Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barber : Adagio for Strings : Agnus Dei
This album of five of Samuel Barber's works which are
often heard in the concert repertoire is good. I like
it, but rather like a previous reviewer, I find that
something is missing from The Adagio. It does not tug
at the heart strings as much as the Leonard Bernstein
rendition or indeed that of the late Eugene Ormandy.

That said, Andre...
Published on 26 Oct. 2012 by Malcolm

versus
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great but I prefer the Bernstein version
Barber's Adagio for Strings - one of the most emotionally stirring pieces I know. I like this recording but Leonard Bernstein's version is better - it seems to flow better and the highly pitched strings are better controlled. However, this recording provides other Barber pieces which Bernstein's does not so you are really deciding whether you want the best recording of...
Published on 21 Dec. 2010 by M. L. Norton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barber : Adagio for Strings : Agnus Dei, 26 Oct. 2012
By 
Malcolm (Edlesborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barber: Adagio for Strings / Violin Concerto Op.14 / Essay Op.12 / Cello Concerto Op 22 / Agnus Dei (Audio CD)
This album of five of Samuel Barber's works which are
often heard in the concert repertoire is good. I like
it, but rather like a previous reviewer, I find that
something is missing from The Adagio. It does not tug
at the heart strings as much as the Leonard Bernstein
rendition or indeed that of the late Eugene Ormandy.

That said, Andre Previn does coax true emotion out of
the LSO and it is most enjoyable to listen to.

The other pieces are the Violin Concerto Opus14,
Essay No1 Opus 12 and the Cello Concerto Opus 22.
A good introduction to the work of this contemporary
of Bernstein and Copland, making Barber one of the
foremost composers of his era.

The finale on this album is a return to the Adagio,
this time in vocal form as for a Mass.
In the late 1960's Barber returned to his masterpiece
and created an arrangement of the Agnus Dei set for
a full choir.
The recording here is that of the choir of Winchester
Cathedral under David Hill, a beautiful version.

This CD is one of the less expensive EMI recordings on the
Classics For Pleasure label.
Almost 80 minutes of quality music.
Well worthy of a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Barber, great collection, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cracking collection, it is a 'best of barber' collection really but with the full pieces not just extracts. Includes both the famous Adagio for Strings and the choral vocal arrangement of it as well, which adds a great different dimension to it. Both the violin and cello concerto in full are included, both epic pieces. An short concert piece completes the CD, 79 minutes of quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great but I prefer the Bernstein version, 21 Dec. 2010
By 
M. L. Norton "Mark Norton" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barber: Adagio for Strings / Violin Concerto Op.14 / Essay Op.12 / Cello Concerto Op 22 / Agnus Dei (Audio CD)
Barber's Adagio for Strings - one of the most emotionally stirring pieces I know. I like this recording but Leonard Bernstein's version is better - it seems to flow better and the highly pitched strings are better controlled. However, this recording provides other Barber pieces which Bernstein's does not so you are really deciding whether you want the best recording of the Adagio or a wider range of Barber pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fit for purpose, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barber: Adagio for Strings / Violin Concerto Op.14 / Essay Op.12 / Cello Concerto Op 22 / Agnus Dei (Audio CD)
We purchased this music for a funeral and I was pleased with the sound of this release. Not so dirgy as some later recordings (now associated with 9/11.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my funeral music, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barber: Adagio for Strings / Violin Concerto Op.14 / Essay Op.12 / Cello Concerto Op 22 / Agnus Dei (Audio CD)
this is great, along with another tune this is for my funeral, glad it came quickly so I can listen to it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars adagio for strings, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barber: Adagio for Strings / Violin Concerto Op.14 / Essay Op.12 / Cello Concerto Op 22 / Agnus Dei (Audio CD)
an excellent cd very good quality and very enjoyable to listen to time and time again. well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good cd very satisfied with, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barber: Adagio for Strings / Violin Concerto Op.14 / Essay Op.12 / Cello Concerto Op 22 / Agnus Dei (Audio CD)
very good cd very satisfied with purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sept. 2014
By 
Alan T. Yeomans (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barber: Adagio for Strings / Violin Concerto Op.14 / Essay Op.12 / Cello Concerto Op 22 / Agnus Dei (Audio CD)
just perfect,sublime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barber: Adagio for Strings / Violin Concerto Op.14 / Essay Op.12 / Cello Concerto Op 22 / Agnus Dei (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews