Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun
Ahhh... Nintendo. Nobody can beat Nintendo when it comes to the handheld gaming market. Nokia had a go with the N-Gage. I've only ever seen one N-Gage. And Sony had a slightly more respectable go with the PSP, which, while fun, broke fairly easily, became scratched and generally fell out of favour among those who wanted a more pick-up-and-play gaming experience.
The...
Published on 18 July 2008 by D. Court

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nintendo non event
The ds never arrived, upon contacting seller told me that he would sort it. Would not answer anymore e mails and when I started a claim against him, repaid the money without informing me. Totally untrustworthy and worth avoiding this seller.
Published on 3 April 2011 by Doug s


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 18 July 2008
By 
D. Court (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo DS Lite Handheld Console (Turquoise) (Video Game)
Ahhh... Nintendo. Nobody can beat Nintendo when it comes to the handheld gaming market. Nokia had a go with the N-Gage. I've only ever seen one N-Gage. And Sony had a slightly more respectable go with the PSP, which, while fun, broke fairly easily, became scratched and generally fell out of favour among those who wanted a more pick-up-and-play gaming experience.
The DS Lite improves on Nintendo's original release by making the console thinner, lighter and considerably better to look at. It's clear the Japanese gaming gurus took onboard all of the initial criticisms (of which there were not many) and built something that defies all expectations of handheld gaming.

To start with: the graphics. 2d graphics are crystal clear with bright, vibrant colours and a great resolution. The majority of DS games use a 2 dimensional system which, although not as good looking as 3d graphics, still work astonishingly well withing the context of the games. 3d graphics come as standard a lot more on later DS games as it's capabilities were put to better use, but graphics are not quite on par of those on the PSP.

The sound out of the DS is also fairly impressive. Sporting a pair of small speakers- one on either side of the upper screen- the DS is capable of producing stereo sound. For those who like their sound crisper, the DS also has a headphone port. The volume control is on the closest edge of the DS, meaning it is very difficult to change accidentally while playing a game.

The DS Lite is compatible with both DS cards and Gameboy Advance cartridges. Sadly, it is no longer compatible with the original gameboy cartridges as the Gameboy Advance was. As DS software is region-free you can play US or Japanese imports on your DS without having to resort to risky modifications.

One of the main things that the DS has going for it, however, is the multiplayer aspect of the games. Most games have some sort of multiplayer mode built in meaning with more than one DS you and your friends could all play on the same game together. Several great games also have a DS Download Play feature, where only one game card is needed for a group of people to play all or part of the multiplayer game.

The new lines of the DS Lite makes it look gorgeous and more than a little bit elegant. The case is hard-wearing and has a feel of quality about it. All of the buttons are responsive but solid and the screens do not scratch easily. The folding clam-shell design further protects the screens when not in use and the stylus has been thickened slightly since the console's predecessor to allow it to be used easier.

The DS Lite is a great console for family and friends. With a strong focus on the multiplayer market, Nintendo have created a wonderful console with a massive range of family friendly games for fun for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Fun For All Ages!, 28 Oct 2008
By 
Sood "Sood" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo DS Lite Handheld Console (Turquoise) (Video Game)
I've had my NDS Lite for about eight months now and have never regretted buying it. I was initially put off with the bulky original DS, but after seeing an NDS Lite thought I would bite the bullet. I also bought an external see through case/skin and a small hard pouch/case to put the nds lite and its peripherals into it. If your going to spend this much money spend a little more to protect your investment. I'm glad I did - Ive dropped this a couple of times onto the floor some time ago (not recommended!), but the hard crystal case/skin (which i bought separately) appears to have saved it.

The NDS Lite itself is incredibly addictive many games use the touch screen stylus and microphone as well as the buttons. I have since played with a PSP and been overawed by the PSP - the games on PSP look way more better than on the NDS, but again Nintendo have got the mixture just right and I still don't regret buying the NDS Lite, would still buy it over the PSP - its my faithful companion that I even take to work (to play during my breaks). Although I initially bought this for myself, my wife is forever 'borrowing' it! This is where another coloured DS Lite would come in handy!

I hate carrying all my cartridges around with me so I ended up buying a m3 ds real, a flash cart that you use instead of the game cartridges. This is a bit if a grey area as although it doesn't invalidate your Nintendo warranty, its usage is frowned upon as a lot of people use it for piracy. But its advantages cannot be denied - Ive got a 8gb micro sdhc card which slots into the m3, and allows me to carry 8gb worth of games all on one cartridge! (you have to download the games, and you can download legal home brew software, but please support the game developers and *only* download the cartridges you own, say NO to piracy and don't spoil it for the rest of us). I tend to find prices on play.com very good for buying nds cartridges. The m3 also allows me to play video, music and pictures on the NDS Lite - something Nintendo should have done ages ago.

Also with some games you can actually export your saved characters onto the Wii!! For example Pokemon Daimond/Pearl on NDS to Pokemon Battle Revolution on the Wii!

If your debating whether or not to buy - just buy it, you wont regret it! (Now all you have to do is choose what colour you want!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neat, 2 July 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo DS Lite Handheld Console (Turquoise) (Video Game)
This is easy to use, light to carry and the fully charged battery lasts for around 16 hours when set on low screen brightness. The two screens are really handy as it saves flipping back and forth between modes as in some GBA games or adds extra elements in others. The touch screen is fun and adds an extra dimension to game-play over the gameboy advance.

The wi-fi connectivity allows game play with friends and connection to the internet to play with other Nintendo gamers. There is a calendar, a clock and an alarm. It has built in stereo speakers and a microphone socket. Overall I think it is excellent value for money (these days) and great fun to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jess C, 7 July 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo DS Lite Handheld Console (Turquoise) (Video Game)
I think this console is an excellent price for its money , i think that the colour is gorgous i would recommend it to anyone ! i have had no problems with it like other people with other ds lte consoles i think it is brilliant and fab colour to pick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nintendo ds light in light blue, 15 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. V. J. Luckauskas "brandy" (blackpool in the united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo DS Lite Handheld Console (Turquoise) (Video Game)
i bought this ds lite as i thought be good to take into work with me when im not busy lol.well i am realy impressed with it and is easy to use and the graphics is good for a small hand held console too and the price was hard too beat with good delivery service so all in all i recomend this to all young and not so young as im 46 years and young at hart he he
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally addicted!, 2 Feb 2009
By 
M. Bray "Mia" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo DS Lite Handheld Console (Turquoise) (Video Game)
Bought as a gift for the younger sister (i seemed to have done most of my xmas shopping on Amazon) and am now totally addicted myself. I was a bit worried that the turquoise plastic would look tacky but thats certainly not the case, as its turquoise throughout and not just painted so no risk of scuffing the colour off. Its really sturdy and the 2 screens is a huge bonus, though i'm finding that the quality of the pictures and ease of navigation depends very much on the game played. Nintendogs is a great example as its very interactive, where as Pokemon dungeons isn't so great for kids and is quite hard to navigate. Thankkfully too you can buy spare styluses pretty easy as i can see them being lost quite quickly...a good sturdy case is definitly a good investment. Im actually going to get a red one (and Sims Castaway)for myself at some point as i'm quickly losing my racked up brownie points by hogging her present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it 5 star, 13 Jun 2009
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo DS Lite Handheld Console (Turquoise) (Video Game)
Hi I love my DS it is so fun to play on anytime any place even when your squashed in the car going on holiday!You don't have to charge it as much it will last about three weeks if you are like me always on my DS!When you buy it you will be so happy that you've got it trust me!
Thanks
PSplease buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived on time, 14 Mar 2014
By 
BILL B (LEICESTER, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo DS Lite Handheld Console (Turquoise) (Video Game)
The seller described the unit as good condition and that's how it arrived. It was bought to replace a worn out unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xmas prezzie, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo DS Lite Handheld Console (Turquoise) (Video Game)
brilliant, i ordered it for my daughter or xmas and it came within a couple of days, the condition was suberb and my daughter was delighted, would really recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo DS Lite Handheld Console (Turquoise) (Video Game)
It is one of the best solution for a young child who gets interested in any games but not ready for the computer yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nintendo DS Lite Handheld Console (Turquoise)
Used & New from: £24.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews