Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Patriot Games, 2003 Special Collector's Edition - Harrison Ford provides us with the definitive Jack Ryan.
`Hunt for Red October', with its strong central performances and taut direction, was always going to be a tough act to follow. For this entry into the Ryan series Harrison Ford steps up to the plate as Ryan, and really carries the film with an excellent performance.

After foiling a seeming IRA attempt to kidnap a prominent British Royal, one of the terrorists...
Published on 8 April 2010 by Victor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Product is fine
The seller is fine. The problem is the Amazon UK website which regularly adds items that I have not ordered, i.e. in this case it added an extra Patriot Games DVD which slipped by me, so I end up paying more than I wanted to. Later today, I received an extra 3 pack of Lavender Soap that I didn't order, but Amazon website had made it 2 items instead of 1.

The...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. Keith Morison


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Patriot Games, 2003 Special Collector's Edition - Harrison Ford provides us with the definitive Jack Ryan., 8 April 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
`Hunt for Red October', with its strong central performances and taut direction, was always going to be a tough act to follow. For this entry into the Ryan series Harrison Ford steps up to the plate as Ryan, and really carries the film with an excellent performance.

After foiling a seeming IRA attempt to kidnap a prominent British Royal, one of the terrorists forms a grudge against Ryan and his family, and vows to kill them. Sean Bean is the psychotic killer, putting in a suitable single minded and cold performance.

Well written, with well staged action set pieces and a decent mystery as Ryan and his friends try to track down the terrorists, this is an involving and entertaining film.

This edition presents the film in its proper widescreen, with a really good 5.1 surround sound. There is also a DTS soundtrack, which sounds really good. There is a decent set of extras, all in all this is a package well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb Harrison Ford thriller., 28 Sep 2014
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Ford is at his best when playing an ordinary person forced to confront violence,extreme pressure or overwhelming circumstances that corner him and make him fight back and defend himself and family.

That is the scenario for many of his most successful films such as The Fugitive - Special Edition [DVD] [1993],Frantic [DVD] [1988],Air Force One [DVD] [1997] to name just a few.

Here he plays a non-military CIA analyst caught up in a plot to kill a member of British royalty.He also has to face Sean Beans character of an extremely psychotic IRA killer out to wipe out Ford's family in revenge for the death of his brother at the hands of Ford.

This is as well done as the previously mentioned films;full of pace,intrigue and well staged action with every actor putting in solid believable performances.The film delivers entertainment.

I've recently watched and reviewed The Manchurian Candidate/Rules Of Engagement/The Sum Of All Fears [DVD],a great box set of thoughtful,quality thrillers---this will sit nicely alongside and there's good reason to rewatch all of them in the future as they are full of detail,action and professional performances by all the actors(except Ben Affleck.Wooden.).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars and the winner is..., 7 Jun 2014
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
With a mature, well paced story and some keenly defined characters, I find this the most satisfying Jack Ryan adventure to date. The strong cinematography deftly handles the lush rolling hills of Ireland as well as the barren desert settings of the middle east. The musical score makes its presence felt, particularly during an early windswept approach to an isolated hillside cottage. Ford portrays Ryan with a quiet rage whilst Sean Bean excels as his polar opposite, who projets an impulsive, impetuous menace. I've trawled through a fair bit of Clancy and find his narrative tortuously technical at times so I thought the screenplay did a refreshingly solid job of giving us an involved and exciting story without having to telegraph every little plot point, motivation or context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very good political action film, 2 Feb 2011
this actor always gives a good perfomance on everyone of of his films action intrigue,one of the best actors of these times highly recomended five star .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patriot Games Special Edition, 27 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having seen this film on TV a few times I still consider it a great film.
A good storie with good acting by Harrison Ford, Sean Bean. Sean bean's caricature wanting revenge for the death of his brother by an exe CIA man (Harrison ford) and his single minded aim to kill the CIA agent and wont allow anything to get in his way what so ever.
Harrison Ford's role is also brilliant, as a exe CIA man who was a office man doing research and not a field person is great. His action to intervien when he sees an attempt on some one's life results in one terrorist killed by himself in a struggle and capture of another. The resulting actions of Harrison ford being of a man who did what he thought right at the time who is no hero but a devoted husband and father who is cought up in something that he has no control over leading to a brilliant climax and showing that hero's are people just trying to stay a live when someone is out to kill them.
I have added this to my collection of this set of films and also both of my Harrison Ford & Sean Bean collections also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Ryan 1 IRA scum 0, 4 May 2011
After saving the life of a member of the british royal family in london while on a speaking engagement with his family former-CIA analyst Jack Ryan must contend with revenge attempts by an angry murdering scumbag played excellently by Sean Bean. This is an excellent thriller with some excellent action pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best thrillers of all time, 5 Feb 2008
By 
S. Hammond "bidders86" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This adaptation ot Clancy's novel of the same name is outstanding- Harrison Ford as Jack Ryan is once again excellent in this thriller.

The story centres on Ryan, who having left the CIA behind years previously to focus on his family, gives a lecture in London during a holiday with his wife and daughter. In a chance encounter in Mayfair, Ryan defends an attack on a member of the Royal Family by a brutally ruthless IRA-ofshoot faction, killing one of two brothers involved, and thus incurring the wrath of the elder brother, Sean Miller (Sean Bean), the leader of the attack, who will stop at nothing to get revenge. Having recuperated and testified against Miller, Ryan returns home with his family, only to find that Miller has escaped from prison and is coming after him. This turn of envents puts an initially reluctant Ryan back in the CIA, as he endeavours to protect the lives of himself and his family. Tense and gripping scenarios ensue, including a lights-out, nail-biting finale at Ryan's remote home, and some excellent action sequences.

The acting is great- Sean Bean's Ulster accent is spot-on and the supporting cast, including Polly Maberly, is very good too. The script is intelligent and entertaining, and the soundtrack is pretty good too. Of all the Clancy films, this is my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Film yes, as good as Book, no, 25 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patriot Games [Blu-ray] [1992] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Well same thinsg with every Calncy film made so far, when they stray away from the book, they cause themselves problems.

Big problem wiht this film is that because they filmed HFRO first and chronologically PG is the first Ryan story, they decided to make it seem like HFRO happened before i.e. Jack left theCIA and is encouraged back by Greer rather than recruited for first time like it happens in the book, and due to ths Harrison Ford was a crazy choice for Ryan if you were starting with this story.

Dont get me wrong, if they had started filming these in the mid 80's (not possible I know) then Ford would be great an he is the best Ryan I have seen on film without a doubt and Baldwin just in 2nd , lets ignore the Fleck's wooden performance on SOAF shall we.

Its just that Ryan in PG is supposed to be a relatively young man, starting out on his career in CIA i.e the subject matter here pushes him towards the agency initially.

They should start again with PG as the first of a series in chronological order, set in the correct time period with a younger actor so they can take the series forward with a returning cast such as was done with Harry Potter. Imagine the same actors continually growing older and playing Ryan and his Family, Murray, Ritter, Moore, Greer, Shaw, Robbi Jackson, Clark etc, thts what would do these books justice.

However Paramount simply tried a reeboot with a young Ryan in SOAF, a book set well into Ryans agency career when he is in fact the Deputy director of CIA, so the rehash in the movie was awful.

Lets hope for a proper reboot sometime

This film as a stand alone though is a fantastic movie if you are not that into the Ryan books and movies saga. I saw it itially before reading any of the books and was immediately impressed along with THFRO these are the 2 best movies about Jack Ryan.

Unfortunatley CAPD was not quite as good and SOAF was simply awful.

I have it and would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars u.s.a, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an ex.c.i.a agent teaching at a nearby naval academy in Maryland goes to London with his wife and daughter on holiday,while having photos taken an attempt is made on the queens cousin a lord and his family by an ira cell,(ford) jumps in to help and shoots one of the ira who s brother see s him dies and threatens revenge on the teacher,even though the ira man is refused permission by his ira commander and while in Africa he vows to go to maryland to kill the naval teacher and his family.this is one fantastic film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Patriot Games [Blu-ray] [1992] [US Import]
Patriot Games [Blu-ray] [1992] [US Import] by Phillip Noyce (Blu-ray - 2008)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews