on 19 Sept. 2008 by K. P. Francis

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American Pie with chips!
Most TV shows turned into movies cannot sustain 80 minutes. Kevin and Perry just about scrapes by without irritating you too much.
Kevin and Perry dream that a holiday to Ibiza will bring them women, wine and super-stardom. Only thing is Kevin's parents want to go too. So off they set to the Balaeric Islands hoping lose their virginity and dance the night away...
Published on 12 Nov. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest films ever., 19 Sept. 2008
By 
K. P. Francis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kevin and Perry Go Large [DVD] (DVD)
This film is fantastic. The most remarkable thing about it, is that almost anyone will find it funny. As a 14 year old i found it hilarious because of all the jokes about teenage life, which is very accurate despite being written by a middle aged man, adults (espiecially paents) will laugh at how exagerated the behaviour is and how the characters are similar to quite a few teenage boys and also children will laugh at just how silly they act and talk (although it probably isnt suitable for them) lol.

Overall this film is hilarious and you should certainly watch it no matter how old or young you are and is a dead cert for fans of Harry Enfield.

Even if you don't buy, just make sure you watch it as you'll remember it forever.

And buying it would be a great addition to anyone's film collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kevin and Perry, 6 Aug. 2007
By 
David P. "A Reviewer" (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
I've loved this film and found it really hillarious all the way through since the day I first watched it (about 7 years ago now). The storyline to it is very interesting and the humour is brilliant, and there's good humour in it in pratically every scene.

One thing I love about comedy is when abnormal characters are thrown into a normal world of normal people. You just wouldn't see people like Kevin and Perry in real life. The two characters in general are brilliant. One of the funniest things about them is their relationship with super star DJ Eye Ball Paul (Rhys Ifans). They really believe he's a nice bloke and really likes them, yet it's very obvious he is far from nice and is taking the p*ss out of them.

One funny moment is when he mentions that he's going to give his bathroom a bit of a paint and asks them if they fancy giving him a hand. Kevin and Perry (as they like him) are more than happy to. Eye Ball Paul lets them do ALL the work, including getting rid of a floater he had trouble flushing. Afterwards Kevin says to Perry "Eye Ball Paul is so nice letting us do all that work for him".

Amongst the other funny moments is the scene at the bank and Kevin's daydream funeral (one funny line in that scene is "you shouldn't have made me wash" the last line of Kevin's letter the priest reads out).

The funniest moment of the film in my opinion is the floater scene (you'll know what I'm on about when you get to it).

In this film Kevin (Harry Enfield) and Perry (Kathy Burke) are two teenagers, who want nothing more but to lose their virginity. They also have a dream of becoming famous DJs. While reading a magazine, they realize that if they go to Ibiza, they're garanteed to lose their virginity.

Eventually they get to Ibiza (and to Kevin's dissapointment, his parents come along two). They're they meet Eye Ball Paul and with his help plan to become DJs, and in the meantime they attempt to go out with two girls.

This film is really good and very funny, not to be missed by any fan of comedy. Eye Ball Paul is the best character in the film (although he's an A-hole). Get this film now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Clubbing Film without any Drugs in sight, 10 Dec. 2010
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kevin and Perry Go Large [DVD] (DVD)
One of the things that is annoying about many club films is their tendency to involve drugs throughout the story-line. To be fair, club culture has a lot of drug-use but (as someone who is a keen clubber but has never used illegal substances to 'enhance' the experience) it does get a bit annoying that the counter-culture is plagued by such things.

This film, though, is different as it does not contain any illegal drugs (so far as I can recall) & hence develops the other two themes that can often be neglected by such films, namely Music and Love.

There is also the added bonus that this film is funny, but not in a saccharine or corny manner that some films (of this sort) can be. Having listened to the dialogue on the Soundtrack, there are some very funny bits and I'd say the comedy writing was up there with Shaun Of The Dead .

***

Onto the story (Beware: Plot spoilers!)

The film starts off with introducing Kevin & Perry through a scene where Kevin states "The only person who really understands me is my best mate Perry. He is Joyful in his Understanding of my Bountiful Wisdom" (before Perry points out that Kevin's jacket is on inside out!)
We then discover that the two of them are Virgins & that they spend most of their spare time DJing & making mixes (e.g. their song All I wanna do is do it), all the time wanting to be famous DJ's and be surrounded by women.
After pretending to have slept with a girl and the truth being publically revealed that they are virgins (in the most humiliating way imaginable), they set off to Ibiza.

In Ibiza, they meet up with Eye-ball Paul (a narcissistic superstar DJ) & effectively become his slaves.
Meanwhile Kevin's parents use the holiday as an occasion for romance & Kevin tries to deny increasingly obvious signs that they love each other ("My parents don't do *it* - they've only ever done *it* once.")

As the plot develops, the pair meet up with two ladies who seem to be as equally unlucky in love as them and, after persuading Eye-Ball Paul to play their mix, they get into one of the biggest clubs in Ibiza ('Amnesia' - said to be based on Cream)...

Anyhow, the rest of the plot is fairly predictable, but hopefully this will give a flavour of what the film is about, without giving too much away.

***

If you haven't seen this film, then I thoroughly recommend it as a classic of its kind, with a good balance of club culture, comedy & charactors to carry the film along creating, in the process, some very funny and very memorable scenes (e.g. the scene where Kevin & Perry are listening to a walkman, walking in the sea and Perry decides the answer the call of nature - "You've got to have a **** in the sea - it's the law!")

And the other curious thing is that only one film about clubbing has equalled it since (It's All Gone Pete Tong), and I'd argue that no other film better defines Ibiza.
That said, if you're after club culture, then your first stop should be Human Traffic as the definitive tome on all things dance. I'd also recommend Go as an excellent example of an American clubbing film.
However, once you've seen Human Traffic, this film stands out as the only other pillar of a sadly missed musical movement...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars avin it laaaarge!!!, 1 Mar. 2008
By 
Mrs. L. Delarosa-Monsior "I love books & stuff" (Chesterfield, Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie makes me laugh every time I watch it. For anyone who has ever been to the sacred clubbing town that is Ibiza, then you will get a lump in your throat and love in your heart at the tracks that are played. Most awesome is 'Follow Me' by Lange...gives you a serious case of throwing your hands in the air and waving them like you just don't care.
Feel good movie that can be watched time and time again. And just remember, no ugly people, ok!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One to Treasure, 27 April 2009
By 
G. RINGHAM (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kevin and Perry Go Large [DVD] (DVD)
For such a small investment 'Kevin & Perry Go Large' is worth every penny. Both Harry Enfield and Kathy Burke portray two mixed up hormonal youths with hilarious perfection as they try to come to terms with their newly discovered puberty - and parents who simply `don't understand them!!' The clever part is that people of all ages and gender will identify with their youthful dilemma creating personal memories both cringing and very funny.

The lads manage to get to Ibiza Spain, their plan to become top DJ's. like the resident cranky DJ. `Eye Ball Paul' played by Rhys Ifans. It's there that the boys fall in love with two air head girls, Candice, played by Laura Fraser and Gemma, played by Tabitha Wady. Both provide magnificent supporting roles adding further to the boys frustrations and giving us further reminders of the `tragedies of youth' Priceless!

Most of the action takes place in Ibiza, Spain. And if you like top quality Rave this DVD has it all; played and performed at the night club Amnesia. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Largin' It!, 15 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This film is really cool! The best thing about it is the soundtrack, its wicked, and the awesome acting! I went out and brought this film after my friend showed me her copy, and it has had pride of place on my book shelf ever since! If you haven't already seen this, i highly recommend it! It will cheer you up if you are feeling particularly down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rinsin'!!!, 21 Mar. 2004
By 
L.Jarvis (Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This film, along with the likes of Austin Powers, has to be the funniest film ever!
Watching Kev scream "I AM NOT YOUR SLAVE!!!" at his quite thick parents is hilarious any time or place, but one of the funniest bits is Kev having a b**** and setting off the bank alarm.
A must see, must have film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Stupid & SMASHING!!!!!, 8 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
'Kevin & perry go large' is the funniest film yet. Harry Enfield & Kathy Burke both play stupid teenaged boys, who are mad about loosing their viginity. They take a trip to Ibiza, with Kevins parents, Mr. & Mrs Patterson. Its worth seeing & Great Fun!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best comedy ever, 1 Aug. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film, loads of extras, all in all a great buy. However, if you have no personality and find it hard to understand simple comedy this might not be for you. that is the only reasons why I can think some have given this a bad review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tongue in cheek and funny., 22 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kevin and Perry Go Large [DVD] (DVD)
First of all I have to point out that I could not stand HE's sketch show. However, this film is probably his best work of the period. Yes it is full of recycled jokes and "toilet" humour but the story follows a clear path and by knowing the personalities of the characters, the storyline comes across as fairly believable. The film is not intended to be serious or factual but merely tongue in cheek.

Also, other reviewers, why down-rate this film based on the fact that you were cheapskates trying to save a couple of £ by buying a second hand copy that was scratched? Your reviews are pointless and these comments should be directed at the suppliers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kevin and Perry Go Large [DVD]
Kevin and Perry Go Large [DVD] by Ed Bye (DVD - 2008)
£3.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews