Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 9/10 for the Compiler
As compilations like this go, this one is very good. The major rockers i.e. Elvis, Fats, Little Richard, Jerry Lee, Chuck, Buddy, Gene, the Everly Brothers and uncle Bill Haley are all here. Not only that, they're represented by the better known numbers that we associate with them. In addition many of the not quite so major - I don't like to call them minor - rock artists...
Published on 6 Sep 2011 by Dangerous Dave

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars its OK
It was Ok but I was a little bored with the song list - they were pretty much all the same tone. I thought the disc wasnt put together very well. songs became drowned one after the other
Published 6 months ago by Ms. J. S. Austin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 9/10 for the Compiler, 6 Sep 2011
By 
Dangerous Dave (Berkhamsted, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 100 Hits: Rock 'N' Roll (Audio CD)
As compilations like this go, this one is very good. The major rockers i.e. Elvis, Fats, Little Richard, Jerry Lee, Chuck, Buddy, Gene, the Everly Brothers and uncle Bill Haley are all here. Not only that, they're represented by the better known numbers that we associate with them. In addition many of the not quite so major - I don't like to call them minor - rock artists are also present and correct. Hence we get Eddie Cochran, Bo Diddley and Carl Perkins. I'd like to have had something from Ricky Nelson and Larry Williams but no compilation is perfect.

There are also loads of one-off or near one-off hits (or even great tracks which weren't hits) like Charlie Gracie's "Butterfly" - he was pretty well known at the time but since then disappeared without trace - Frankie Ford's "Sea Cruise, Dale Hawkins' classic "Susie Q", Link Wray's "Rumble", Johnny "Guitar" Watson's "Space Guitar", Buddy Knox' "Party Doll" , Johnny & the Hurricanes' "Red River Rock", Danny & the Juniors` "At the Hop" and Johnny Cash`s "Get Rhythm" - this last one not strictly r`n`r but nice to have. Also in the "not strictly etc." category we get Lonnie Donegan's " Cumberland Gap". This last one is one of the few decent Brit records of the period - it does have the spirit if not the structure of r'n'r. Elsewhere I'm pleased to see that the compiler has kept Brit inclusion down to a minimum which is as it should be for the key years of r'n'r (and that's no reflection on the series of great records made by Brit bands from the mid 60's (ish) i.e. when r'n'r in its original format had effectively disappeared.

The various strands of r'n'r, viz. doo-wop, New Orleans, boogie piano, country rock, teen idol (though I wouldn't want too many of these!), Sun rockabilly, rock-a-ballad and instrumental are all here, loudly and rightly claiming their right to be part of that great body of work that we call rock'n'roll.

The only negative I can see about the compilation is the presence of several tracks like Gene Pitney's "24 Hours to Tulsa" and Johnny Tillotson's "Poetry in Motion", neither of which have much to do with rock (though that doesn't mean they're bad tracks).

Overall one of the best selections of its type that I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Rock and Roll compliation, 13 Jan 2009
By 
alanf1135 "Al." (Greenock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 100 Hits: Rock 'N' Roll (Audio CD)
This has all the famous Rock and Roll hits that there is and you will recognise a lot of them even though you are not into rock and roll. If you compare with this a few other Rock and Roll compilations you will see that most of the tracks appear on each one. This one has them all and is better value than going out and buying several others.

I recommend this compilation as well as 101 Rock N Roll Hits. Although there quite a few songs that appear on both, 101 Rock N Roll Hits contains early sixties Rock and Roll songs and is an excellent companion to this.

Buy, sit back and relax with some of the coolest songs out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value rock and roll cd, 22 Jan 2011
This review is from: 100 Hits: Rock 'N' Roll (Audio CD)
great value mix of rock and roll songs.packaging and delivery good .only suitable for jiving - not strictly rock and roll dancing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll with a difference!, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Rock 'N' Roll (Audio CD)
Bought as a present for my dad and he loves it! Songs he knows well, songs he had forgotten about and some he's never heard of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin!, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Rock 'N' Roll (Audio CD)
The product was as I expected. It was a gift so happy that it was in perfect condition on arrival, no scratches on case etc. the delivery time was as stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality and value, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Rock 'N' Roll (Audio CD)
Good CDs, came quickly and sealed. Worth the money definitely. Some very good songs on there and I like that you could see the track list before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Mix, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Pete in Wiltshire (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Rock 'N' Roll (Audio CD)
I bought this just really to have a selection of traditional rock'n'roll music in our collection.

There is a fair amount of chaff mixed in with the wheat, but to be honest for the price of this set it is excellent value overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Rock 'N' Roll (Audio CD)
The product i have purchased is everything i expected it to be and compliant with the advertisement relating to the goods being sold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another memory lane treasure, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Rock 'N' Roll (Audio CD)
I have not yet listened to all the tracks but I would certainly recommend these to anyone who like me enjoyed the days when music was at its best giving a combination of pleasure and happiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its OK, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Rock 'N' Roll (Audio CD)
It was Ok but I was a little bored with the song list - they were pretty much all the same tone. I thought the disc wasnt put together very well. songs became drowned one after the other
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Hits: Rock 'N' Roll
100 Hits: Rock 'N' Roll by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews