Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, very sassy
Loved this movie. It's stylish, with just the right balance between real, believable emotion (just a little) and lots of irony and spoof. The acting is superb. The soundtrack, too, is brilliant. All over, a very enjoyable movie that I can watch again and again. A funky antidote to "me Tarzan, you Jane" type "spy thrillers".
Published on 19 Mar 2009 by giraffe123

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy watching, comedic, action-based
It's worthwhile for something to watch when you're home late and tired from work. No concentration needed. The plot is pretty basic so you can multi-task while watching and strill understand. I do like this movie though, it's feel-good, lighthearted and (let's face it) pretty cute really.

Recommended.
Published on 16 July 2006 by Ms. V. Brewster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Super spies in very short skirts., 25 April 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: D.E.B.S. [DVD] (DVD)
Starting out as comic book sketches by Director Angel Robinson this is a great fun film about girl power with the men firmly in second place.

Chosen for their ability to lie, cheat steal and kill (only kill really features in the film) our four heroines set out fearlessly to capture Lucy Diamond (Jordana Brewster) dressed in school uniforms with very short skirts and some very big guns.

Jordana Brewster gives the stand out performance in this enjoyable romp with an all female cast (the men don't count) where the leader of a DEBS squad Amy Bradshaw (Sara Foster) is seduced by master criminal Lucy Diamond.

Just a great fun film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun, 28 Mar 2007
By 
RD - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: D.E.B.S. [DVD] (DVD)
This is a surprisingly good movie. I just watched it out of sheer boredom and it did a fabulous job of entertaining for an hour and a bit. It's very tongue in cheek with some humour coming from the characters being a ditzy (in my opinion).

Very light hearted and doesn't require much brain function in order to follow the plot. Excellent one to relax to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It always makes me smile :), 28 Jan 2014
By 
C.G.C. (RS, Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D.E.B.S. [DVD] (DVD)
The movie is funny and cute. It is not deep, dramatic, it is just a simple romantic comedy, one of those movies you watch because it makes you feel good. Lucy and Amy are very cute together! For me, one of the best parts is when Jordana Brewster is "singing" a song by Erasure with a broom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bunch of sexy school girls who can lie, steal, cheat and kill., 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D.E.B.S. [DVD] (DVD)
A must watch. A stupid hilarious crime spy comedy. Full of attractive young women which are a bunch of spy's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny!, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D.E.B.S. [DVD] (DVD)
Love this movie I refer to it as brilliant movie tacking the mic out of spy genre that has so much more to offer and funny must see!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Different but predictable at the same time, 26 Jan 2013
This review is from: D.E.B.S. [DVD] (DVD)
D.E.B.S. is pretty much an excuse to film girls running around in tiny school girl outfits trying to fight some bad guys. Sara Foster, Meagan Good, Devon Aoki and Jill Ritchie star as the main D.E.B.S. unit. Amy, Max, Janet and Dominique all work together as a team and are the ones wanted to bring down the infamous Lucy Diamond played by Jordana Brewster. The dialogue between the four girls is mostly really cheesy and while the film has a Charlie's Angels feel to it, it is not nearly as good. I guess D.E.B.S. is a slight parody of Charlie's Angels anyway though and it wasn't supposed to be a serious attempt at being like it.

As this is a really cheap and cheesy film, the action scenes are nothing to be impressed with. The girls run around a lot with impressive looking guns and technology although they don't really get to use them much. However, there is plenty of posing with said guns and trying to look as badass as possible. This didn't work at all for me though and instead of looking dangerous, it made me laugh more than anything. I do see how this film would attract a male audience. What guy wouldn't want to see girls running around in tiny skirts shooting people?

As for the plot, that was also extremely weak. Lucy Diamond is supposed to big this big, badass criminal but the first time we meet her, she's getting all freaked out about going on a blind date. She seemed like a bit of a wuss to me. Although, her blind date was with a Russian assassin so maybe I would be freaked out at the same time. Really though, while Jordana Brewster is a good actress, her character in this film was terrible. Not once did I feel like she could be a criminal. Instead, I just got the impression that she was lonely and she actually came across as quite nice to me. The D.E.B.S. don't even seem too terrified of her and Lucy is supposed to be the world's biggest criminal.

Then there is the lesbian aspect of the plot. Again, a way to attract the male audience. Strangely though, I thought that this was something really different for this kind of film and I quite liked it. Although some bits were very out of place and a bit weird, I think the main message was that love can be found in unexpected places and people. The story between Amy and Lucy was quite heart-warming and it was something which made this film stand out. Sara Foster and Jordana Brewster do really well acting together and while their chemistry wasn't sizzling, it was still a nice thing to watch.

Overall, D.E.B.S. is a very strange and silly film but one which is quite funny in place. However, I do think it is more suited towards a male audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aww cute!, 15 Dec 2012
By 
Amy "Eeva" (Bedfordshire,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D.E.B.S. [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely adorable. Super cheesy but very fun and cute. I loved it and it's definitely one to watch to cheer you up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D.E.B.S. [DVD] (DVD)
Got This Film so my Girls to c this and Thay say it was very very Good and Funny so all Happy Bunny Here :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY good & funny film, DVD was like brand New :), 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: D.E.B.S. [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic DVD, very good quality was like brand new and also recieved a free film with it which was also a good quality film!

Very funny film but has a lot of meaning behind it! Recieved this DVD in a matter of Days from odering it! really reliable service.

Gemma
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D.E.B.S delight, 27 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: D.E.B.S. [DVD] (DVD)
A rather charming, funny film with two gorgeous leads (Sara Foster as Amy and Jordana Brewster as Lucy). The DVD extras include the love scene between the two that should have been in the movie and a full commentary by director and writer Angela Robinson and the stars, which is amusing and informative. Definitely a feel-good movie and a delight from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

D.E.B.S. [DVD]
D.E.B.S. [DVD] by Angela Robinson (DVD - 2008)
£6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews