Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (161)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hiking Poles
I have been using these as part of my rehab after head trauma. The ones in use at the rehab centre are identical to these from Trekrite in every way except price. Fully telescopic and adjustable to suit the individual and spring loaded to absorb shock should you wish to use it. Perfect for my needs and as me and my partner are avid walkers, they will not become an item...
Published on 12 Oct. 2009 by Justino

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for!
The quality of these hiking sticks is reflected in the price. I weigh less than 57 Kg (9 stone) but still managed to buckle the bottom section of one of the poles while walking slowly on flat even ground. The locking mechanism jammed permanently on the other pole after its first outing - possibly my fault due to slight over-extension of the middle section BUT it was much...
Published 12 months ago by Andi de Souza


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hiking Poles, 12 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pair of Trekrite Antishock Hiking Sticks / Walking Poles - Black (Misc.)
I have been using these as part of my rehab after head trauma. The ones in use at the rehab centre are identical to these from Trekrite in every way except price. Fully telescopic and adjustable to suit the individual and spring loaded to absorb shock should you wish to use it. Perfect for my needs and as me and my partner are avid walkers, they will not become an item for the cupboard, but will be used for many years to come.
If you are looking for hiking poles, you could do a lot worse than these little beauts.
Delivery time was excellent too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality, 10 Feb. 2009
By 
Hiker (Broadway, WORCS, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pair of Trekrite Antishock Hiking Sticks / Walking Poles - Black (Misc.)
These hiking poles have proven to be excellent in both snow and dry conditions.
They are a fraction of the price of very similar poles sold in retail shops.
The shock absorption feature is very effective and gives added comfort to long hikes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 July 2009
This review is from: Pair of Trekrite Antishock Hiking Sticks / Walking Poles - Black (Misc.)
Used these poles for a 100k walk, they were excellent and light to carry. Great value for money also, would really recommend them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking poles, 14 Aug. 2009
By 
Dr. Peter C. Jackson (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pair of Trekrite Antishock Hiking Sticks / Walking Poles - Black (Misc.)
These poles were delivered on time and worked very well in Scotland especially on Ben Nevis. They adjust height easily and the shock absorber seemed to work well. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT SERVICE - GREAT PRODUCT, 18 July 2009
By 
Mrs. K. Price "Katie" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pair of Trekrite Antishock Hiking Sticks / Walking Poles - Black (Misc.)
This transaction was extremely good. We needed the hiking poles, which are very good, in a hurry and this company mailed them to us in ultra quick time. Very, very pleased.
And thanks to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 3 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Pair of Trekrite Antishock Hiking Sticks / Walking Poles - Black (Misc.)
As you'll see comparing with other products, these poles are a fraction of the price that you can pay for similar items: fantastic value for money. They're sturdy, and something I found particularly useful was the wide range by which they were adjustable, making it possible for people of radically differing heights to make themselves comfortable with them. They're fairly heavy as these poles go - the more expensive ones presumably use lighter higher-tech materials - and if you try to use them specifically for Nordic walking you'll not find them set up for this, as the feet are not inclined. But for ordinary hiking over all manner of terrain, these do the business admirably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for!, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pair of Trekrite Antishock Hiking Sticks / Walking Poles - Black (Misc.)
The quality of these hiking sticks is reflected in the price. I weigh less than 57 Kg (9 stone) but still managed to buckle the bottom section of one of the poles while walking slowly on flat even ground. The locking mechanism jammed permanently on the other pole after its first outing - possibly my fault due to slight over-extension of the middle section BUT it was much too easy to accidentally make this mistake. The strap handle kept springing out of one of the poles from Day 1 and has had to be taped into place.

All in all I would give this product only one star for quality, since the materials are not durable enough and it has definite design faults. But the poles are still usable and were inexpensive to buy, so I have given it a final rating of 3 stars. However I would NOT recommend this product to a serious hiker who needs to depend on his/her equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Noticeably cheap, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pair of Trekrite Antishock Hiking Sticks / Walking Poles - Black (Misc.)
I have never really bothered with poles before, but during the coast-to-coast a fellow hiker convinced me to give them a go. I bought two pairs of Trekrite Antishock Hiking Sticks (one for my Mrs too) and they were delivered quickly by the seller, but having just used them over a week's hiking through mountains in Scotland and the Lake District I have to say I was convinced by poles, but was very disappointed by this make. The tip of one of my poles broke off within a matter of a few miles of hiking through pretty easy terrain. Also, every now and then the locking mechanism let slip (especially in the rain) and I found the telescopic pole, which I was relying on at that time for stability, giving way under me - very disconcerting. This was also true for my mrs' set. You find yourself double checking the poles haven't slipped every few miles and never completely trust them - which sort of negates the point of them. I did, however, find that poles in general made long hilly hikes a lot less tiresome, but I wouldn't personally recommend this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOW I'M A BELIEVER, 7 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pair of Trekrite Antishock Hiking Sticks / Walking Poles - Black (Misc.)
Before our holiday to Canada I'd considerd trekking poles a pointless fashion accessory! A friend suggested I try them. I'm a physical 43 yr old man and I was skeptical.

Having used them up and down many hills/mountains I can say... I will not undertake a serious walk without these again!

They allow your arms/upperbody to get involved in the hike and spread the load.

These poles are light enough, strong enough and cheap anough....just buy them now :-0

I love them. Now I'm a believer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Walking poles..., 17 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pair of Trekrite Antishock Hiking Sticks / Walking Poles - Black (Misc.)
OK - what to say? All in all simple, well-made walking poles - and at a good price too! Shock absorbers make little or no difference to me, and the handgrips are a little on the "dainty" side if you have big mitts or like thick gloves - but they work! Now all I have to see is if they last as long as the last pair...!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews