Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
It may not be everyones cup of tea, and yes it's a bit of a chick flick, but I loved this. One of those romantic, dreamy comedy/dramas that is so easy to watch, although at the end there is an unexpected twist. It's escapism, set in a perfect Cotswold village with immaculatly dressed, attractive characters. The storyline may be a bit far fetched, with the gorgeous Andi...
Published on 29 Mar 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the worst 'British' film ever...
The only thing I can say for this is that it is not as bad as 'Death At A Funeral' or whatever the last great 'Four Weddings And A Funeral' rip-off was called. What is it with this genre of British film? Andie MacDowell seems to spend more of her life in ancient English churches than the Archbishop of Canterbury. If you think referring to an 'organ' is funny you may laugh...
Published on 13 Dec 2008 by K. Hannay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 29 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Crush [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
It may not be everyones cup of tea, and yes it's a bit of a chick flick, but I loved this. One of those romantic, dreamy comedy/dramas that is so easy to watch, although at the end there is an unexpected twist. It's escapism, set in a perfect Cotswold village with immaculatly dressed, attractive characters. The storyline may be a bit far fetched, with the gorgeous Andi McDowell struggling to find love but if you just want to sit back with a glass of wine and have a relaxing evening it's near perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving!!, 23 Oct 2004
By 
This review is from: Crush [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a brillant, beautiful movie which is true to its word; it makes me laugh and cry. I can't believe this movie didn't do well at the box office!!!! Will definitely let all my girlfriends know about this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the worst 'British' film ever..., 13 Dec 2008
By 
K. Hannay "kh014u5746" (yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crush [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The only thing I can say for this is that it is not as bad as 'Death At A Funeral' or whatever the last great 'Four Weddings And A Funeral' rip-off was called. What is it with this genre of British film? Andie MacDowell seems to spend more of her life in ancient English churches than the Archbishop of Canterbury. If you think referring to an 'organ' is funny you may laugh once and watch it 'til the end but you'll feel hollow and used in the morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice surprise!!!, 24 Feb 2009
By 
M. L. Gard "Michelle Louise Gard" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crush [DVD] (DVD)
Just a brief note (as there are no other reviews here for a re-release version!!). I got this film on rental (I'm not even sure how it got on my list in the first place, I got it and thought - 'why the hell...!!!' - must have been another one of those bored afternoons at work adding ONLY 4+ star movies to my rental list ha ha as you do...!!). Anyway I stuck it on half-heartedly tonight to keep me half entertained and WOW - loved it!!!!! Really raw and passionate. I love films like that. That don't spell it out for you. So tender and warm and funny even and quite explicit in places. But wow - I am soooooo going to buy this film. And it's truly rare I say that!!!!! Where has this movie been hiding for 8 years!?!?!? Buy it!!!! Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This made me so angry!, 14 Aug 2007
By 
DebB (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crush [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Yes this is a chick lit film. Yes its a story of female friendship and the importance of friends. Yes the friendship survives the trauma - but, but but. That poor man! She is ashamed of him, hides the relationship from most people, doesn't defend him, and then, when - I won't spoil it - the bad thing happens - she continues to deny him, and I imagine, will for ever more. More than that, the friends who destroy what she had are still her bosom buddies at the end. Well shame on her. I was annoyed with myself for watching to the end - but then I kept assuming she'd come through, show a little honesty, take a position - I love this man so sod the lot of you would have done me!
A minor point - Ms McDowell is not the world's best actress - she does pretty well here but there are a few times when her lines fall so flat - Anna Chancellor and Imelda Staunton (and wossisname - you see even I haven't remembered who he is!) are great. In fact wossisname (wasn't he the big brother in Billy Elliott) is brill - what 40+ year old wouldn't want him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Kenny Doughtys naked gluteus maximi, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crush [DVD] (DVD)
And on that respect it delivers. Other than that this film is ok. I didn't hate it. The acting is good. It's a little sad in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crush, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crush [DVD] (DVD)
Having viewed this light hearted bittersweet DVD on a couple of occasions featuring three middle age women Anna Chancellor, Imelda Staunton and Andie MacDowell in a small English town meet weekly for a little ritual and swapped stories. When Anna Chancellor's character had a fling with a younger man. Only for the other women couldn't simply be happy for the couple's love life. In jealousy they promptly take it upon themselves to break up the pair, taking drastic measures which result in unintended outcomes, some happy and some tragic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crush, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crush [DVD] (DVD)
Bought it for a friend and she really likes it. Thanks, will be back for more. Lovely present to give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dont waste your time, 31 Jan 2013
This review is from: Crush [DVD] (DVD)
Found this DVD when I was sorting some stuff out,it was afree copy from the Mail on Sunday, about right!Started off ok but I think they must have got lost somewhere about 2 thirds the way through. The story ended up so ridiculous it was embarrasing.
I'm getting so sick of seeing films obviousley aimed at the American market, as if everyone in UK lives in beautifull houses in quant villages .Couldn't believe the smoking in every scene , seemed like an advert for cigarettes! Anyway, don't waste your time watching it, rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars crushed, 25 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: Crush [DVD] (DVD)
No redeeming features whatsoever. Dire.How Staunton got roped into this one beggars belief.As for Mcdowell, this film must be the tinfoil crowning moment of her career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crush [DVD]
Crush [DVD] by Louis Hammond (DVD - 2008)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews