Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss it
Don't miss this movie...it would be shameless ! It's an excellent movie directed by Umberto Lenzi. Between giallo and sexploitation. The story is quite simple : two young hippies are involved in the murder of a husband... Ornella Muti looks gorgeous, but also Irene Papas... very erotic. Ray Lovelock is one of my favourite actor in this kind of movies from the seventies...
Published on 15 April 2009 by nussbaum22

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie - transfer on DVD looks like bootleg
I wanted to echo the previous comments about the quality of the transfer. Its pretty bad-itd be acceptable for a downloaded bootleg but for a DVD release its pretty poor, mainly due to lack of clarity and looking more like a VHS copy of a copy. Except for that, what a great film. Kind of like an ode to the late 60's and free love and youthful rebellion, with a great...
Published 21 months ago by Bogart


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss it, 15 April 2009
This review is from: Oasis Of Fear [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
Don't miss this movie...it would be shameless ! It's an excellent movie directed by Umberto Lenzi. Between giallo and sexploitation. The story is quite simple : two young hippies are involved in the murder of a husband... Ornella Muti looks gorgeous, but also Irene Papas... very erotic. Ray Lovelock is one of my favourite actor in this kind of movies from the seventies... Thanks for bringing out this rare movie from one of the Italian B-Masters !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting film but the comments are a major nuisance, 15 Sep 2010
This review is from: Oasis Of Fear [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
The film itself is a slightly above average contribution to the Italian Giallo genre which could, on a sociological basis and from a contemporary point of view also be seen as a portrait of the lifestyle of the early 1970s European hippie culture. The plot is somewhat of an intimate play and mainly revolves around three different characters portrayed by Irene Papas, Ornella Muti and Ray Lovelock. Papas gives Lovelock a nasty lesson in French skills. Muti has one indecent scene in "Oasis of Fear" which can clearly being looked at when freeze-framed - it might also have been an inspiration for Verhoeven's infamous interrogation scene in "Basic Instinct" (if you know what I mean).
The only point of criticism I have found are the comments which are not an optional choice but a dreadful nuisance and can really get on your nerves if you want to concentrate on the film. Shameless has some other, better publications so just in case this should be your first Shameless buy please don't let this one have any influence on later purchases because Shameless is really a very good and stylish publisher when it comes to sleazy Italian movies of the 1970s.
All in all, check this one out if you have a thing for: 1970s, Italy, stylish fashion, beautiful colors, hot and willing chicks, Umberto Lenzi's work as a director, movies about hippies in general.

Some other films I would like to see published at Shameless include Bazzoni's "The Fifth Cord", Cavara's "Black Belly of the Tarantula", Luci's "Don't Torture a Duckling, Massi's "Five Women for the Killer", Barilli's "Perfume of the Lady in Black" and both of Luciano Ercoli's Giallo movies. Just some suggestions because I think that there are still so many movies of the Giallo genre left which all deserve a decent publication on DVD in my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Giallo - extremely poor transfer, 26 Feb 2010
By 
Peter Cook "Peter Cook" (Auckland, NEW ZEALAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oasis Of Fear [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
"Oasis of Fear" aka "Dirty Pictures" is a well made, tense little thriller loosely fitting into the Giallo bracket I suppose. The cast are uniformly good with Irene Papas stealing the show. Shameless have done well to re-discover this little gem but I must make a point of alerting potential purchasers to the quality of this dvd.
I've rarely seen such a poor transfer in this modern dvd era. This film (as good as it is) is almost unwatchable - certainly on a 55 inch LCD. The transfer is barely VHS quality - in fact it wouldn't surprise me to learn that perhaps the Shameless release had orginated from a VHS master.

Shameless have a great catalogue and from what I've seen thus far titles available range from good to excellent transfers (with "Venus in Furs" being magnificent). I'd really have to question whether "Oasis of Fear" was even satisfactory for a dvd release at all in this state.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Pictures., 19 Nov 2011
This review is from: Oasis Of Fear [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
Two lovers use sell erotic photos to help them pay for their trip around Europe. While in Italy they soon find themselves in trouble with the law who charge them indecency for selling erotic photos. Out of cash they unsuccessfully try to sell some more photos to a gas station attendant who reports them to the police. Not wanting to press their luck the two lovers get in their car and make their way to border. Along the way they run out of gas in front of a remote villa. Running out of options they hide out in the villa until things cool down. However when attempting to siphon petrol from the car in the garage, they are caught in the act by a startled Barbara (Irene Papas) - the middle-aged owner of the residence. Hostile at first, Barbara then invites them to stay for a while, stating that her husband is out of town and that she gets afraid on her own. So, this being the time of free love, they have a party session (to some great music!), which is when the dynamics of the threesome begin to get really interesting. It feels like there was a halo of sleaze accompanying most offerings in Lenzi's euro-cult filmography, and "Oasis of Fear" certainly plugs into that perception, at least on the face of things. From its opening scenes though, the film strikes a curiously playful tone, as the two main protagonists (played by Ornella Muti and Ray Lovelock) frolic joyfully through some European city streets -- young and in love, and on their holidays. This suspenseful and cynical little film is a breath of fresh air for those of us familiar with Italian thrillers from the glorious 1970s. Lenzi is still in control of his firm hand at exercising a degree of subtlety before the genre wore him down in the mid 70s, by which time his increasingly crude style was much better suited to the burgeoning cop thrillers. In summary, a strong effort from Lenzi. Nicely shot with a strangely upbeat soundtrack, it more than makes up for a lack of nastiness with a really tight story and a top-notch cast. I highly recomend this to Giallo fans, unfortunately though, the quality isn't up to the usual standards Shameless have so far set. The anomorphic transfer is a little soft, and the dialogue changes from English to Italian frequently. But if you can get past this you might enjoy this unique and interesting little thriller/giallo film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie - transfer on DVD looks like bootleg, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oasis Of Fear [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
I wanted to echo the previous comments about the quality of the transfer. Its pretty bad-itd be acceptable for a downloaded bootleg but for a DVD release its pretty poor, mainly due to lack of clarity and looking more like a VHS copy of a copy. Except for that, what a great film. Kind of like an ode to the late 60's and free love and youthful rebellion, with a great soundtrack, and mixed with a suspense thriller. I always like Umberto Lenzi films because he casts good, likeable actors in the leads which makes his films very watchable. His style of filmmaking is also direct and tight which benefits this movie also. Unexpected plot developments make for a tense ride and a fitting ending for the youthful rebels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars erotic giallo (sort of), 7 Aug 2011
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oasis Of Fear [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
This isn't your typical giallo. Hundreds of giallos need to be released still by the way. Great flicks in which a killer stalks victims and usually you only see their arms as they do it. Films like 'the killer reserved nine seats' all those great flicks are being misplaced by shameless. Instead we do get this decent lenzi film about a young couple who plot with a woman to kill her husband. Lenzi made the great giallo 'eyeball' which is available on amazon.de entitled 'labrynth of the shrekens' and many other good films too. This was decent but not great, it's a good b movie and I must agree with others here that the print needed to be cleaned up. Still the acting here is first rate which puts this one above other b movies somewhat. It's not a murder mystery as much as a erotic early 70's flick about a planned murder and betrayal. Will the older woman seduce the couple and use them? are they using her? Well you just have to watch it. I love italian cinema so this was a good one for me. Now shameless common and PLease get some real giallos out. there's hundreds of them out there that have never been on a dvd yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oasis of Fear, 9 Feb 2013
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oasis Of Fear [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
Dick and his girlfriend Ingrid are two young hippies who make a living selling pornography but when the police discover what they are doing they have to resort to selling naked pictures of Ingrid to make some cash. They are however mistaken for two thief's and hide out in a remote house where the mysterious Mrs Slater lives.

Umberto Lenzi directs this interesting thriller that I wouldn't class as a Giallo like I've read in some reviews as there is no serial killer and its make in a completely different style. He does however create a lot of tension throughout and certainly knows how to make a good movie.

Ray Lovelock plays Dick the low life who cheats on his girlfriend and sells naked pictures of her so he can make some cash, but it is clear that he loves Ingrid. Ingrid was played by the beautiful Ornella Muti who according to the Shameless fact track was in fact under 18 when she made this movie. Greek actress Irene Papas is equally as good as the nervous and mysterious Mrs Slater who has a few hidden secrets she doesn't want exposed.

There isn't any murders, gory deaths or action of that kind to speak of but like I said it's not that kind of movie and the sex scene and nudity are quite mild really but the brief sequence where Papas gives Ray Lovelock oral sex was a little bit of a surprise for me even though it isn't really explicit.

Bruno Lauzi's music isn't the best as its mainly just a mix of 1960's funk but the pop songs are actually pretty good.

Overall a good film that has a few nice twists to keep the viewer interested.

The Shameless dvd quality isn't as good as their other releases but it isn't bad and atleast its uncut
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars okay giallo-bad print, 11 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Oasis Of Fear [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
Expected more from this 1971 giallo about a young hippie couple on the run from the police for selling porn pics & ending up seeking refuge in a remote villa where they find murder.It was okay-nothing special but really disappointed with the print quality-the trailer print was far better -it's put me off buying further shameless movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oasis Of Fear [1971] [DVD]
Oasis Of Fear [1971] [DVD] by Umberto Lenzi (DVD - 2008)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews