Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perry Mason Nostalgia, 26 Feb 2010
By 
J. H. Acker (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This set comprises ten discs covering the first 39 episodes of Parry Mason all in black and white. Each episode is 50 minutes long. It was played on an up-to-date DVD recorder and viewed on one of the latest digital TV's with excellent results. Both picture and sound were considered excellent.

For those who don't know him Mason is an American attorney ably aided by 110% efficient and long suffering secretary Della Street and a tame detective agency, that always achieves the impossible, running under the control of Paul Drake. Mason gets caught up every time in the most impossible situations but always comes out on top in the follow up court cases usally making the opposition look like idiots.

The contents have to be seen as nostalgia. I always enjoyed Perry Mason and the following Ironside series. The outcome of each episode is completely predictable but it gives a lot of detail of the American way of life in the days of their huge cars and apparently brash way of going through life.

Yes this is probably for the older generation but I love it and what value for 39 episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perry mason season 1, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Once again a good set of dvds, a reminder of the Amercian series past, and how well it was written and directed. Love the series, and the fashion too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! at last something worth watching!, 26 Aug 2010
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is excellent value for money. You get TEN !!! Discs in ONE case which means you don't need a lot of space to store it.
You also gets hours and hours of pure bliss watching Perry Mason and friends without the interruption of ads.

I hope that all of the Perry Mson Series will be available soon in the same format, unfortunately, only Series One and Two have been adapted to UK standard.
In the meantime, I just have to watch series one and two over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing show, a superb boxset, 22 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
After years (it seems that way) of watching the latest colour Perry Masons, though I guess they are pretty old now as well, to finally watch the original monochrome episodes was a revelation. Nearly all of the episodes are worth watching with quite a few gems, and only a few less than enjoyable episodes: this is a truly excellent box set and worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The case of the defense lawyer that skirts the law, 9 May 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a series of programs based a character in the writings of Erle Stanley Gardner. The CBS TV series stretched form 1957 through 1966.

Perry Mason (Raymond Burr) is a defense lawyer who is always thought of after it is too late for him to save the defendant from being accused of murder. Supporting Perry is his trusty more than friendly but professional secretary Della Street (Barbara Hale). And their trusty and sneaky privat investigator Paul Drake (William DeWolf Hopper, Son of the actress-turned-gossip-columnist Hedda Hopper). On the other side of the courtroom is the district attorney Hamilton Burger (William Talman) assisted by the not so neutral Homicide Lt. Arthur Tragg (Ray Collins).

You wonder how they get away with manufacturing evidence and the defendant usually has foot in mouth. Then there are the signature courtroom demonstrations.

Be sure to re-watch these programs as you can then see at even in TV programs they can sprinkle in subtle clues.

The was a mad magazine mock that had a boy scout immediately confess from the back of the courtroom upon seeing Perry mason.

Many of the subsequent programs allowed many TV actors of the time to become different characters and even replace the Burger and Tragg characters. You find yourself not only trying to outguess Mason but also saying "Hey I saw that actor in..."

Even though the characters are from Erle Stanley Gardner the actual programs are written by many different TV writers of the day.

I have on occasion read some of the Erle Stanly Gardner Mason's and they are closely related. The TV version has a few less characters and has to write in some of our favorites.

The DVD's themselves usually have four episodes with a glaring lack of the extras that are so popular nowadays. The plus is that there are no advertisements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment, excellent value, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Are American professional standards different from ours? I'm all for "zealous representation" - a lawyer is meant to present the best case he possibly can for his client - but it seems to me that Perry Mason more than once goes right over the line into criminality himself. But then - so does Rumpole of the Bailey. Maybe it's all just dramatic licence.

Subject to that small caveat, I enjoyed these immensely. Good acting, characterization and scripts give an hour's first rate entertainment every time. And personally I could watch with pleasure just for the wonderful cars from the days when 8mpg for single person transport was perfectly acceptable!

For those - I know they exist - who can't tolerate b/w, give it a miss. Only the cover photo is colour.

For everyone else, I'd say, give it a try. I'm glad I did, and I had never seen a single episode before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perry Mason never fails to impress, 16 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. Richard Steiert (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I had never seen this old series of Perry Mason before and it is giving me a great deal of pleasure and certainly lives up to all the good reviews. I was wondering if the black and white screening would be enjoyable with so much being in colour these days but I need not have worried since every episode is so captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High Quality Nostalgia, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Stephen Morse (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm about 2/3rds of the way through this set and I'm getting the utmost enjoyment from it. It takes me back to the late 1950s / early 1960s when these episodes were screened in the U.K. The format of the stories barely changes yet Raymond Burr projects such integrity to the role that you can't help but revel in his inevitable triumphs. The picture is in pristine 4:3 black and white and it's nice to watch the occasional future stars in relatively minor roles. "The Case of the One-Eyed Witness" (1958), for example, has Angie Dickinson looking astonishingly beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect period piece of the 50s. I loved the style and the stories - although they do get a bit "samey" after a while...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars perry mason, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this as i remembered it with affection way back,and was pleasantly
surprised at the good quality of the film,very sharp,a little dated for some maybe
but if your a fan of the great defending attorney,that wont matter,it cheers me up to watch
an episode when the tv is bland,like it can get very often.was a great price,was delivered on time and packaged well.
good seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perry Mason: Season 1 [DVD]
Perry Mason: Season 1 [DVD] by Raymond Burr (DVD - 2008)
13.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews