Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 108 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I don't know if this is what I want..."
If 'Tan Lines' wasn't what you you hoped it would be, then 'Shelter' is definitely the film for you. The gay surfer movie that people have wanted to see since 'Point Break', it's a classic love story, in a sunny California setting.

Zach (Trevor Wright) is the 22 year old protagonist; he missed out on an art college scholarship, and is stuck working in a diner...
Published on 30 Jun 2008 by Son of Nietzsche

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Such a sweet film
My title of the review say's it all. will say the film was filmed well,no over the top sex scenes or anything like that which was kinda nice to see.
Published on 1 Aug 2011 by Dazzy2011


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

104 of 108 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I don't know if this is what I want...", 30 Jun 2008
This review is from: Shelter [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
If 'Tan Lines' wasn't what you you hoped it would be, then 'Shelter' is definitely the film for you. The gay surfer movie that people have wanted to see since 'Point Break', it's a classic love story, in a sunny California setting.

Zach (Trevor Wright) is the 22 year old protagonist; he missed out on an art college scholarship, and is stuck working in a diner in a dead-end town. He spends his free time doing street art, surfing, and looking after his (stunning) 5 year old nephew, Cody. This family obligation has been foisted upon him by circumstances: his older sister, Cody's mother, has a string of self-destructive relationships and addictions. Though constrained by this obligation, Zach is like a father to Cody and puts that bond above his own aspirations.

Enter the man who will change Zach's life: Shaun (Brad Rowe) - the confidently gay, older brother of Zach's best friend. Shaun understands Zach in a way that no one else has done, seeing through his tough-guy front. The two men instantly connect, and spend time surfing and taking care of Cody. One drunken night leads to a kiss between them...internal conflict and raw emotions ensue, as Zach wrestles with his desires, while trying to accommodate his familial duties and the limitations of his own self-image.

If this plot-line sounds vaguely unoriginal, it is. All the expected story arcs are present, from the initial shock and brooding self-analysis, to the supportive ex-girlfriend. Added to which are the expected polemics: rich v. poor; urban concrete v. beach and waves; ties of family obligation v. the lure of romantic love. In fact, there is nothing unpredictable about 'Shelter'. Nonetheless, all this is easily forgiven - because the story just 'works' so beautifully. It has it all: a handsome cast (who fill out their wetsuits nicely), sparkling chemistry between the protagonists, moody sunsets, the glittering ocean, moments of humour, and base human desires; all underscored by a poignant soundtrack.

Even the hardened 'not-another-coming-out-movie' cynic will find 'Shelter' an emotive, heart-warming, tear-jerker. A life-affirming, classic love story, with excellent, authentic performances from the cast, 'Shelter' will undoubtedly be a instant hit.

[Amended 02/09/2008]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I tell you love, sister, it's just a kiss away..., 2 Aug 2008
By 
Ni (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Shelter [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great movie. It bypasses heart stopping action, mystery, murder and fantastical drama to spend its eighty four minutes building a simple and honest love story; and that's what it delivers. The story is generic; boy meets boy and consequently boy tries to come to terms with the ever complicating sexual feelings he is starting to discover are buried just beneath the surface, while fearful of the judgements of the people around him.

Of course it is a coming-out story that has been told a multitude of times, but Shelter has something more. The soundtrack is great and compliments the chilled out atmosphere of the film, the actors are convincing and create characters with depth, worthy of investing emotions in, and the setting is a cool, visually appealing mixture of surf and sand. There is also a constant underlying artistic presence which comes from the main character, Zach, a talented street artist. His work is visually beautiful and used effectively as a device to express the character's feelings throughout the journey.

So Zach is reacquainted with Shaun, his best friend's older brother and an acknowledged homosexual...ensue all the beauty and drama of Zach's self discovery. The addition of a child, Zach's nephew Cody, and his unfavourable circumstances, is that extra element that really adds to the emotion of the movie as we see how Zach, Shaun, Cody's mother and her impatient boyfriend react to the boy's presence. It subtly questions the pertinence of sexuality as a deciding factor in the suitability of a parental figure as it pits an example of a loving, homosexual relationship against an example of a dysfunctional heterosexual one, with the young child drifting between the two.

The wait to find out if Zach will escape his destructive home life to the safety of his blossoming romance is not exactly edge of the seat stuff, but the performances and the emotions they conjure in the viewer are enough to make you hope that he will. This movie is the homogenous love story it appears to be, but it is an extremely accomplished version, which is beautiful and grounded whilst still heartbreakingly sad and definitely a rewarding watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sunny love story, 29 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shelter [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good movie, telling a great basic and romantic love story. It just rings true and you know it if you ever really fell in love. The core of the story is very real, although the wrapping may be too sunny. Even for Southern California (and I lived there for 11 years). One whishes that life could be sometimes so beautiful. But one goes to the movies for that too. The cast is wonderful and Trevor Wright is that perfect dreamboy you can't look at him without loving him. One of those gay movies that deserves a wider audience and stays with you for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: Shelter [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I originally bought this film as a spur of the moment sort of thing but it is by far one of the greatest films I have ever purchased and to be honest it is worth far more than 8.99!

It has a great story and I was particularly surprised at the quality of the filming and acting (it is very good to say the least).

The story is actually quite touching and sweet aswell and it is not at all trashy like a lot of gay films. This is a must buy film and I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 27 Aug 2008
This review is from: Shelter [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I've been waiting for this film to be released on DVD in the UK ever since it was recommended to me by friends in the US. I've watched it several times online and it's already become one of my favourites. It's a beautifully written universal story about choosing between the obligations of your family and following your heart, backed up by great acting, stunning scenery and a gorgeous soundtrack (Shane Mack is definitely a name to watch for the future). An instant classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 out of 10, 28 Mar 2012
By 
Paul (Littlehampton) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shelter [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Quite possibly my most favourite film of this genre. It is heartwarming and makes you realise that it is okay to be gay and in love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I don't know if this is what I want...", 30 Jun 2008
If 'Tan Lines' wasn't what you you hoped it would be, then 'Shelter' is definitely the film for you. The gay surfer movie that people have wanted to see since 'Point Break', it's a classic love story, in a sunny California setting.

Zach (Trevor Wright) is the 22 year old protagonist; he missed out on an art college scholarship, and is stuck working in a diner in a dead-end town. He spends his free time doing street art, surfing, and looking after his (stunning) 5 year old nephew, Cody. This family obligation has been foisted upon him by circumstances: his older sister, Cody's mother, has a string of self-destructive relationships and addictions. Though constrained by this obligation, Zach is like a father to Cody and puts that bond above his own aspirations.

Enter the man who will change Zach's life: Shaun (Brad Rowe) - the confidently gay, older brother of Zach's best friend. Shaun understands Zach in a way that no one else has done, seeing through his tough-guy front. The two men instantly connect, and spend time surfing and taking care of Cody. One drunken night leads to a kiss between them...internal conflict and raw emotions ensue, as Zach wrestles with his desires, while trying to accommodate his familial duties and the limitations of his own self-image.

If this plot-line sounds vaguely unoriginal, it is. All the expected story arcs are present, from the initial shock and brooding self-analysis, to the supportive ex-girlfriend. Added to which are the expected polemics: rich v. poor; urban concrete v. beach and waves; ties of family obligation v. the lure of romantic love. In fact, there is nothing unpredictable about 'Shelter'. Nonetheless, all this is easily forgiven - because the story just 'works' so beautifully. It has it all: a handsome cast (who fill out their wetsuits nicely), sparkling chemistry between the protagonists, moody sunsets, the glittering ocean, moments of humour, and base human desires; all underscored by a poignant soundtrack.

Even the hardened 'not-another-coming-out-movie' cynic will find 'Shelter' an emotive, heart-warming, tear-jerker. A life-affirming, classic love story, with excellent, authentic performances from the cast, 'Shelter' will undoubtedly be a instant hit.

The DVD is presented in Dolby Digital 5.1; its special features include:
- Film Commentary
- 'Making of' Feature
- Photo Gallery
- Music Video
- Trailers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 16 Jan 2009
This review is from: Shelter [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a lovely film, quiet and well-acted and although quite unsurprising in it's story it is hugely charming and some characters sweetly break away from the expected stereotypical responses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A diamond in the rough, 28 Sep 2008
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shelter [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
As a gay man, I am have seen many, many gay films, most of which are to be honest, pretty awful. This however, is a splendid, unpatronising, uplifting and heartwarming film, that is set in the masculine world of surfing. There are no camp men, no limp wrists, no drag queens, no drugs, just a wonderful story about 2 ordinary men (1 of whom is having difficulty with his being gay) falling in love. The secondary characters are also great; the supportive brother and best friend, and the selfish, and on first glance homophobic sister all helping to make this a great gay film. I put this up there with Latter Days and Brokeback Mountain; definately one of my top gay films of all time. It's well acted, well cast, well written and well directed. It also has a great, chilled out soundtrack which is worthy of mention. Kudos to all involved. A true diamond in the rough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopelessly Romantic . . ., 25 April 2011
This review is from: Shelter [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I don't like the main review on Amazon, it makes the film sound trite and formulaic. So I'm adding this review a year or so since I bought Shelter with the advantage that I can say I've watched it a good few times since.

Shelter is - without being cloying and clichéd - an unashamedly romantic love story that is positive and life-affirming. On the face of it, it may give the impression of being a stereotypical gay romance but I don't think categorising it as such does it justice. Jonah Markowitz's script is intelligent and subtle, giving dimension to the story and it's characters where most films disappoint, especially I'm afraid to say, most gay films. His directing debut is surprisingly accomplished and gives an appreciable sense of place and time. The central characters of Zack and Shaun (beautifully acted by Trevor Wright and Brad Rowe) have a history to their attraction which gives their relationship and subsequent love affair a continuity and believability that the main review misses in its arch `they hit the surf and Shaun's mattress with equal enthusiasm', suggesting as it does, thoughtless promiscuous abandon.

Other characters - Gabe(Ross Thomas) his best friend and the `jock', Tori(Katie Walder) his beautiful school sweetheart and Jeanne(Tina Holmes) his wayward elder sister - could all have been awful one dimensional caricatures but Markowitz draws them with sympathy and empathy so they surprise you with their actions against type - but only in a `filmic' sense, because I was left thinking that actually, yes, most people are like that in real life and are not one dimensional - they can be kind and understanding, selfish and thoughtless, prejudiced or cruel, all wrapped up in one complicated person, and more often than not, their humanity ultimately comes through.

I should also mention the songs of Shane Mack on the soundtrack which was an inspired choice - I'd never heard him before and bought the soundtrack on the strength of his songs alone, although I'm not so keen on the `fillers'.

So that's me: hopelessly romantic, or at least, I can be, and so is Shelter, and although light-hearted, there is a lot of art apparent in the making of it and I don't think it will disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shelter [2007] [DVD]
Shelter [2007] [DVD] by Jonah Markowitz (DVD - 2008)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews