Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but still brilliant
Whilst the Writers' Strike left this season feeling a little empty, the quality of the show continues to shine through. The conclusion to the Sara Saga is excellently pulled off and will certainly bring a tear to the eye of the most faithful CSI fan. Some of the episodes are a bit poor - such as the story of the young lad who develops breasts - but these are balanced out...
Published on 29 Sep 2008 by Mr. J. A. Stansfeld

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deeply disappointing - for two reasons
After the strength, drama and pure suspense of Season 7 with it's wonderful 'miniature killer' arc, Season 8 had a lot to live up to. And it absolutely doesn't.

Episode 1 'Dead doll' finishes off the 'miniature killer' story (well, almost) and is a brilliant episode and is probably the only real reason to buy this 8-episode set.

The link-up with the...
Published on 24 Mar 2009 by A. J. Sturgess


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but still brilliant, 29 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. J. A. Stansfeld "JaysElectronics" (Redhill, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Las Vegas - Season 8 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst the Writers' Strike left this season feeling a little empty, the quality of the show continues to shine through. The conclusion to the Sara Saga is excellently pulled off and will certainly bring a tear to the eye of the most faithful CSI fan. Some of the episodes are a bit poor - such as the story of the young lad who develops breasts - but these are balanced out by the other episodes.

Shame there's not as many episodes as there normally are but worth the purchase all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deeply disappointing - for two reasons, 24 Mar 2009
By 
A. J. Sturgess "Alan Sturgess" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Las Vegas - Season 8 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
After the strength, drama and pure suspense of Season 7 with it's wonderful 'miniature killer' arc, Season 8 had a lot to live up to. And it absolutely doesn't.

Episode 1 'Dead doll' finishes off the 'miniature killer' story (well, almost) and is a brilliant episode and is probably the only real reason to buy this 8-episode set.

The link-up with the 'Without a trace" series and characters is good, but feels oddly disjointed when the 2nd part switches over to become a 'Without a trace' episode with the addition of Gil Grissom.

Sara Sidle's farewell is well-handled in 'Goodbye and good luck' and neatly links back to both 'Dead doll' and the appearance of a freaky little girl and her strange brother in Season 7. Sara's gradual descent into disillusionment, sadness and a feeling of hopelessness is well developed and makes complete sense.

But after all that - the remaining episodes are exceptionally weak or just downright silly. 'You kill me' is an insult to the intelligence of CSI fans and is undoubtedly the worst episode so far in the entire CSI series ... and I've seen them all up to the end of Season 8.

Other reviewers have said this - but with only 13 episodes in season 8 (14 if you count the 'Without a trace' tie-in) there is no excuse whatsoever for not releasing the entire season as a single DVD set. This is a pure and simple example of ripping-off the fans.

My advice is to not buy either part 1 or part 2 of Season 8 until and unless you can get them from for well below 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could Be Better, 1 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Las Vegas - Season 8 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
We are huge CSI fans and I found part 1, season 8 really was disappointing after the usual quality. The build up to saving Sara Sidle was little disappointing, it could have been better.

Many of the story lines are weak, with a good story toward the end. The episode where Sara Sidle leaves is good as is the story line which crosses both CSI and Without A Trace is the best on the disk.
It was too short as well, so value for money just isn't there. This isn't reflected in the price (thankfully we picked it up on sale before Christmas for a little over 10, but the price has since jumped back up again) There are some bonus features including a Without A Trace Episode, one episode with commentary, a feature on Sara Sidle's departure and also a special director (which is relevant to season 8 part 2 not part 1).

The final episode on the disk is terrible and it is really disapointing to end with it. It may have been an attempt to do somthing 'light' after Sara leaves but I found it really hard to sit through.

I am hoping part 2 will be a lot better. Wishing I waited for the release of the Season 8 Box Set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part of the collection, 6 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. M. J. Lynch "Micky L" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Las Vegas - Season 8 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
My wife loves this series and had to have every DVD in the collection. However its repeated so many times on TV there is no need to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 16 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Las Vegas - Season 8 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
As im an avid CSI Las Vegas fan i was not disappointed by this purchase my only criticism being that season 8 is the shortest series of CSI Las Vegas which for an addict was devastating! Lol. I would highly recommend this DVD for any CSI fans. Nothing better than a night in with Grissom and Co. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed, 21 Sep 2009
By 
RB Fun - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Las Vegas - Season 8 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Just 8 episodes + 1 lousy overspill in a new show. This, combined with the annoying unskippable Kia commercials was such a letdown for me that I will not expand my collection any further
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed, 14 May 2009
By 
GDThorne "gavprop" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Las Vegas - Season 8 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
very very dissapointed.. not many episodes and having purchased all previous box sets am considering ending my collection at this point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CSI, 23 Sep 2008
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Las Vegas - Season 8 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was really looking forward to season 8 after season 7s cliffhanger episode. But I have to say I was really disapointend with it. It's not the fact that the series was cut short, it's the fact that the storylines were utter rubbish. This series could have be released on 1 box set but it hasn't so this makes it a total rip off. I shall not be tuning in for series 9 of CSI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great season, however suffered due to the writer's strike!, 6 Aug 2008
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Las Vegas - Season 8 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 8 of CSI picks up directly where Season 7 concluded, with Sara Sidle trapped under a car in the Nevada Dessert, making for a thrilling season opener. The second episode features the team coming to grips with Grissom and Sara's relationship, however not such a good episode in my opinion. Ep 3, "From Hell", is another strange yet brilliant episode. Ep 4 follows the story of a boy found hanging off a tree with mutilated breasts. Episode five, even though it lacks Grissom, is fantastic. Ep 6 is a fantastic crossover with "Without a Trace". Episode seven, we bid farewell to Sara. Episode 8 is a funny episode focusing on the lab rats once again. Episode nine sees Warrick framed for murder. Episode 10 sees illegal dog fighting. A man is killed by a bull in ep 11. And the team fight the flu in ep 12.

All in all, twelve fantastic episodes.
However it does have it's bad points:
1. The total disappearance of Louise Lombard's character after episode 1.
2. The amount of episodes that hardly feature Grissom at all.
3. The fact that the season only had 17 episodes, leaving Volume 2 dvd with five episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent seller, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Las Vegas - Season 8 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
only criticism is the deliver but I did order at busy time Christmas. discs where immaculate great price to. highly recommend this seller. tried to get this box set for several months. other outlets sell this for up to 30 pounds I got it for a penny and just paid the delivery!! Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CSI: Crime Scene Investigation - Las Vegas - Season 8 Part 1 [DVD]
5.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews