Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Entertaining
This is a wonderful and extremely entertaining program. Zooey Deschanel does a wonderful job as DG, a girl who travels to OZ after having some troubling dreams. She befriends Glitch, Cain and Raw and travels down an old yellow brick road to find the Mystic Man, a man who can help her find the answers to her past and her future.
One of the best things about this is...
Published on 20 Sep 2008 by Alivet

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All budget, no script, shoddy lead
Unforgivably wasting its supporting cast with a script that fails to give them more than sketched dramatic situation and little dialogue of interest, Tin Man shows Zooey Deschanel reacting comatose to all kinds of shocking, painful, wonderful and extravagant situations and FX. She seems genuinely to be wishing she were somewhere else, which might have played into any...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. I. M. Davis


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It was o.k, 10 Sep 2008
Quick short review as many have already wrote in detail.

If you are a big film lover that enjoys Very good special effects, great! story with loads of action....

then this is not for you. If you are easy going, just like a good story, then this is for you.

Reading all the reviews, all offering 5 star rating made the choice of renting this dvd very easy.

It comes in 2 disc, Disc 1 offers part 1 & part 2. Disc 2 offers part 3,

I would strongly recommend you watch all 3 parts to enjoy Tin Man. The acting is very good and the story is refreshing.

The special effects are not that great & the filming just comes acorss as a cheap budget TV show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The upmost in rubbish, 10 May 2008
By 
Mark Bonatti "M.Bonatti" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Cringworthingly bad, "Tin Man" plods onto the scene in a torrent of cliche's, bad acting and worse dialogue. You will be amazed by this "reinvention" of the classic story of Dorothy and her involvement in the history of Oz. Marvel as Zooey Deschanel enchants you with her vast array of two expressions, gasp as Richard Dreyfuss is cast aside in the worst part of his career, flinch as Dorothy is rescued by a cowboy! Wait, what?

Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A real insult to the Wizard of Oz Tradition, 4 Dec 2011
By 
A. L. Mills - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the Oz stories and many of the ways people have extended the legend/lore/traditions. This TV film is simply awful and a terrible waste of talent. Good actors, some resonable effects frittered on an awful script and story.

Disappointing and frankly insulting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT the Wonderful Wizard of OZ, 25 Feb 2011
By 
I love both OZ films. I thought the show WICKED was great. So I was pleased to see this OZ adaption and a good number of positive reviews. I bought the collectors edition at a good price rather than the more expensive blu ray. I'm glad I saved a few pounds. Why?

Disc 1 - Part 1: Starts slowly but is ok
Disc 1 - Part 2: Ok over an hour in and things are still moving slowly. By the end of Disc 2, Richard Dreyfuss character dies. I'm not surprised. He probably realised what a load of croc this is and jumped ship. I jumped sofa and made another cup of tea. But maybe, just maybe the finale on disc 2 will justify all those positive reviews!
Disc 2 - Part 3: Thankfully the end. Over 4 hours of my lfe waiting for something exciting or entertaining to happen. The final battle consisted of below average special effects. A couple of explosions!! There was only one moment of drama, when the Tin Man (Neal McDonough) arrives home to witness the murder of his wife. (hence the cert 12).

What's bad:
Special effects below average - don't expect any blockbuster effects. More like sub-standard Doctor Who.
Acting at times not good, although Neal McDonough and Richard Dreyfuss do their best. Shame it didn't inspire others. (Begs the question why Neal McDonough and Richard Dreyfuss are in this. It's substantially inferior to their usual film productions. They had to be tied into a contract or something).
Story far too slow. The 4 hours felt much longer...

What's good:
Ok let's give credit to the idea. The story is eventually linked to the original Dorothy (over three hours in) and I liked the take on OZ being called the O.Z. (O.ZEE.
Thankfully Kathleen Roberston does a good turn as DG's sister who is possessed by an evil witch. However the leaping forth of the bats from her cleavage was quite strange.

So in conclusion I would recommend that you do not buy this. Watch it on tele or rent it first.

The back of the DVD states that Tin Man is 'spiked with the kind of off-the-wall creatures, voluptuous villians, acid twists and hair-raising turns that Dorothy's dreams never allowed bwfore, this knockout update of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz doesn't just go over the rainbow. It goes way beyond.'

This DVD will certainly be going 'way beyond' my film collection as I will never be watching it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad, 28 Dec 2009
One of the worst films we've ever seen, we wonder which version other 5star reviews have seen. Haven't got as far as the second DVD and it's probable we won't put ourselves through it. Poor acting, even poorer directing and no redeeming features. It seems to have been an indulgence of the creators and deserves to be confined in its entirety to the cutting room floor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They never learn, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Jostein Næsheim (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Judy Garland would rotate in her grave . This is bad .
I love the original Wizard of Oz with Judy Garlan , the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tin Man [Blu-ray] [2007]
Tin Man [Blu-ray] [2007] by Zooey Deschanel (Blu-ray - 2008)
£22.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews