Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2001
Refreshing, Ingenius, Simply amazing. Those are the only words that I can use to describe Deltron 3030. If you are sick and tired of the same old reused base lines that you find in most of todays rap songs then this is definetly the cd for you. Also track 2 on the cd, the 7 minute one, is quite possibly the greatest and most innovative rap song that I have ever heard in my entire life. The whole album is awe inspiring and is deifnetly worth the money.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2001
For everyone out there who has forgotten that hip-hop can be fun and inventive this may just make you remember; it did for me! There's no gangster-wannabe rappers here, just fresh ideas and clever production. Not every track is a killer (in my opinion), but overall the album is a worthy investment.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
tis album is engaging and relaxing at the same time it is a little bit on the long side but again it is good filled with catchy beats and intelligent lyrics it is a concept album but I can't remember the concept at the moment the rapper is the guy from the Gorillaz but it is better than the gorillaz I think in some ways it should be considered a classic hip hop album because it is just magnificent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2005
This is an amazing album, i never really thought an unbased concept album could be any fun, but with del's aggravated rhyming (very much reflecting our present state as well), dan's smooth as soap production and kid koalas scratching the trio bring to life the fantasticly dystopic future in their album. Basically if you like del, this is his best album, and you might even catch a glimpse of the gorillas crew when damon albon appears on a few tracks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2004
Wow, this is a true hi-hop album, no fake gun , just good rhymes and good beats. I tend to be very wary of concept albums but this one realy shines through, the production is stunning and the lyrical content is superb. the only thing letting it down is the number of interludes but it does give the album more structure. So if you are a REAL hip-hop fan go out and buy this NOW.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2004
When you combine one of the most lyrical Emcee'z with possible the greatest hiphop producer ever then you know your gonna get some legendary s**t. Del the funky homo sapien is one of the most under rated MC's around. Lyrical, intellegent and unique Del doesn't have to spit about the same s**t everyone else does. Forget all the bling bling, the long lines rap/pop music that fills the charts, this is what hiphop was invented for. With Dan the automater beats this albums one of the best you can buy. Totally unmissable Man! Put down ya pac and ya 50 Cent this is real hiphop man. 3030 is one of those albums where every track is supreme, automaters spacey beats and Del's intelligent rhymes makes this my favourite album since the turn of the millenium. Best tracks? .....3030, Things You Can Do, Madness and Mastermind...but all the tracks are 1st rate s**t so just buy the album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2000
Hip hop album of the year...possibly. I bought this album on the strenghts of the tracks Mastermind, Things You Can Do and Virus and I wasn't disappointed. This album combines commentry on the future with amazing back beats is really is something special and unique. When you lissen to it something clicks, its hard to describe, all I can say is listen to the likes of Mastermind and Things You Can Do and make up your own mind. I know what you are thinking "never heard of them why are they so good?". Well in my opinion this is probably one of the freshest albums out at the moment and for all those hip hop fans who are getting sick of Dr. Dre and Eminem and want a return to albums the quality of Three Feet High & Rising this is for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2000
"The year is 3030, and here, at the Corporate Institutional Bank of Time, we find ourselves reflecting..." And Sir Damien Thorn VII is correct, in a way. In an original and clever move on behalf of Dan 'the Automator' Nakamura and Del tha Funky Homosapien, they have set this album in the far future. This is perhaps to be free of the confines of contemporary hiphop, or maybe so that Deltron can discuss the planet's issues in retrospect, having witnessed another World War and Damon Albarn's ascension as a God of Rap. But for whatever reason, here there is an oddity; half concept album, half surreal sci-fi adventure, I am still unsure as to what Deltron wanted to accomplish. The tracks themselves are definitely up to scratch- '3030' provides a perfect start to the voyage of The Cantankerous Captain Aptos, with swelling orchestral pieces combined with Dan's musical talents and Del's MCing placed firmly in the sci-fi camp. Followed later by 'Positive Contact''s jumpy beat and that song that tells us that we upgrade our grey matter- good advice, surely. As the album continues, slightly more downbeat styles present themselves, such as 'Madness' and 'Mastermind'. Still, I cannot help feeling that it was a missed opportunity: It was such a good idea! But no matter how much skill Deltron lay onto this album it still seems as if it would not be too different if they had just set it in 2000: the ironic adverts of the future (track 3, for example) would just be replaced with ironic adverts for today's world. Nevertheless it is still a success, and deserves to receive rapturous applause from those that appreciate this music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
First things first there is no similar concept album with such innovative lyrical content like Deltron 3030. This, alongside Nakamura's on-point atmospheric production consist one of the best hip hop albums ever made. Words can't ultimately describe how i love this record. Own it on both vinyl and cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2001
I was getting a bit tired of similar hip-hop beats and generic rap stylings, until one fateful day I heard a tune by Gorillaz. Now I discovered that their album was not out for a while, so a little browsing discovered the unique and incredible world of the Automator. As is mentioned over and over, this album is set in the future, and, whether it is because of this or not, it is an excellent selection of tunes. Del is a grand rapper and lyrisist, he flows really well and shows creativity in his futuristic lyrics, while the Automator provides some superb production. It may not all sound incredibly striking or exciting, but upon listening to this album properly, I discovered it is a well-polished machine of music. It's a nice break from most of the generic tunes, and gives a glistening example of how talented these people are.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.95
£14.42

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)