Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marriner or Hickox?
These two works make an obvious and very desirable coupling, being celebratory, liturgical works of the same era by two of the greatest Baroque composers but obviously very different in character: the one, all Venetian brilliance, the other high Germanic seriousness - yet both are intensely soulful and beautiful, with deeply contemplative passages. By chance, both the...
Published 4 months ago by Ralph Moore

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mixed
Vivaldi very good.
Unfortunatley last track on Bach CD damaged and gets stuck.
This is a shame as rest of CD pretty good
Published on 2 Mar. 2013 by sdt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marriner or Hickox?, 3 Mar. 2015
By 
Ralph Moore "Ralph operaphile" (Bishop's Stortford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These two works make an obvious and very desirable coupling, being celebratory, liturgical works of the same era by two of the greatest Baroque composers but obviously very different in character: the one, all Venetian brilliance, the other high Germanic seriousness - yet both are intensely soulful and beautiful, with deeply contemplative passages. By chance, both the "period" recording by Hickox and the modern-traditional recording from Marriner were recorded a quarter century ago and both retain their merited place on my shelves, different though they are.

Contrary to a previous reviewer, the Hickox recording is not especially slow at all in comparison with the norm, although there is one instance, the alto solo in the Vivaldi, "Domine Deus, Agnus Dei", where Michael Chance takes half as long again as his female counterpart for Mariner, drawing out the melancholy of the piece. All soloists are uniformly good fr both conductors, although there is a special crystalline radiance in Emma Kirby's soprano compared with the smokier, more sensuous, operatic sound of Barbara Hendricks for Marriner. I am also pleased to report that Ann Murray, a singer whose tone sometimes turned acid in the higher reaches, sounds in finest form, singing with great evenness and expression at brisker speeds than Chance. Finnish bass Jorma Hynninnen is sonorous but rather lugubrious in his solo aria in the Bach and thus I prefer Stephen Varcoe for Hickox there, even though - or perhaps because, in this case - his voice is so light. Both tenors are admirable.

The sound for Marriner is much broader and a little mushier in acoustic whereas Chandos provides a clearer, cleaner, closer perspective but both offer a modern, digital listening experience.

The bonuses might be a deciding factor for some collectors; Chandos offers a preliminary taster in the form of the sparkling "Ostro picta, armata spina" sweetly sung by Kirby, whereas CfP (Warner) provides several more substantial extras in the form of Bach bon-bons: two famous choral items from the cantatas, the equally popular soprano solo from Cantata 208 elegantly sung by Hendricks and, best of all, two brief but lovely arias from Dame Janet Baker, exquisitely sung in her inimitable oboe tones.

Personally I want both discs in my collection but if you want only one version of these pairings, I cannot recommend one over the other, except to suggest that you should go with your taste, depending on whether you want a more traditional or a supposedly "historically aware" approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the coupling I needed, 11 Feb. 2013
By 
John HOLLAS (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like so many Classics for Pleasure rejuvenated recordings, this is a bargain not to be missed. Marriner, Hendircks, Murray guarantee quality in a coupling of two of my favorite pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Rendition of Two Favourite Choral Works, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivaldi: Gloria in D RV589 / J.S. Bach: Magnificat in D BWV243 (Audio CD)
I have been wanting recordings of these works for a while and was pleased to see a version by Sir Neville Marriner.
I would highly recommend this recording and the soloists are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bach Magnificat, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivaldi: Gloria in D RV589 / J.S. Bach: Magnificat in D BWV243 (Audio CD)
I thought this edition was very good. I am learning this music for a concert and the sound of the voices and orchestra are very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A FINE PERFORMANCE, 25 Oct. 2013
By 
B. R. Smith "BRENT" (WEST YORKSHIRE, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivaldi: Gloria in D RV589 / J.S. Bach: Magnificat in D BWV243 (Audio CD)
I chose these works for the wrong reasons really; when I am writing I need something familiar, uplifting, and calming to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivaldi: Gloria in D RV589 / J.S. Bach: Magnificat in D BWV243 (Audio CD)
Excellent performance and recording. Learned my part from this C D. highly recommended. Singing it again in the summer this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious gloria, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivaldi: Gloria in D RV589 / J.S. Bach: Magnificat in D BWV243 (Audio CD)
Just what we needed to help us sing Gloria with our choral society in St Michael's Church Newquay this Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vivaldi: Gloria in D, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivaldi: Gloria in D RV589 / J.S. Bach: Magnificat in D BWV243 (Audio CD)
Fabulous CD, thank you so much, very fast delivery, no problems whatsoever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivaldi: Gloria in D RV589 / J.S. Bach: Magnificat in D BWV243 (Audio CD)
The Bach Magnificat is great, and the other items are all good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivaldi: Gloria in D RV589 / J.S. Bach: Magnificat in D BWV243 (Audio CD)
Just what I wanted and good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews