Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best hip hop album in a while
Refreshing, Ingenius, Simply amazing. Those are the only words that I can use to describe Deltron 3030. If you are sick and tired of the same old reused base lines that you find in most of todays rap songs then this is definetly the cd for you. Also track 2 on the cd, the 7 minute one, is quite possibly the greatest and most innovative rap song that I have ever heard in...
Published on 17 July 2001

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars completely different to any thing that you've heard before
For those of you who know Dan the Automater's work this wont throw up any surprises, experimental,strange,and a little self indulgent. There are some incredible moments on this LP(the first proper track for instance)Which produce amazing atmospheric soundscapes, but as with all concept albums can be a bit of a chore listening to it all the way through. This album is set...
Published on 7 Nov. 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
Cracked case but otherwise quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars completely different to any thing that you've heard before, 7 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
For those of you who know Dan the Automater's work this wont throw up any surprises, experimental,strange,and a little self indulgent. There are some incredible moments on this LP(the first proper track for instance)Which produce amazing atmospheric soundscapes, but as with all concept albums can be a bit of a chore listening to it all the way through. This album is set in the future, and maybe thats where the problem lies, it could just be too ahead of its time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great hip-hop but vocals too overpowering, 13 Nov. 2008
By 
A. Power (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
Deltron 3030 brings together the brilliant blend of Dan the Automator's amazing producing, all of Kid Koala's turntable mastery and Del Tha Funky Homosapian rapping on top.

Unfortunately, the vocals are just too overpowering. It's not that Del is a bad rapper, it's just that he raps over EVERY second of every track!! The hip-hop beats, samples and turntablism are not given the opportunity to shine. Consider getting the instrumental version. Or else, if you really love their sound, get both and burn the best tracks from both onto a CD-R.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly amazing, 5 Nov. 2004
By 
Mr. B. Avenell (kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
This is the best album i have ever listened to.

Dan the Automator has a way of making you feel as if you are really there; the sounds are so atmospheric, putting you in the position of Del, who raps in such a way as you almost feel as if you are right there, in this alien modern world beside him.
Kid Koala just helps to bring this whole blend together with his own unique style of cuts and scratching.

Sheer audio perfection.

Can't wait for Event II, scheduled for June 2013 release...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST hip-hop album for years., 29 July 2002
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
Well now, I've owned this album for a couple of years. But I still think this is the best hip-hop album I own. And that's saying something. It is pure genius. There are so many memorable lines from it:
"We ain't that different- we may act different in some ways, but we still stick together like a f**king survey"
"Tamper with napalm, I want y'all to stay calm, alien annilation"
"What's happening? I keep my dreadlocks in a napkin ring"
Covering such subjects as interstella communication made possible by rap, Earth's paranoid dictator, the Rhyme Federation, 21st Century classic comics (the fun is astronomic), a vast destructive virus and wars waged by sonic MCs and their soundmen, this record is unique to say the least. Effortlessly lovable, you are entirely absorbed by Del's lyrics and Automator's beats. A "very factual crash course", if ever there was one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 17 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
This is truly one of the best hip hop albums I have ever heard. Del's intelligent lyrics flow seamlessly over the perfectly produced beats. Amazing. Buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for beginners, 10 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
This is a fine album, and was really my introduction to hip-hop.
Take my advice, listen to this and you'll know what standard to judge everything else by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Those of you who like most Hip-Hop, 17 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
This Album is a story told by the rappers of what they think the world will be like in the future. This means that a lot of the lyrics are about the machinery etc they experience there. The Album has its good and bad points. I will start with the bad: A lot of the tracks a followed by little 30 second fillers which can get annoying and the second track 3030 lasts seven minutes which is quite endless as the tune is not that good. The good points are that most of the songs are good and can help you chill out especially track 4 "things you can do". The second good point would be for those who do not like too much swearing as there is very little on the album. So if you like most music i would recommend this CD and also if you want to hear some less offensive rap this would be a good CD to buy. Its also reassuring that there are some British are involved in rap as the DJ, Kid Koala is British.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ,,, 16 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
The theme of the album is cliché as hell; a futuristic, empty dystopian world where only a few people (this time rappers and producers) are left alive, but in the context of a hip hop album it seems to work pretty well. And thanks to Del being a better rapper than Kool Keith, Deltron 3030 presents itself as a much more accomplished piece of work than the other main Automator album, Dr. Octagonecologyst. Yet, like that album, it's The Automator that puts me off Deltron too. His production has all the sci-fi sound effects and weird quirks you'd want from something like this, but his sub-RZA beats don't have the variety to warrant the 60-minute length of the album. It also contains nerd-rap pioneer Paul Barman, which perhaps is worth docking a star on its own. Props for trying something new though, and there's definitely some great tracks, but it isn't the underground classic we're all meant to believe it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantabulous rap extravaganza, 14 Oct. 2002
By 
simon gurney (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deltron 3030 (Audio CD)
This is an epic Cd, Intelligent hip-hop doesnt get any better, amazing funny lyrics, almost each sentance is a masterpiece, the imagery is further enhanced by a cosmic production.
A stand alone, almost always on my playlist, its a dark side of the moon with rappers (and sci-fi).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deltron 3030
Deltron 3030 by Kid Koala (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews