Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


120 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful, quiet film with wonderful detailing
Although this is not a video I watch often, it is one of my favourites. It is very vivid, yet quiet, and stays in the memory.
Real-life mother and daughter Phyllida law and Emma Thompson are particularly good as mother and daughter in the film, struggling to cope with their relationship after the death of Emma Thompson's husband. She in turn is trying to avoid...
Published on 26 Oct. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Icy but beautiful
This is a strange film: all atmosphere and characters, not much plot. The action takes place over a single day in deep winter in a small Scottish town and has four, mostly separate strands.

There is a mother and daughter whose relationship has frozen over, rather like the sea in the film. We watch that iciness begin to thaw.

There are two young lads...
Published 4 months ago by BlueSkiesForever


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Guest [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best films I have ever seen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful opening sequence, 30 Jan. 2007
By 
Listening to my CD of the soundtrack of The Winter Guest after a long pause, I remembered how much I loved the film when I saw it in the late 90s. Scenes from it are still with me: Emma Thompson taking photographs on the beach, the two sadly funny old ladies in the teashop and, most of all, the marvellous opening sequence, in which Phyllida Law as the mother walks slowly and staunchly across the bleak, snowy landscape towards her daughter's house, to the accompaniment of the sparse piano score. I think it is the most memorable opening sequence I have ever seen. I can only agree with all the positive reviews, and order the DVD so that I can watch the film again as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still a great movie to see, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Guest [DVD] (DVD)
There is only a English subtitle available, no dutch.
Some passages are difficult to understand, still a great movie to see.
And a beautiful Emma Thompson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I just found it utterly bleak and depressing viewing. ..., 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Guest [DVD] (DVD)
I just found it utterly bleak and depressing viewing. I couldn't empathise with the main characters and sadly I therefore, didn't watch to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Guest [DVD] (DVD)
Was a bit disappointed with this film, expected more. It was very depressing. I would not watch it again. Will be giving it to a charity shop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watching this film years later, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It lived up to my memory of it being a great film. The superb acting, the style and the thoughtfulness are all worth more than one viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Guest [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film, great story line, happy, sad and very moving. It's doing the rounds in the family and has had great reviews from everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't grab, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Guest [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not sure what the film is saying, and it might even be a sort of death allegory, but it didn't really grab me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slow but pleasant, 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Guest [DVD] (DVD)
Very slow film - bit depressing but if you like bleak seaside places out of season it is worth watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed.....subtitles erratic., 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Guest [DVD] (DVD)
Quality of film passable but poor sound . I need sub titles and they were only on screen now and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Winter Guest [DVD]
The Winter Guest [DVD] by Alan Rickman (DVD - 2008)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews