Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
As there is no DVD Description given above, here's the DVD case summary:
Martin Freeman stars as Danny Reed whose life is literally turned upside down when he is struck by lightning and wakes to find himself trapped in a woman's body. Instead of being a scruffy DIY store worker with no prospects, he has swapped lives with glamorous female fashion journalist Veronica...
Published on 14 Jan. 2011 by H. O'Sullivan

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uneven gender swapping
It's the old, "two people hit by lightning & switching brains story", only above average. I bought this because I am a big Martin Freeman fan; sadly, his character, Danny Reed, is a thankless and underwritten part, while Rachael Stirling, as Veronica Burton has the meaty, substantial role in the show. It seems obvious that the writers knew how to find the comedy of a man...
Published on 13 April 2012 by Suzanne Naughton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uneven gender swapping, 13 April 2012
By 
Suzanne Naughton (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Meets Girl [DVD] (DVD)
It's the old, "two people hit by lightning & switching brains story", only above average. I bought this because I am a big Martin Freeman fan; sadly, his character, Danny Reed, is a thankless and underwritten part, while Rachael Stirling, as Veronica Burton has the meaty, substantial role in the show. It seems obvious that the writers knew how to find the comedy of a man in a woman's body -- while wandering into some seriously homophobic territory -- but no idea at all of what to do with a woman in a man's body (what, no penis jokes?). Consequently Rachael Stirling's character shines, leaving Martin Freeman's character short-changed, appearing infrequently, ineffectually wandering about looking confused, depressed & limp. He's almost a hindrance to the plot. Having said that, I watched it all, eager to see what would happen to them, what moral decisions they would come to & how it would end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 14 Jan. 2011
By 
H. O'Sullivan (Co. Kerry, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Meets Girl [DVD] (DVD)
As there is no DVD Description given above, here's the DVD case summary:
Martin Freeman stars as Danny Reed whose life is literally turned upside down when he is struck by lightning and wakes to find himself trapped in a woman's body. Instead of being a scruffy DIY store worker with no prospects, he has swapped lives with glamorous female fashion journalist Veronica Burton (played by Rachael Stirling). This creates a variety of very difficult situations...

I purchased "Boy Meets Girl" as part of Martin Freeman's back catalogue available on DVD, without knowing what the mini-series is about. Reading the DVD case summary, I thought oh no, how many more body-swapping stories does this world need? Accordingly, the DVD remained untouched for quite some time until I finally gave it a go. Well, what can I say, I watched the whole series in one go, needing to know how it would all end.

As usual, Martin Freeman's performance is priceless although sadly we don't actually see an awful lot of him because the series mainly follows his new, female persona. However, we at least get to listen to his voice. Rachael Stirling's "reincarnation" as a man is simply brilliant, fantastically acted by her throughout.

In other words, despite my initial apprehension I loved "Boy Meets Girl" and have since re-watched it several times.

Like my pre-reviewer already mentioned, unfortunately there is no bonus material or interviews with this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable ITV drama - Rachael Sterling shines, 8 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Meets Girl [DVD] (DVD)
Very enjoyable ITV drama starring Rachael Stirling and Martin Freeman. Rachael Stirling in particular shines in the 'male' role. For me, one of the best ITV dramas in ages and ages. Angela Griffin / Paterson Joseph / Marshall Lancaster were also very good in their roles.

The DVD contains the four episodes and that is it (always good to get some bonus material / interviews etc but sadly not in this case).

The music was also different in places..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly decent British take on the body swap theme, 1 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Meets Girl [DVD] (DVD)
Having always been a fan of body swap films I just had to see this despite my usual aversion for British TV serials. I thought it was a great series, Rachael Sterling particularly shines, and it is her we see most of. I don't know how she did it but she actually had me as a viewer convinced it was a man in a woman's body, she didn't just manage the lumbering awkardness of a man out of place, but also the facial expressions. I even found myself wondering what would it be like for something like this to really happen? Which is perhaps the thing which hooks viewers into this genre.

The story kicks straight into the swap scenario with virtually no preamble, and only vague hints of the problems each character is experiencing. There are some funny moments with Rabbit vibrators, underwear and high heels, but these aspects of the story are not over played. Instead it is the characters and story progresssion which is the main focus, and this is well done as the story spins out at a good pace.

The ending is pretty much as expected, but only half finished in my oppinion. And left me with the feeling that I wanted to know more just to tie it all up. This is my reason for the 4 stars rather than 5 which the rest of the story deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boy Meets Girl, 8 May 2014
By 
Mr. Beaumont - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy Meets Girl [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching Boy Meets Girl on ITV back in 2009 & just totally fell in-love with it. It was so good that I bought it on DVD as soon a it came out and now, in 2014, still watch it every now & again.

Part 1:
Danny is a young slob with sincere socialist views who works in a D-I-Y megastore with Pete and Fiona, (whom he has a crush on). Veronica is a fashion writer for the local paper who lives with her partner Jay in an expensive flat. Owing money, Danny steals some copper wire from a sub-station and runs across Veronica, who has run out of petrol, and they are both struck by lightning. Danny comes to in Veronica's body two days later in hospital. Jay is shocked by "Veronica's" slovenliness, frigidity and hostility but is determined to help her return to her old pre-accident self. Danny goes to Veronica's work and detests fashion wanting to do political reporting but she is dismissed as just someone who looks good in a skirt. "Veronica" visits Danny's flat and the store trying to contact Danny, but is considered weird. Fiona later contacts "Veronica" for help finding the still missing Danny, whom "Veronica" thinks may be confused and homeless. Meanwhile, Veronica, in Danny's body, has lost her memory, is sleeping rough and is asking strangers for help convinced that she used to be a woman. After seeing Veronica's column she has flashbacks of her former life and tries to ring "Veronica" at the paper but fails to reach her. She tries to make an appeal in front of a TV camera on the street, which Danny sees, but is arrested.

Part 2:
Danny misses Veronica at the police station so he registers himself on a missing persons website. Pete still suspicious of "Veronica" confronts her and then goes to the police. The police question 'Veronica' at work over Danny's disappearance and she tells the police that they had him this morning but let him go. Fiona and "Veronica" seem to be getting on well but he can't tell her that she is really Danny. Pete and Fiona go to see the criminal Barry, whose van Danny used for the theft, and discover another link to the accident with the powerlines. Pete makes a pass at Fiona but she rebuffs him. "Danny" fails to convince Siobhan that she is really Veronica and starts watching "Veronica" who he believes has stolen her life. He goes to see Jay but he is freaked out by all the personal details about him "Danny" knows and has her arrested. Danny has been struggling at pulling off being "Veronica" and her work at the paper and he discovers Veronica may not have been as happy there as she seemed. He is given one last chance at a fashion show where he gets drunk and causes a scene by attacking fashion and women. He tells Veronica's friend Siobhan she is weak for staying with her unfaithful boyfriend Ali, (whom he knows Veronica was having an affair with). Back at the flat, a drunk, confused and miserable Danny allows Jay to seduce her.

Part 3:
Siobhan dumps Ali and he tries to get back together with "Veronica". Danny is fed up with being Veronica and wants to be a man. She fails to convince Pete that she is really Danny. At the paper "Veronica" is fired and breaks down claiming she is really a man named Danny and is shipped off to a mental hospital. "Danny" has been sent there too by the police and their doctors believe they are both suffering from a shared delusion that they have switched personalities. Veronica learns her name is now Danny Reed and escapes. Danny spots him and chases after but is caught. Danny meets Veronica's working class parents whom she has shunned. Jay and Siobhan talk about helping Veronica and Siobhan gets drunk and tries to kiss Jay. Rebuffed, she goes back to Ail. Threatened with ECT, which he has before, Danny is terrified that he will lose his memory and come to believe he really is Veronica. He admits he was confused after the accident but has recovered is the old Veronica again and is released. He is determined to pull off being Veronica to stay out of the hospital. He begs for Veroncia's job back at the paper and goes home with Jay who proposes to her, at which point Fiona turns up see if "Veronica" is ok. Veronica steps outside to talk to Fiona who admits she really likes "Veronica". Danny says that's ok he has been thinking about her a lot too and they kiss.

Part 4:
Jay is planning their wedding but "Veronica" is only interested seeing Fiona and gets caught by Siobhan. "Danny" is researching how to swap their bodies back when he is abducted by Barry and forced to rob a worker depositing takings. "Veronica" stumbles across the robbery, grabs "Danny", and they flee while Barry tries to grab the money and is arrested. So they finally meet and talk. Veronica wants to get electrocuted, anything to swap back, but Danny refuses saying it is too dangerous. He tells Veronica where his flat is and Veronica goes there but finds it is a dump and that Danny has been evicted. "Veronica" has finally convinced Pete that she is really Danny and Pete convinces Danny that taking over Veronica's life and lying to Fiona is wrong. "Veronica" and Fiona agree that their affair has changed them both for the better but "Veronica" says they have to break up. Everything blows up at Jay's surprise engagement party and Danny again wants out of Veronica's life. "Danny" turns up and grabs "Veronica" and drags her to the substation because a storm is coming. They are electrocuted and it's not clear if they swap back. Veronica tells Jay she can't do this any more. Danny leaves town with Pete determined to make something more of his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Q. What if, quite by accident, you swapped bodies with a complete stranger of the opposite sex? A. Watch this and find out., 24 Feb. 2015
By 
S. Gray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Meets Girl [DVD] (DVD)
A very interesting take on gender-swapping, which looks at the impact of the lives around the two main characters. It also considers the differences between the genders; showing how friends, relationships and to some degree society treats the sexes. I thought that this was accomplished in a very believable way.

It's not a fantasy tale about an arguing couple being taught a lesson; it's the result of an accident. Perhaps this is one for the student of Sociology and Psychology; as a study-aid. For me, however, the series would keep me hooked till the final episode because, having by that time acquainted myself with the characters, I was keen to learn how things would play out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very nice series!, 1 Mar. 2012
By 
Colin Hélène (Loire-Atlantique, FRANCE) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Meets Girl [DVD] (DVD)
As a great tv series fan, I like to discover new series and this one was really enjoyable! Martin Freeman and Rachael Sterling are both great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars so so plot but Rachael sells it., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Meets Girl [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this because Rachael Stirling was in it and she makes the film. Martin Freeman is ok but his part is not that well written.
I cannot understand why Rachael does not get more film work probably because she is British. she can out act any Yankee actress going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Meets Girl [DVD] (DVD)
A confusing and weird storyline. I purchased as I am a big fan of Martin Freeman's work but this isn't a particularly great addition to his portfolio. I bought it as it was cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good laugh!, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Meets Girl [DVD] (DVD)
A feel good movie with lots of laughs. Worth your time and your money. Highly recommend this movie. You won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boy Meets Girl [DVD]
Boy Meets Girl [DVD] by Martin Freeman (DVD - 2009)
£6.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews