Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cheerful dead
This is a film I've loved since I was a child. It only came out on DVD last year, but the film was made in 1945. It must be about 20 years since I last watched it and, I'm pleased to say that it has aged well and I enjoyed it just as much today as I did on all the previous occasions that I watched it. As you would expect in a script created by Noel Coward, it's very...
Published on 4 July 2004 by Sally-Anne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Blithe Spirit
I recently saw Angela Lansbury in the excellent London theatre production and wished to compare it to the film. Stood up very well considering the time difference between productions.
Published 3 months ago by Mrs B Grater


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blithe Spirit [DVD] (DVD)
Good to deal with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, 31 July 2014
By 
D.W. (Filey, North Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blithe Spirit [DVD] [1945] (DVD)
A classic old film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blithe Spirit [DVD] [1945] (DVD)
Good old fashion film with a twist of comedy, enjoy got this for my 21yr old son to watch as saw on tv and thought it was funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blithe Spirit [DVD] (DVD)
Always loved this old film, so was pleased to find it out on DVD in enhanced form.
Good price,excellent ,quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars present, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blithe Spirit [DVD] [1945] (DVD)
bought this as a present for my Mother. She loved it but I was very distracted. I cannot say it was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blithe Spirit [DVD] (DVD)
I liked the movie but somehow it did not seem as funny as I remembered it. I have seen a stage play of it with local actors that I thought was funnier. I do say though that Margaret Rutherford is at her best and for that alone this movie is worth looking at
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value!, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blithe Spirit [DVD] [1945] (DVD)
Great value for money! Having seen Blithe Spirit on stage recently we were keen to see the DVD - we were not disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blithe Spirit - Rex Harrison, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blithe Spirit [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent service to obtain a much loved film the purchase of which has been continually deferred.
Next MUST be ' A matter of life and Death.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back happy memories, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blithe Spirit [DVD] [1945] (DVD)
I bought this for my daughter, so that she could share the enjoyment I have had from this film in the past, and she loved it. It is so witty in an acerbic way with absolutely no sentimentality at all. The cover notwithstanding it is in colour and interesting for the wartime costumes and settings (it was made in WWII) and must have been a spirit lifting entertainment for people in a time of stress. It has a special resonance for my family because my mother was a housemaid in the 1930's and the little housemaid in this film could have been her twin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars suprise hit, 1 Feb 2013
By 
D. J. Mather "mather24" (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blithe Spirit [DVD] (DVD)
I introduced my wife to this from TV but you end up with adverts. i was suprised when she loved it. they do talk fast and there is some subtle comedy that you miss the first time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blithe Spirit [DVD]
Blithe Spirit [DVD] by David Lean (DVD - 2008)
7.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews