Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are a snowboarder, you'll love it!!!
Many online reviewers give this game 4 out of 10. Believe me this game is a lot better than that. It comes alive in on-line play like no other game I have played.

There is free-riding, big air competitions, avalanches, jibbing and loads of tricks to master. Tricks are not easy, if they were then what would there be to master? You will have no problems doing...
Published on 19 Nov 2008 by Ian Woodbridge

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could have been better
So, another snowboarding game has come along then? I loved SSX, and SSX Tricky and Amped 2, so I was looking forward to seeing what Ubisoft could do with the Assassins Creed graphics engine on this game. So, what have they come up with? The answer is at times, a good game, but more often than not a really frustrating experience. The graphics are good, but not brilliant...
Published on 17 Nov 2008 by MisterDerp1975


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are a snowboarder, you'll love it!!!, 19 Nov 2008
By 
Ian Woodbridge (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shaun White Snowboarding (PS3) (Video Game)
Many online reviewers give this game 4 out of 10. Believe me this game is a lot better than that. It comes alive in on-line play like no other game I have played.

There is free-riding, big air competitions, avalanches, jibbing and loads of tricks to master. Tricks are not easy, if they were then what would there be to master? You will have no problems doing basic twists, turns and grabs.

The main on-line review complaints are that you don't get a sense of speed and it is not as good as SSX. I promise you none of this is true. It is unfair to compare it to SSX as they are completely different games. I loved SSX and 1080 on the N64, but for me this is the best of the 3. It is the one that has captured the mountain the best.

If you are one of those people who only gets away once a year to snowboard, then this game will really bring the mountain to you. You will be amazed at the level of detail. There are lots of nice touches such as boarding down to the ski-lifts, which you can ride all the way up if you like, heli-drops, half-pipe, powder, ice-rattle on the board, an amazing expanse of terrain, buying new gear, a fantastic music score and of course some great snowboarding experiences with your friends...I could go on.

Take it from me, you need this game, but you also need online play to experience it as it should be played. Quite why reviews give it a pasting is beyond me - it gets 8.5 out of 10 for me. I think some people simply don't get it. I remember a lot of reviewers didn't 'get' GTA III and gave it a pasting.

In summary, if you snowboard and you want a game that captures the mountains, plus you like hanging out with your friends, this is the game for you.

ADDITION: Been playing this longer than a week now, its FAST. Many online reviewers on other sites clearly had not played it for more than 30 mins and were basing their judgement on the basic kit. When you earn enough to purchase expensive boards, you can do more tricks and go lightening quick, plus you can win more competitions. I am currently boarding in skin tight leopard print pants, carrying an electric guitar instead of a backpack and wearing a thick furry coat! Groovy baby!

The online community is getting bigger all the time...what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could have been better, 17 Nov 2008
By 
MisterDerp1975 (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shaun White Snowboarding (PS3) (Video Game)
So, another snowboarding game has come along then? I loved SSX, and SSX Tricky and Amped 2, so I was looking forward to seeing what Ubisoft could do with the Assassins Creed graphics engine on this game. So, what have they come up with? The answer is at times, a good game, but more often than not a really frustrating experience. The graphics are good, but not brilliant and that annoyed me. The views at times are beautiful, as you are 'whizzing' down the slopes you just don't get any real feel of speed, and in this type of game you just expect that as a given. Another problem is the controls. They are just too niggly and annoying and the tricks are often really difficult to pull off. Back to good things, and the soundtrack is a good one, IMO, although The Tings Tings being heard over and over again can get a little annoying. It is clear that Ubisoft had big ideas for SWS and it can be commended for being different, but the sad fact is that it's just too different. Getting around the 4 mountains, none of which are based on real locations by the way is a real chore, and just too frustrating and lack of a real crash system (you just bounce off trees) is annoying. It is a shame, cos I really wanted to like this game, but it is just below average. 2 stars. But hey, rent it first, you make like it. I didn't really. I am going to try & then review the Wii version, as that is supposed to be better. I will let you know what I think - soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Gameplay - just to short a hill, 6 Feb 2009
By 
Bjorn Key (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shaun White Snowboarding (PS3) (Video Game)
the game is well made, the tricks looks very stylish.

major flaw is tho that the hills are way to small -eg : it takes 5mins TOPS to reach the buttom, and this is where i miss the ssx 25mins long boarding style.

other than that its a great game and it looks awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super snowboarding!, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaun White Snowboarding (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a great game for little ones. So is to use and have such fun with. It is easy for young ones to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PS3, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaun White Snowboarding (PS3) (Video Game)
This is an excellent snowboarding game, would say ithas realistic controls and backgrounds, easy game to pick up would recommend it to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Snow White Shaunboarding, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaun White Snowboarding (PS3) (Video Game)
Great game. My son loves it. It was very easy to set up and get going straight away. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 17 Sep 2011
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shaun White Snowboarding (PS3) (Video Game)
If you want a snowboarding game where you just doss about then you might find this interesting. If you want a game however buy SSX tricky for the PS2. This game is near rubbish.

The graphics are very good and the general snowboarding environment etc is in fact well designed. The game has loads of potential that is simply not used. You have 5 countries to slide down but unless you just want to go from top to bottom (which gets boring after a few attempts) then you will be disappionted. There is not much else to do. You can go and hunt for icons to hit which trigger challenges (if you find them that is) and these offer nothing in the way of fun. Why no competions or races or some form of structure to the game. All this gives you is a free roam on a snowy mountain which you will have your fill of in one evening.

On-line consists of a few people dicking about. Whoopee!

Avoid and save your money for the forthcoming SSX game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't excpect an SSX game!, 7 Sep 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shaun White Snowboarding (PS3) (Video Game)
I really enjoyed SSX games on PS2 and wanted a snowboarding game for my PS3. When I got this I was pretty disappointed. More advance tricks are hard to do and you have no help learning how to do them and the aim of the game is terrible. You collect stars across the map which are very hard to get to by snowboarding there when it's up a hill. I thought no problem I'll just get the ski lift, Ugh I was wrong. You cannot view the map when on the ski lift so you have no clue when to get off for the star/euro and if you get off to early you have to go right to the bottom of the mountain to get back on the ski lift. Wait for SSX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Shaun White Snowboarding, 20 May 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shaun White Snowboarding (PS3) (Video Game)
Having played the Wii version of this, I expected a pretty decent snowboarding game. However, Shaun White Snowboarding disappointed. While much more realistic than titles such as SSX, it's simply a lot less fun. The game environment isn't very expansive. Though there is DLC to expand the title, you shouldn't have to pay to make the game a decent size in the first place. The controls aren't great and each time I've played the competition has felt like it was over too quickly. It handles like an edgy rush to the finish line, not a chilled, well constructed snowboarding title. Compared to other titles the game simply feels a bit rushed. One thing that can be said in favour is that the loading screen allows you to practice in an imaginary half pipe. The Wii version is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its a good game, 29 Mar 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shaun White Snowboarding (PS3) (Video Game)
I enjoy this game alot mabey thats just me being a snowboarder, the controls are a bit diffucult to get the hang of but once you do its good fun. You get to chose your own trousers, jackets, gloves, hats, bags, boots, bindings and board which is great you can come up with some realy cool combonations [its good to hit the slopes in style. The slopes are big you can get on a helicopter to the top or the lifts where your boarder might talk to another person on the lift which is funny. I think there should be more slopes though; europe, alaska, japan and park city. Online is good you can bet with other riders to a slope style but some people decide to keep on throwing snowballs at you so you can't get up which is annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shaun White Snowboarding (PS3)
Shaun White Snowboarding (PS3) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3)
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews