Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Prequel
Bought for my 3 and 4 year old girls. They loved it and so did I. A very good prequel to the original film which we all loved. There's a bit of mild peril as you find out what happened to Ariel's Mummy so you need to be close to do some hand holding for that but the nasty person is not as scary as Ursula so no bad dreams.....
Published on 26 Mar. 2009 by Luce

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sequels on the mend
It's true... Disney has delivered a few sequels to their most famous movies which in someways offend the original...

Would be silly to say Ariel's Beginning matches the brilliance of the original movie but it is definitely an improvement on The Little Mermaid 2: Return To The Sea. The animation looks great and it is fantastic that almost all the original voice...
Published on 22 Sept. 2008 by Benson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sequels on the mend, 22 Sept. 2008
By 
Benson (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning [DVD] (DVD)
It's true... Disney has delivered a few sequels to their most famous movies which in someways offend the original...

Would be silly to say Ariel's Beginning matches the brilliance of the original movie but it is definitely an improvement on The Little Mermaid 2: Return To The Sea. The animation looks great and it is fantastic that almost all the original voice cast are back including Jodi Benson as Ariel.

It's a very interesting story with a little glimpse at Ariel's mother. When she is involved in a tragic accident King Triton is broken and Atlanta changes into a boring, military-like kingdom when he bans music. We learn a lot of the backstory of The Little Mermaid... why it is Ariel loves music... why Sebastian becomes the musical director of Atlanta... and how Ariel meets Flounder.

If you liked the other two mermaid films you'll definitely find something to like about this one. The extras which include a glimpse into the making of the Little Mermaid on Broadway are very interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Prequel, 26 Mar. 2009
By 
Luce (Holmfirth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for my 3 and 4 year old girls. They loved it and so did I. A very good prequel to the original film which we all loved. There's a bit of mild peril as you find out what happened to Ariel's Mummy so you need to be close to do some hand holding for that but the nasty person is not as scary as Ursula so no bad dreams.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 12 Sept. 2008
By 
Mr. Simon D. Farrow "Prince_Eric" (Richmond Yorks UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning [DVD] (DVD)
admitidly its not what I had imagined it would be, just some cheap knock off with some badly thought out plot and poor songs.
well its not! It's brilliantly animated, the plots great and moves fast, it's moving (the openening 10 mins when we learn the fate of Ariels mother is pretty grown up for "just a disney sequell").
Give it a go, you wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but not bad either!, 25 Oct. 2008
By 
Anine (Trondheim, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning [DVD] (DVD)
Being a huge fan of Disney and The Little Mermaid, I guess you could say I was expecting to be disappointed, because tLM 1 is hard to top. Also, Disney sequels have all had considerably lower standards than the originals (with the exception of The Lion King 2, which is great).

What surprised me was that tLM 3 was a lot better than any of the other sequels I have seen from Disney lately! The plot is alright, but what I really liked, was theme. The film focuses a lot on the loss of a loved one, and how much it hurts even years after. I thought it was beautifully done.

There is a lot of "sequel" traits to the film, one of them being that the animation is very mediocre, it lacks detail and nuances. It might have something to do with the backgrounds too, I feel they are a lot more boring than what is strictly necessary, even if the landscape is supposed to be barren. Also, some of the characters are quite overdone, but the way King Triton is portrayed makes up for it.

The music is quite mediocre too, the songs are not particularly rememberable, though well sung and played. This is where I feel the film falls truly short, being that is focuses so much on the importance of music! I feel there could have been more focus on the quality of the actual melodies of the compositions.

This film is worth buying, it is an alright, nice film. It just didn't end up as brilliant as I feel it could have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poor Ariel, 28 Sept. 2008
By 
T. Shields (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the DVD and seeing Ariel and her sisters. You see more of Ariel and her sisters and you also see them living a normal life geting up out of their beds and going walking with their father. We see Ariel's mother and she is the spiting image of Ariel but gets crushed by a ship and King Triton turns into an underwater Scrooge banning music from the kingdom. What is sad though is King Triton making his daughters do chores and the worst one of all is cleaning Barnicles which poor Ariel has been made do because she tickles her sister with seeweed. She also meets her fish friend Flounder. I bought the American version because it has a longer run time of 77 mins and the UK one has 67 mins.

I give the DVD 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Defo worth buying!, 5 Oct. 2008
By 
S. Parker (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning [DVD] (DVD)
This film is awsome! It really does make the little mermaid trilogy complete. Finding out about ariels mother n about family life that you dont get to know about in the first movie. This film is a lot better than the second film they created with melody (ariels daughter) the animation was rushed and story didnt seem to be as thought out as the other two. So it was nice to watch the final film as it should be. If your fans of the little mermaid then you defo need to buy this film! I grew up with ariel since I was 3 and now being 21 I still luv to watch them over and over again! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd review, 29 May 2010
By 
Louise Norris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning [DVD] (DVD)
this is a wonderful addition to the Little Mermaid collection. I am currently replacing all my disney videos with dvds but only when i find them at a bargain price so this was a hit as it was not only a bargain but I didn't even know it had been produced. I now have to wait until I can find Little Mermaid I and II at such good prices!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actual Plot, 19 Sept. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning [DVD] (DVD)
King Triton and his wife, Queen Athena, rule over the underwater kingdom of Atlantica, which is filled with music and laughter. They have seven young daughters, the youngest of whom is Ariel. The merfolk are shown relaxing in a lagoon above water, and Triton gives Athena a music box. Suddenly a pirate ship approaches. Everyone escapes except Athena, who is crushed by the ship when she tries to save the music box. Devastated by Athena's death, Triton throws the music box into the ocean and bans music from the kingdom.

Ten years later, Triton's daughters live under a strict routine maintained by their governess, Marina Del Rey and her assistant Benjamin. Marina hates her job and longs to be Triton's attaché, a job currently filled by Sebastian the crab. Ariel is frustrated by their current lifestyle, which brings her into conflict with Triton. One day, Ariel encounters Flounder, a fish, whom she later follows to an underground music club. She is overjoyed by the presence of music, and is shocked when she sees Sebastian performing there. When her presence is revealed, the entire band stops playing and hides, believing Ariel will tell her father about them. Ariel sings a song explaining her love of music and the remembrance of her mother and she joins the club with an oath.

Ariel returns to the palace, and her sisters confront her over her disappearance. She explains where she was, and the following night all seven sisters go to the club to have fun. Marina secretly finds them, and she later reports their activities to Triton. Sebastian, Flounder and the band are sent to jail, while Marina gets the job she wants.

Ariel sneaks into the prison and frees the jailbirds. Sebastian leads them to a deserted place far from the palace where Ariel finds the music box. Ariel and Sebastian decide to return to Atlantica to show the music box to Triton, hoping that it will change his mind.

On the way back, they are confronted by Marina and her electric eels. Marina wants to stop them so she will retain her position of "power", and a struggle ensues. It ends when Marina barrels towards Sebastian, and Ariel pushes him out of the way, getting hit in the process. Triton arrives in time to witness this, and he is remorseful for his actions. He sings the lyrics of "Athena's Song", and Ariel is revived. The film ends with music being restored to Atlantica. Everyone rejoices except Marina, who is sent to jail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars interesting language, 27 Jun. 2013
By 
A. Southern (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning [DVD] (DVD)
Arials Begining is about 7 princesses who swim around in bikinis and find a club to listen to music in.

One then declares "I can't dance, I'm like a spastic piece of kelp".

Lovely research into offensive and non PC language by Disney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not as good as the other two films, 31 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning [DVD] (DVD)
Disappointing my dsughter lost interest about half hour into the film. Not as enjoyable as the first two films. Just glad I bougjt this on sale . Also this dvd artived in a resealable pack not the wrapping you get when you buy a dvd from supermarket
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning [DVD]
The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Beginning [DVD] by Peggy Holmes (DVD - 2008)
£8.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews