Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dante's Cove
This show is ridiculously, wonderfully bonkers!! I have never had so much fun watching a show in my life.

As a straight woman I can only encourage *all* types of people to try this - other women take note...there are some of the best abs in the world on display here!

I stumbled on the show by accident and have since bought the box set of all 3...
Published on 12 Jan. 2009 by C. R. Mabey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dantes Cove
The first season is quite bad! Only 2 very long episodes with crap special effects, and a not very well defined plot, lacks rhythm and so on... But the second and thrid are another story... I mean, don't get me wrong, they are still fairly bad, but the plot gets better, they go into the tresum thing more deeply, the characters develop, and it starts being that kind of...
Published on 12 Mar. 2010 by Octavio Cuevas


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dante's Cove, 12 Jan. 2009
By 
C. R. Mabey "Braid7" (Wales,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dante's Cove - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This show is ridiculously, wonderfully bonkers!! I have never had so much fun watching a show in my life.

As a straight woman I can only encourage *all* types of people to try this - other women take note...there are some of the best abs in the world on display here!

I stumbled on the show by accident and have since bought the box set of all 3 seasons so I can wallow in its (inserting the tagline here!) "guilty pleasures". The storylines are a hoot and, having just watched the Season 3 finale, I can honestly say I'm counting the days until Season 4.

OK so the acting levels do vary but most of the main cast are great and even those who are a bit shaky on the acting win you over with their sheer enthusiasm. There have never been more amazingly jaw dropping plot twists and fall over laughing one-liners in any single TV show. Straight, gay whatever you are, check this show out....it's pure escapism and a joy to tune into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh My Goddess!!!!, 25 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Dante's Cove - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I only heard about Dante's Cove in Gay Times a few months back, but after renting it on amazon's partner Lovefilm, I was hooked

The story to begin with is very longwinded (as all backhistory stories are), 200 years ago when an engagement is struck between Grace and Ambrosius Vallan, each from a differing House who practice the universal magic called Tresum.
The Moon House (Grace) believed in a prophecy that a child shall be blessed with the powers of both the Moon and the Sun, but they also believed that this is only possible if upon conception or shortly after birth, the father should be killed with Moon Tresum and thus pass the powers to the child, making them supposedly in charge of both houses.
Grace believes Ambrosius to be upstanding and moral person in the Tresum community, however on one day she found Ambrosius being "taken" by his man-servant.
Grace being spiteful killed the manservant and chained Ambrosius in the house's dungeon for all eternity, when only a kiss of a young boy will set him free.
Ambrosius is waiting for that special someone, will he get them??

(Season 1 is split into 2 episodes each roughly 1 hour - 1 hour 20 mins long.)

Season 2 begins with a new character, Diana (Grace's sister) who secretly taught Ambrosius a stronger branch of Sun House Tresum whilst he was chained in the Dungeon and therefore his original source of power.
The Cove being central to Tresum runs much like modern withcraft in a cycle, that cycle being the giving of power at set times in the year, Both Sun (Male) and Moon (Female) are to represented in the ritual for nature to take its unhindered course, but with Ambrosius chained for 200 years at Grace's hand, nature has obviously started to become more dangerous and unpredicatable.
The ritual requires each house to have an aspirant (apprentice) [and this is the main plot for season 2], upon finishing this ritual it gives the chosen one, a chance to reverse one moment in time.
What will that one moment be?

Season 2 is split into 5 episodes each roughly 30 - 35 minutes long

Season 3 - Evil has come to the cove in the guise of The House of Shadows a long since banished and captive branch of magic, a House of Chaos in all its uncertainty. No one is totally sure of what to do with the House as its main desire is revenge and spite, so death is inevitable to any who try to stop it unprepared.
This season has elements of zombies attacks as well as a new location (which gained it's own spin-off) called The Lair, a nightclub by night, a gay orgy central during the day run by inconspicuous vampires.
Will the Houses of Sun and Moon combine and fight that of the House of Shadows or will there be another course of action needed to banish the Shadows once and for all?

Season 3 is split into 5 episodes each roughtly of 30 minutes in length

Things to watch for:
Season 1 - This was filmed in the Turks and Caicos Islands in the Pacific Ocean.

Season 2 - For reasons unsure, the location of Dante's Cove is changed to Hawaii, not far from the site for the TV Series Lost.
Although not mentioned specifically in the shoiw, one comment Grace says does outline it's a new location.
"It's amazing, what a new lick of paint can do!"

Season 3 - Again location changed, possibly due to the 2004 Boxing Day Tsunami, as a tsunami is said to be the cause for the destruction of the Date's Cove Hotel
Also Diane's stance as she's possessed by The Shadows, it seems more like she's blind than possessed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witless Trash TV.... at it's best!, 12 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Dante's Cove - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Dante's Cove is best described by drawing parallels to other (superior) TV shows. So imagine "Charmed" or "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" aimed at a purely homosexual audience, then throw in plenty of X-Rated action and remove all the decent acting, convincing visual effects and any attempt at a coherent plot. This will give you a pretty good idea of what the show is about.

Set on an idyllic tropical island, the plot of Dante's Cove is centered around the hedonistic lives of the hot young things that live on it's shores. The supernatural element of the series is provided by Grace (Tracy Scoggins) and Ambrosius (William Gregory Lee), two practioners of 'Tresum' (think witchcraft) who cause all sorts of ridiculous drama with their endless feuding, romantic entaglements and irresponsible use of their powers. This is played out over the first two series, with their conflicting goals and motives and the appearance of Grace's mysterious sister Diana (Thea Gill) driving much of the plot forward. All this goes on the back-burner for season three, which is focused more on an evil force that invades Dante's Cove, providing a much darker and bloody atmosphere to the show, yet still somehow remaining ultimately cheesy and frivolous.

The acting and production values of the show start off at a pretty dire level, but do slowly increase in quality as the series goes on. Tracy Scoggins and Thea Gill definitely give the best performances, stealing most scene's they are in. The other actors seem to have been cast on the basis of how good they look with no top on, but in their defense this usally distracts from any attempt at acting they make, so it can be forgiven. However, the magic and special effects look terribly dated for a show created only a few years ago and really don't compare to other high-concept shows produced at a similar time. The show is also plagued by numerous off-screen changes occuring between seasons. This means locations, characters and plotlines abruptly vanish from the show, or are suddenly played by different actors.

If you're looking for some high-brow gay-themed entertainment to engage you intellectually and elicit some serious emotional response, Dante's Cove is probably the last place you want to visit. However, if you're able to suspend your disbelief, turn off your higher brain functions and just enjoy campy, over-the-top fun with hot guys & gals making out (and the rest) with each other every 5 minutes, then Dante's Cove may just be your new favourite show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindless, Basically Plotless and wonderfully addictive, 24 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. N. Dorakis "Styx" (Portsmouth, Hants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dante's Cove - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Dante's Cove is a masterpiece of trash, camp and sometimes very steamy scenes which despite discrete camera angles seem to be a little too realistic at times.

It's a terrific relief to find a production that doesn't shy away from full frontal male nudity.

The plot is basically irrelevant, though it revolves around a branch of witchcraft called "Tresum" - itself divided into the houses of Sun and Moon. Tracy Scoggins ends up being as mad as a watering can when she gets posessed by the Shadows -- a fabulous piece of ham acting from her there.....

It's not intellectual, if you're a Soap aficionado or looking for something deep and meaningful - don't bother. If on the other hand you're out for a thoroughly good time and want something that will steam up even your contact lenses Dante's Cove is the best place to visit

Most of the cast, it seems, are "out" actors & actresses, which does explain the extremely convincing "naughty bits" - that in itself is a relief; I'm thoroughly fed up with straight actors fumbling their way through gay love scenes ....

Advertised as a "Guilty Pleasure" ---- This series is unashamedly bonkers, delightfully erotic and often just unabashed campy sleaze. We need more television like this!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dante's Cove season 1-3, 10 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. S. Fagura "rockyfagura" (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dante's Cove - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
After working in New York 2006-2007 I wanted to see what all the fuss was about of Dante's Cove. It was on billboards and posters. I bought the DVDs, me and my flatmates are obsessed with the show. It is Charmed meets the OC. Its very exotic, passionate nude sex scenes and audiences over 18 of any sexual orientation will love this. The actors to watch out for are Charlie David (Toby) and Gregory Michael (Kevin) who portray a loving, monogamous sexual relationship that the audience want to see go well at the end despite their obstacles. Jon Fleming (Adam) and German Santiago (Kai)are ones to look out for i.e. sexy butts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Dante's cove so much!!!, 9 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Dante's Cove - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
When I bought this 3 DVD boxset I didn't know anything about (the wonders of) Dante's Cove...needless to say I was pleasantly surprised! If you're gay/bi/curious then this is the TV series for you!

I'd described it as so bad it's good. Very engaging and addictive...I found myself having to watch all three "seasons" back-to-back and I am longing for the fourth volume! It's trashy, sexy, funny, gripping and very CAMP! The actors are ALL wonderful. For my money, the first "season" was the best, more darker and edgier and generally a lot more going on, it changes as the "seasons" progress, but not necessarily for the worse, just different. The odd charactor and set changes also, but this adds to the kitch charm of the show!

Expect full on gay sex and a lot of full frontal nudity, but this isn't porn.

Notice I keep referring to the "Seasons"...I personally wouldn't call them seasons - all in, there are only 12 episodes in 3 seasons!! Only two in season one, but they are feature length...that is it's only fault - we need more!!

BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dante's Cove, 3 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dante's Cove - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Don't expect Emmy award winning acting, scripts or storylines. The lack of these can easily be forgiven when you see the truly beautiful actors. This series has not made it to mainstream UK TV (and probably won't or readers of the Daily Mail would spontaneously combust) but is worth watching at any time.

The plot is thin with, in Series 1, a nasty guy put into stasis by a witch and needing a pretty boy to kiss him and release him then unleash him onto an unsuspecting world. By Series 3 it seems that the producers could afford to get some writers in and the plot is slightly better. There is apparently going to be a series 4. The one thing we know about it is that Kevin will cry - he does a lot of that but is so gorgeous that you just want to give him a hug and make things better, even if he is straight in real life (what a waste)

Dante's Cove won't challenge anyone intellectually, but who cares?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dantes Cove, 12 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dante's Cove - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The first season is quite bad! Only 2 very long episodes with crap special effects, and a not very well defined plot, lacks rhythm and so on... But the second and thrid are another story... I mean, don't get me wrong, they are still fairly bad, but the plot gets better, they go into the tresum thing more deeply, the characters develop, and it starts being that kind of stuff that is so bad that is very good, and you have a good time watching it! And not to forget the fit bodies and all the action that takes place (more sex in the first 2 seasons, then it quites down, or maybe I just got used to it?lol) Now I can't wait for the 4th season to come out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dante's cove box set, 13 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dante's Cove - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
this new age modern approach to address sexuality with in a community, it shows an equal view on all sexuality's weather your gay, bi, lesbian, transgendered or straight. it involves you into a modern story line with hidden twists and a story base which is like bold and the beautiful meets queer as folk. but people need to be aware there are very strong sex scenes and alot of nudity, in this show there is nothing to hide and there are no limits. this is one of the best series i have come across that openly allows same sex scenes to allow the wider community to gain an understanding of homosexuality. overall best show ever. thumbs up!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No guilt in this pleasure, 10 Nov. 2008
By 
Mr. S. Kane "Stuart Kane" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dante's Cove - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Awful acting, terrible sets and tragic plots... and totally irresistable.

Tracy Scoggins' reference to the sudden change in shooting location mid-season two is gold :)

Ridiculous but great fun - and my god the eye candy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dante's Cove - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD]
Dante's Cove - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] by Michael Costanza (DVD - 2008)
£14.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews