Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars13
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2008
Now, like many bands (i'm thinking Hadouken! here), their debut album isn't exactly all-new material, these younguns from Castle Donnington set together to release their first album, with an all-too familar track listing, I mean, nothing you haven't yet heard isn't here, including popular singles amongst early fans such as "Space And The Woods", "The Bears Are Coming", "Bathroom Gurgle". This album is most definately one of the high points of newer and british music, basically grabbing the finer points of Gary Numan, Justice and The Klaxons, this is a record that will not be forgotten any time soon.

As of yet, i'm yet to think of an album that can better this one. Exceptionally good work. Very recommended.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2008
OK, this is gonna sound a bit like something David Brent would say, but imagine you were baking a musical cake. Your ingredients are: a bit of Sparks, a tad of Bowie, a pinch of Devo, a helping of Gary Numan, some Queen, a taster of Justice, a hint of Japan, mix up with a dose of Nik Kershaw flavoured with Gary Glitter and bake for 40 minutes. The result is a sweet sounding mixture of aural satisfaction that you will devour until the last crumb. Fantastic!
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
One of the best albums of 2008 - everyone should own a copy. Original, well played and generally excellent ...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
And to think these boys were just teens when they made this! One of my faves, although at first listen I just couldn't get it. Original, funny, danceable, funky and energetic, it will, for me at least, be a mainstay of my collection. They were unfairly lumped into the Nu-rave scene by NME, which may have dented any future chances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
If you like the eighties you will love this cd electronic heaven I was recomended this by a friend and was not disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
As good today as when I was dancing like a lunatic to it when it first came out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2009
There is rarely a band nowadays that releases an album that holds the attention of the listener from start to finish. Most albums are throw away after a few months of ownership but this album offers something a little different. Massive sonic variation and an attention to layering sounds that is uncommon. Great great fun and what music is all about....making people happy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2008
Seriously, what you doing sitting here reading this? Buy this now quickly before they are so over played that in a few months time you can't stand them. They were playing this in indie try hard store Topshop and that always means theres a band wagon to jump on (cue MGMT, Vampire Weekend, Hadouken! etc)
Right panic over, now on to the review. This is easily top 5 material for all records in 08. The opener, "Hot Tents Blue" is slow repetive and is no ways a fair indicator of what is to come. Once it does get going in the last 13 seconds, kicking straight into "Broken", you know your into something good. A high energy song which slows down for a moment before coming to a glitch aglore climax, whcih stomps into "Space And The Woods" which has single material all over it. Next song Bea....
Oh who am I kidding, just buy it, its £4.98 and I promise you won't regret it

Verdict: BUT BUY BUY !

Key Tracks Broken
Space and The Woods
The Bears Are Coming
Frail
Heartbeat
Focker
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2008
Wow! Who are these guys?! They seem to have taken everything great from the last four decades of pop, whizzed it up and turned out something totally, thrillingly original. I hope they'll be huge, because this is the best new thing I've heard in ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.19
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)