Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London in a time capsule
One of the most insightful, thought provoking, astute and artistic British movies ever made. And for lovers of London on film, this movie is a must to own, as it portrays Battersea with a real passion, and has some very artistic camera work. It is a very spirited piece of work and you sense that everyone in it believes in it, and isn't just in it for the fame or the...
Published on 1 Dec 2008 by Lou Knee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Up the junction
Having been about the same ages as the people in this film and being born and brought up in Battersea is shows exactly what went on in those days which unfortunately involved back street abortions as there was no such thing as legal abortions. Times were very hard especially for women
Published 8 months ago by Joyce Justice


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London in a time capsule, 1 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up The Junction [DVD] (DVD)
One of the most insightful, thought provoking, astute and artistic British movies ever made. And for lovers of London on film, this movie is a must to own, as it portrays Battersea with a real passion, and has some very artistic camera work. It is a very spirited piece of work and you sense that everyone in it believes in it, and isn't just in it for the fame or the money. It is very much a film of its era, and it may be hard for young 20somethings now to relate to, because who talks about the class system and how it affects people's lives now? This was a very 1960s subject, with a lot of radically minded young graduates having had their lives changed by discovering the works of Marx and Gramsci at Univerity and their idealism was one of the main catalysts for the whole swinging 60s scene.

Julie Christie lookalike Suzy Kendall plays the posh young idealist who follows her dream of leaving her stuffy and over privileged life in Chelsea to slum it among the 'more real', 'more alive' people of downmarket Battersea. Her resulting journey looks both nostalgic and other worldly to us now, and perhaps it was laid on a bit thick with the class divide thing and the experiencing real life stuff, but this WAS a different era to today. So it romanticises the lives of down at heel but good hearted Londoners somewhat, and maybe even overstates the effects of the class divide a little but it does make for a moving film experience. Has some fantastically arty scenes, such as the courting scene in the half demolished house where they look out through the rubble at London with an orange sunset. It is both very astute and faintly naive, and really bigs up the idealism of Suzy Kendall's character, who is overall a very believable 1960s character. The town of Chelsea is refered to as though it's almost a mythical Camelot that's hidden Kendall away from the real life she longs for, and it builds on this fairytale image by pointing the camera across the Thames towards Chelsea, but rightly doesn't go there.

With an evocative 60s score, career making performances from several now very familiar actors including a breathtakingly good Maureen Lipman, some great dialogue, some classic shots of London and some social issues given the social realism treatment-1960s style, Up the Junction is one of the most memorable and unique British films out there on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Stuff, 25 Sep 2009
This review is from: Up The Junction [DVD] (DVD)
As a young teenager in the late 60s, I worked in the factories along with my older sister. OMG, those scenes brought back so many fun and happy memories! What a wonderful nostalgic trip back in time. Although to myself, it doesn't seem that long ago, in terms of progress, we have come such a long way! For the most part I sat smiling as memories unfolded. It was a difficult time for many families, but people tended to get on with it, and make the most of what they had. This film is a classic, and for those with any interest in the 60s I would urge you to take a look, if only to check out the music, fashions, colours, and those wonderful 'hair do's'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Classic 1960's Production, 11 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up The Junction [DVD] (DVD)
A priviledged Chelsea girl, Suzy Kendall, crosses the river to Wandsworth to mix in with the local working-class people in order that she can escape what she believes is her drab and stuffy life. She has the family chauffeur drop her off on the far side of Battersea Bridge and she sets off to land herself a job on the production line of a local sweet factory. Soon, she is accepted by her colleagues and finds herself a room to lodge in. Buying furniture for her place, she meets a local boy (Dennis Waterman). She has a rude awakening when she comes to experience the seemy side of British working class life from which her boyfriend is so desparate to escape and leave behind.

I think that this adaptation from the Nell Dunn story is a true classic of sixties British cinema. There are crisp, vibrant colours and a fantastic sound-track from Manfred Mann that is very reminiscent of the sound of Crosby, Stills & Nash that was still to come. There are also some fine character performances from the likes of Maureen Lipman and Adrienne Posta. The subject matter is very contemporary as abortion was only just being de-criminalised at the time

I've just bought this film on DVD, having previously being conned into buying a pirated copy on E-bay (out of desparation at its non-availability). The picture is a revalation (full wide-screen) and the sound is very good. Unfortunately, there are no extras. I would have thought Dennis Waterman, with all his exposure on tv in recent years, could have at least been given the opportunity of providing an audio commentary, but I'm not complaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing period piece, 24 April 2009
This review is from: Up The Junction [DVD] (DVD)
Having heard about the film, I watched it for the first time on this DVD release, and was gobsmacked by the quality of the photography. Having become used to slightly drab, technicolor-style 60's films, this version looks great, and really brings the period alive.

The story is great too, and tackles the hopes and dreams of the different social classes, and their attitudes to life and money. In many ways it all looks a bit innocent now, even the hard-hitting stuff, and you'd imagine that rich Chelsea girl Suzy Kendall would actually have lasted about five minutes in the real world. However, the film is 40 years old, so that could just be the cynical 21st century viewer speaking.

Dennis Waterman looks about fifteen but his acting, along with all the others, is brilliant. I want his scooter too. Everyone looks stylish, except the rockers, and even Maureen Lipman looks hip when she's not in a pinafore. Up the Junction is a superb film, with an atmospheric and evocative soundtrack, and if you have any interest whatsoever in our cultural and social past, have a look at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SWINGING 60's what an era, 8 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up The Junction [DVD] (DVD)
Hi i grew up in clapham junction and saw this film in the 60's it was wonderful then or should i have said "FAB" as we used to say but seeing it again after so many years its still a great film it brought back many memoris for me as a teenager what a wonderful time the 60's was one of the greatest eras and im so glad i was there to experience it thanks for this video it will stay with me for many years and i will watch it over and over again thanks brilliant" fast delivery and great postage no problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RELEASED ON DVD BY PARAMOUNT AT LAST!, 6 Jun 2008
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Up The Junction [DVD] (DVD)
This truly enjoyable and nostalgic swinging 60's classic is here on DVD in a superb transfer! The score by Manfred Mann sounds very good, which is essential as it helps tell the story. I bet Suzy Kendall, Dennis Waterman, Maureen Lipman and a few other soon-to-be-famous stars never had so much fun making a movie. A work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up the Junction, 26 Jun 2009
By 
C. Wilkinson "Chris the Book" (Crystal Palace England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up The Junction [DVD] (DVD)
Great if you love films in this time in London; both Kendall and Waterman are excellent. Like many of the films of this era the plot is simplistic but this is ok as the on site locations make it all worth while. The wash house scenes are marvelous. Alfie Bass pops up and is a treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up th Junction, 14 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up The Junction [DVD] (DVD)
Gritty down to earth film, with a lot of well known stars in their younger days, some looking surprisingly tasty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What more can I say? This film is a classic, 23 May 2009
This review is from: Up The Junction [DVD] (DVD)
I was too young to see this film when it was first released, but had seen it on tv a few times many years ago. Very occaisonally there is a film that gets right into your soul, and this is one. Whilst repulsed by some of the scenes, you nonetheless want to be a part of it. You feel it. You empathaise with the characters. It is real. The soundtrack fits like a glove. I did find Rube a little irritating, her squeaky highpitched voice, but I guess there were girls around like her then; maybe still are? The abortion scene shows that whilst everyone might have been in "the swinging sixties", women were really not all that liberated, and certainly if you were working class had a very hard life ahead of you. Dennis Waterman's character Pete hit the nail on the head when he said that all they wanted was the kind of lifestyle Polly had given up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sixties' Classic, 16 April 2009
This review is from: Up The Junction [DVD] (DVD)
Waited for this film to be released on DVD since forever! Worth all the waiting. Pure nostalgia on a stick. All human life was there and an authentic feel despite somewhat dodgy premise of little rich girl suddenly absconding to Clapham and wanting to work in a factory. Captured the refreshing aura of sixties' London where everything was possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Up The Junction [DVD]
Up The Junction [DVD] by Peter Collinson (DVD - 2008)
3.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews