Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My own review of this kick ass album
Skeletons is the third album released by Wednesday 13 on his solo career. This album was released entirely on Mr. 13's own back from his pocket and distributed by DDR2 Records in the UK. His new album is much more personal than previous albums and while still carrying the same puns laughs and ghouls, it is definatly darker and heavier than previous rleases.

The...
Published on 14 May 2008 by J. Robertshaw

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad
Want to start with the product itself. The jewel case was cracked and the hinge had broken off completely, not sure whether it was due to rough postage service or if It came like it. The album itself has some good tracks on it. With 'Gimme Gimme Bloodshed' and 'Put Your Death Mask On' being my personal favourites. But there is alot of filler and not much killer. A few of...
Published 10 months ago by Katty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My own review of this kick ass album, 14 May 2008
This review is from: Skeletons (Audio CD)
Skeletons is the third album released by Wednesday 13 on his solo career. This album was released entirely on Mr. 13's own back from his pocket and distributed by DDR2 Records in the UK. His new album is much more personal than previous albums and while still carrying the same puns laughs and ghouls, it is definatly darker and heavier than previous rleases.

The horror punk album lives up to what has being told by Wednesday himself it truly is mcuh more serious and has a much stronger influence. Tales of mishap relationships, hauntings from past memories and the occasional family cannibal roast all mix up to give a perfectly balanced album from this amazing band and the instrumentals match the new heavier darker style perfectly with the same mix of heavy drums and snappy solos.

Overall this is my favourite album to date released by Mr. 13 (ssecond only to Murderdolls-Beyond the Valley of the Murderdolls) and is deifnatly worth paying for! I woudl like to remind you that he paid for this himself! It would be good if you showed your support by actualy buying the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best so far..., 7 Aug 2008
By 
M. A. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skeletons (Audio CD)
Let's start by saying this album really isn't as dark and heavy as it's made out to be. Everyone's been saying how it shows Wednesday's battle with depression and stuff but the fact is, like his earlier work, this is still upbeat and easy to listen to. In fact it strips out some of the dodgier aspects of his other songs by removing death-related innuendos and the like. But make no mistake, this is still a morbid album; all the songs relate back to his humourous obsession with death and dying (and the dead?).

The track "My Demise" marks the biggest change in Wednesday's sound; the dark, slow sound hinted at in the song "Transylvania 90210" really manifests here in a self destructive ballad that is the 'Wednesday pouring out his emotion' effort. It's great to hear something with feeling that also incorporates a horror theme, melding the two cleanly together, but without overshadowing the album with a depressing tone.

In terms of music, this isn't any heavier than "Transylvania..." or "Fang Bang", it's just the same glam influenced heavy metal. Many reviews make it sound like a hardcore death or thrash album but its still melodic and fun to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skeletons (Audio CD)
Want to start with the product itself. The jewel case was cracked and the hinge had broken off completely, not sure whether it was due to rough postage service or if It came like it. The album itself has some good tracks on it. With 'Gimme Gimme Bloodshed' and 'Put Your Death Mask On' being my personal favourites. But there is alot of filler and not much killer. A few of the songs on this album sound like demos to completed tracks on the 'Women and Children Last' album by Murderdolls. Not bad, but not his best album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars skeletons, 14 April 2012
This review is from: Skeletons (Audio CD)
by far my favourite wednesday album. not as dark as the others but still bouncy and in a way darkly humerous. love "from here to the hearse" darkly comical, brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wed 13 industrial, 21 Jan 2012
This review is from: Skeletons (Audio CD)
what an awsome cd this has nin/rammstein infulunce on it with the guitars the way he has put the songs together love wed 13 this one a very gd cd .ive listerned to it 3 times in a row fx awsome .his voice is still amazing .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It Buy It Buy It, 10 Dec 2008
By 
Ms. C. Andrews "obsessive gig-goer" (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skeletons (Audio CD)
My boyfriend brought this album for himself while seeing Wednesday in Leicester's "The Charlotte". We have been hooked on it ever since.

I love the fact Wednesday has brought all his stuff out of the closet, and laid it bare for everyone to see. Only way to get through I think.

Anyone who loves W13 will love this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shock, horror...and depth..., 14 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Skeletons (Audio CD)
well as a long time wednesday 13 fan i was highly excited about this album as it has been described by the good mr 13 himself as taking a more personal approach to the song writting to reflect certain tribulations he has faced over the past few years. so without further hesitation lets take a closer look shall we?...

the album kicks in with "scream baby scream" any wednesday fan will feel at home this is classic wednesday 13 at his best, same with the next few tracks "not another teenage anthem" the fantastic "gimmie, gimmie bloodshed" and the rest of the tracks flow in the same vein until we hit the albums title track, "skeletons" and this is where wednesday takes us on a new type of ride, this and the dark, twisted masterpiece that is "my demise" really show the inner deamons he is trying to confront and exercise through the music and its quite refreshing to hear this level of honesty in wednesdays music instead of just the usual horror themes (not that they were ever bad). then we come onto "with friends like these" which is a snarling punk rock stomper seething with anger and venom, its apparent this is aimed at someone or someones in particular that have burned a bridge or two with mr 13!! the next track "no rabbit in the hat" is probably my favorite on the album its a typical wednesday 13 song saying a big FU to any haters out there and that he is just doing what he wants with no tricks up his sleeve. the album then goes on to close on a high with the awesome "all american massacre" and "dead carolina"

all in all this is by far the heaviest wednesday 13 release to date but also his best. every song would be killer live and theres no filler what so ever. i would recommend this to any wednesday fan new or old and infact to anyone that appreciates a good well written rock album. my album of the year so far without a question! so go buy it...NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! GREAT!!!, 30 April 2008
By 
T. Rushton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skeletons (Audio CD)
This album is amazing! If your a true Wednesday 13 fan then you'll love this album. This is my favourite album of theirs. You have gotta buy it! The best songs are:-Gimmie Gimmie Bloodshed. From here to the hearse. put your deathmask on. skeletons. my demise. no rabbit in the hat. All American massacre. Dead Carolina. This albums the heaviest Wednesday 13 album. Its truly the best record hes done, well definately in my opinion.
Anyone who doesnt love this album are either Stupid or Crazy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skeletons
Skeletons by Wednesday 13 (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews