Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece of Heavy Metal Music., 14 July 2008
By 
Terminated (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Man Who Would Not Die (Audio CD)
Blaze Bayley has excelled yet again. The Man Who Would Not Die is the best Heavy Metal album to come out in 2008 so far. It's difficult to fully describe the content in this magnificent album because so much is going on within each track. You simply have to listen to it all the way through.

The Man Who Would Not Die is simply about life and somewhat autobiographical of Blaze Bayley's life. Songs such as 'Blackmailer' details the war between himself and the record label and their pathetic attempt at black-mailing him.* A Crack in the System has an evil, manipulating intro that shreds into a tough as hell riff that sends shivers down your spine, possibly proving this is the best line-up in the Blaze Bayley band, as the quality of the musicianship from all players is tremendous and shows through. It's as if they set themselves extremely high goals to reach and went beyond.

Robot is a fantastic song about individualism and showing that you are real and not conforming to anyone else's ideals. The moment when Blaze screams 'I Am!' all hell simply breaks loose. The rest of the songs on the album all compliment each other, and most importantly, there is no filler. This is an energised, unrelenting showcase of one of the best talents in heavy metal and I recommend this album to anybody who appreciates music with more thought and intelligence, unlike the commercial sewers that infest the airwaves.

Rock on Blaze! A Masterpiece.

*P.S. Why on earth would a record label try to kill its artists? Surely, they would milk the artist to get their grubby hands on all the incoming cash and not destroy their prized 'cash cow.' The industry is wholly messed up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Metal Masterpiece, 23 July 2008
This review is from: The Man Who Would Not Die (Audio CD)
I bought this album with a slight worry that it would be inferior to the previous albums since this is the first created with Blaze's new line up of musicians.

My fears proved to be unfounded and this is probably Blazes best work to date. An absolutely fantastic bit of work with not a single weak track in the whole album. As usual with a Blaze album, the guy has put a lot of his soul into the songs and there is some seriously good atmosphere from them.

Blaze Bayley really needs a bit more recognition from the metal community as a whole.

Well done on brilliant album sir. I wish you well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back with a vengeance, 13 July 2008
By 
Ian Lloyd (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Man Who Would Not Die (Audio CD)
Well I can't say that Blaze has 'finally emerged from the shadow of Maiden' ; he easily achieved that with debut Silicon Messiah - a brilliant contemporary metal album.And over the course of subsequent 10th Dimension , Live As It Gets and Blood & Belief , Blaze and band continued to produce and develop a truly unique metal style deserving of far more recognition.So despite a number of set backs and upheavals it's great to see the man back , and back in brilliant form.Acknowledging his Maiden heritage and reporting in the sleeve notes that the song writing was approached in the same way as X Factor and Virtual X1 , this album is probably Blaze's most Maidenesque to date.But by that I don't mean the stoggy bloated efforts of A Matter Of Life And Death rather something far more immediate ,fresh and exciting.Someone needs to explain to messrs Harris and Co that extending every song to breaking point with the chorus repeated ad nauseum does not an 'epic' make ; for that you need a much more dynamic structure with 'light and shade'. Simply compare Blaze's 'Smile Back at Death' or 'Samurai' with Maiden's 'For the Greater Good of God' or 'Brighter than a 1000 Suns' and you'll see what I mean ; the Blaze efforts are shorter , punchier and contain a wealth of ideas in true progressive metal fashion.Also the playing is more emotional and heartfelt anchored to an awesome drum sound - unlike mr McBrain who sounds (since the reunion) like he's playing an array of cardboard boxes.
Highlights of The Man Who Would Not Die are hard to choose ; the opening trio will blow you away. The pace 'slows' slightly for the start of While You Were Gone but builds wonderfully into a fast paced gallop complete with guitar harmony section , even better than the Maiden of old ! Personal favourite is 'At the End of the Day' , slow and brooding , showing Blaze's fantastic powerful voice at it's best.'Waiting for my Life to Begin' and final offering , 'Serpent Hearted Man' perhaps best define Blaze ; an intense 'hard' metal that would give even the likes of Chimaira a run for their money , but firmly rooted to a more British sound and tradition in the Priest, Maiden , Sabbath mould. Welcome back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic album!, 29 Sep 2009
By 
Optimus (Somewhere In Time) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Man Who Would Not Die (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album of pure, driven, classic metal, full of heavy, crunching riffs, plenty of melody and some fantastic lyrics.

A lot heavier than Blaze's previous efforts, this easily surpasses the critically acclaimed Blood And Belief album and is second only (in my personal opinion) to the Silicon Messiah album.

Although Blaze Bayley may never step out of the shadow of his former band, Iron Maiden, with which he helped to write, sing on, and promoted on an international stage, The X factor, Best Of The Beast and Virtual XI between 1994 and 1999, he is happy to aknowledge his past, but also look to the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master of Metal, 26 July 2009
By 
Mr. M. J. Clark "Mj" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Man Who Would Not Die (Audio CD)
The Man Who Would Not Die is an awesome album! It get's off to a fast and furious start with Blaze himself in powerful form as usual. However the music is not just fast, it retains a melody which is something a fair amount of metal music ends up throwing out of the window for the sake of shredding riffs and distortion. My favourite song, At The End Of The Day, is in fact slower and like the rest of the album, it has inspiring lyrics which I personally can relate to strongly.

Reoccurring themes are being wronged, not having luck on your side, being on the outside looking in, fighting against the system, regrets, dying, revenge, isolation, stagnation and seeking the truth/answers.

The music is all top notch. It feels polished, well produced and that a lot of effort has gone in to it. I think Blaze's line-up is working well and there's a new level of creativity here.

On a personal note, Bayley has worked so hard to achieve success despite the numerous setbacks he has constanly faced including the death of his wife. I saw the band performing in Southampton UK on 6th May 2009 and it was a fantastic show, I can't wait for the next one!

If you're a fan of metal music or just plain excellence you can't go wrong with this album. Like Iron Maiden's material, it's got brains as well as brawn. Great Songs, great line-up, I wish them the best of luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maiden who?, 7 July 2008
By 
mr.syxx (birmingham england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Man Who Would Not Die (Audio CD)
very fast and very heavy, this album goes like a b*tch, living proof that blaze has finally stepped away from the maiden shadow that has somewhat cursed his previous albums, a man clearly on a mission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Congratulations, Blaze: great work!!, 15 Aug 2008
This review is from: The Man Who Would Not Die (Audio CD)
This is a great album of honest and true heavy metal.
I must say Blaze's last solo work is a good surprise!!
Do not waste time.. BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard & fast classic in the making !, 24 April 2009
By 
N. Page (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Would Not Die (Audio CD)
yep, really enjoyed this one too...one or two of the tracks lack a decent chorus (most notably 'Blackmailer') and the slower numbers drag a little, but overall 'The Man ..'' is a fast and furious classic in the making..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man Who Would Not Die
The Man Who Would Not Die by Blaze Bayley (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews