Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars180
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2008
One of the most insightful, thought provoking, astute and artistic British movies ever made. And for lovers of London on film, this movie is a must to own, as it portrays Battersea with a real passion, and has some very artistic camera work. It is a very spirited piece of work and you sense that everyone in it believes in it, and isn't just in it for the fame or the money. It is very much a film of its era, and it may be hard for young 20somethings now to relate to, because who talks about the class system and how it affects people's lives now? This was a very 1960s subject, with a lot of radically minded young graduates having had their lives changed by discovering the works of Marx and Gramsci at Univerity and their idealism was one of the main catalysts for the whole swinging 60s scene.

Julie Christie lookalike Suzy Kendall plays the posh young idealist who follows her dream of leaving her stuffy and over privileged life in Chelsea to slum it among the 'more real', 'more alive' people of downmarket Battersea. Her resulting journey looks both nostalgic and other worldly to us now, and perhaps it was laid on a bit thick with the class divide thing and the experiencing real life stuff, but this WAS a different era to today. So it romanticises the lives of down at heel but good hearted Londoners somewhat, and maybe even overstates the effects of the class divide a little but it does make for a moving film experience. Has some fantastically arty scenes, such as the courting scene in the half demolished house where they look out through the rubble at London with an orange sunset. It is both very astute and faintly naive, and really bigs up the idealism of Suzy Kendall's character, who is overall a very believable 1960s character. The town of Chelsea is refered to as though it's almost a mythical Camelot that's hidden Kendall away from the real life she longs for, and it builds on this fairytale image by pointing the camera across the Thames towards Chelsea, but rightly doesn't go there.

With an evocative 60s score, career making performances from several now very familiar actors including a breathtakingly good Maureen Lipman, some great dialogue, some classic shots of London and some social issues given the social realism treatment-1960s style, Up the Junction is one of the most memorable and unique British films out there on DVD.
22 comments|69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2009
Having heard about the film, I watched it for the first time on this DVD release, and was gobsmacked by the quality of the photography. Having become used to slightly drab, technicolor-style 60's films, this version looks great, and really brings the period alive.

The story is great too, and tackles the hopes and dreams of the different social classes, and their attitudes to life and money. In many ways it all looks a bit innocent now, even the hard-hitting stuff, and you'd imagine that rich Chelsea girl Suzy Kendall would actually have lasted about five minutes in the real world. However, the film is 40 years old, so that could just be the cynical 21st century viewer speaking.

Dennis Waterman looks about fifteen but his acting, along with all the others, is brilliant. I want his scooter too. Everyone looks stylish, except the rockers, and even Maureen Lipman looks hip when she's not in a pinafore. Up the Junction is a superb film, with an atmospheric and evocative soundtrack, and if you have any interest whatsoever in our cultural and social past, have a look at it.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2009
As a young teenager in the late 60s, I worked in the factories along with my older sister. OMG, those scenes brought back so many fun and happy memories! What a wonderful nostalgic trip back in time. Although to myself, it doesn't seem that long ago, in terms of progress, we have come such a long way! For the most part I sat smiling as memories unfolded. It was a difficult time for many families, but people tended to get on with it, and make the most of what they had. This film is a classic, and for those with any interest in the 60s I would urge you to take a look, if only to check out the music, fashions, colours, and those wonderful 'hair do's'.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2008
A priviledged Chelsea girl, Suzy Kendall, crosses the river to Wandsworth to mix in with the local working-class people in order that she can escape what she believes is her drab and stuffy life. She has the family chauffeur drop her off on the far side of Battersea Bridge and she sets off to land herself a job on the production line of a local sweet factory. Soon, she is accepted by her colleagues and finds herself a room to lodge in. Buying furniture for her place, she meets a local boy (Dennis Waterman). She has a rude awakening when she comes to experience the seemy side of British working class life from which her boyfriend is so desparate to escape and leave behind.

I think that this adaptation from the Nell Dunn story is a true classic of sixties British cinema. There are crisp, vibrant colours and a fantastic sound-track from Manfred Mann that is very reminiscent of the sound of Crosby, Stills & Nash that was still to come. There are also some fine character performances from the likes of Maureen Lipman and Adrienne Posta. The subject matter is very contemporary as abortion was only just being de-criminalised at the time

I've just bought this film on DVD, having previously being conned into buying a pirated copy on E-bay (out of desparation at its non-availability). The picture is a revalation (full wide-screen) and the sound is very good. Unfortunately, there are no extras. I would have thought Dennis Waterman, with all his exposure on tv in recent years, could have at least been given the opportunity of providing an audio commentary, but I'm not complaining.
33 comments|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
A mere 40 years or more had passed since I last saw this film. What I saw this time however, through slightly older eyes, was a classic of its time. If you like rock sollid British drama then I recommend highly you give this a view. It hails great performances from the two leading roles played by a young Dennis Waterman and the much under rated Suzy Kendall. It disects, analyses and concludes the differences between the higher and lower levels of social classes at the time of the late 1960s in so called 'Swinging London'. The lovely Adrienna Posta plays here role well too as the naive yet loyal friend who is all too often taken for a ride. I'm sure I caught a brief glimpse of a very young Susan George in the very minor role of factory girl. It is a thouroughly engaging drama and social statement of its time, many aspects of which are still true today. It doesn't to rely on effects, sets, or sex to sell itself, just pure dialogue. A great British drama, with a great British Cast...10 out of 10 for entertainment value. At the right price, get it if you can.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2009
Hi i grew up in clapham junction and saw this film in the 60's it was wonderful then or should i have said "FAB" as we used to say but seeing it again after so many years its still a great film it brought back many memoris for me as a teenager what a wonderful time the 60's was one of the greatest eras and im so glad i was there to experience it thanks for this video it will stay with me for many years and i will watch it over and over again thanks brilliant" fast delivery and great postage no problems
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2009
I was too young to see this film when it was first released, but had seen it on tv a few times many years ago. Very occaisonally there is a film that gets right into your soul, and this is one. Whilst repulsed by some of the scenes, you nonetheless want to be a part of it. You feel it. You empathaise with the characters. It is real. The soundtrack fits like a glove. I did find Rube a little irritating, her squeaky highpitched voice, but I guess there were girls around like her then; maybe still are? The abortion scene shows that whilst everyone might have been in "the swinging sixties", women were really not all that liberated, and certainly if you were working class had a very hard life ahead of you. Dennis Waterman's character Pete hit the nail on the head when he said that all they wanted was the kind of lifestyle Polly had given up.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2008
This truly enjoyable and nostalgic swinging 60's classic is here on DVD in a superb transfer! The score by Manfred Mann sounds very good, which is essential as it helps tell the story. I bet Suzy Kendall, Dennis Waterman, Maureen Lipman and a few other soon-to-be-famous stars never had so much fun making a movie. A work of art.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2009
Great if you love films in this time in London; both Kendall and Waterman are excellent. Like many of the films of this era the plot is simplistic but this is ok as the on site locations make it all worth while. The wash house scenes are marvelous. Alfie Bass pops up and is a treasure.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2009
Waited for this film to be released on DVD since forever! Worth all the waiting. Pure nostalgia on a stick. All human life was there and an authentic feel despite somewhat dodgy premise of little rich girl suddenly absconding to Clapham and wanting to work in a factory. Captured the refreshing aura of sixties' London where everything was possible.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)