Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the very best...
The NWN game is more than half a decade old by now. And, as with so many games was not released without bugs. Some of them major. But it is worthy of being considered a classic of the genre.

Yes, the graphics are old. Yes, the gameplay is no longer original. But the game is stable after updating and will run on almost any Windows XP computer, mainly since...
Published on 29 Nov 2008 by ShinsFortress

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bland story
Neverwinter nights managed to surprise me... and not in a good way. The story in the core game has to be one of the most bland stories that I have ever encountered. You are simply supposed to save a city from a plague (but as you might have guessed, the plague is not natural!). Most NPCs are given very little in the way of character introduction, and at least I felt...
Published on 3 Dec 2010 by Fnord


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the very best..., 29 Nov 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neverwinter Nights - Deluxe Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
The NWN game is more than half a decade old by now. And, as with so many games was not released without bugs. Some of them major. But it is worthy of being considered a classic of the genre.

Yes, the graphics are old. Yes, the gameplay is no longer original. But the game is stable after updating and will run on almost any Windows XP computer, mainly since system requiements are low as one would expect for a game over 5 years old.

There are still servers out there (!) for those that prefer online play. For those interested in more Single Player story/campaign modes, there's 50-100 hours worth of play for under a tenner.

Whether you're an old Baldur's Gate veteran, or a new player looking for an old bargain; this is a great value fantasy CRPG compendium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its addictive, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Steven Fynn (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neverwinter Nights - Deluxe Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I have always been a fan of the original Dungeons & Dragons computer games and now that I have discovered this version of one of the classics that will run efectivly under Vista on my PC and Laptop just reminds me how addictive the game is. The action is smooth and the graphics though not up to todays standerd are still good. Just be prepared to either be very hard on yourself regarding the time spent or be prepared to lose yourself just wanting to overcome that next challange before turning in. Parents if buying this for your child then you will have trouble keeping their hands of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bland story, 3 Dec 2010
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Neverwinter Nights - Deluxe Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Neverwinter nights managed to surprise me... and not in a good way. The story in the core game has to be one of the most bland stories that I have ever encountered. You are simply supposed to save a city from a plague (but as you might have guessed, the plague is not natural!). Most NPCs are given very little in the way of character introduction, and at least I felt nothing for the faith of the world. A good story will grip you, suck you right in, make you care for the characters. But that is not what the story in NWN does to you. They might have died, for all that I cared, I had developed no emotional connection to anyone or anything in the world. At least the action was decent (though not great).

The two expansions fares better. Both offers more in the way of character interaction, and they invoke more emotions than the core game. Still, they are not stellar, and in the end, things don't feel very important. The first expansion peaks during its first chapter, which contains a fare amount of dialogue, and where you actually get to explore the setting a bit. The second expansion peaks during its second chapter, again because you get to explore the setting. The core game never peaks...

There are plenty of fan mods out there that does a decent job at creating an enjoyable experience. So if you decide to buy this game, buy it because of the user created content, not the main campaigns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest games ever!, 27 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. M. A. Carroll "ElRodentus" (Leighton Buzzard, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Neverwinter Nights - Deluxe Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I highly recommend this game for anybody interested in the RPG genera. In my opinion it is quite simply the best in its field. The depth of the storyline, the sheer detail involved in making and levelling your character and the fun of the game itself all add up to make it one incredibly fun game.
I first encountered this game several years ago and have rarely stopped playing it since. I know it doesn't have cutting edge graphics and it isn't an MMORPG but it's just so fun...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roleplaying at its finest, 14 Dec 2009
By 
D. Levy (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Neverwinter Nights - Deluxe Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Neverwinter Nights is based on the rules for the first "true" Roleplaying game Dungeons and Dragons. It's set in Faerun, a medieval-like land, filled with fairytale elements, of magic, monsters, gods, demons, and much more. You create your own personalised character, and start with a number of attributes, like in most RPGs. The mechanics of the game work through a number of automated die/dice rolls, which determine any number of things, from whether an enemy spots you while you're sneaking, or whether you inflict a critical hit. However, even those who aren't familiar with Dungeons and Dragons can get along fine. All the calculations are done instantly, and you don't even have to pay attention to them. It does help however to have an idea what certain attributes do, such as fortitude (ability to resist massive damage) or will (ability to resist magic) and a number of others.

On the other hand, there's something for the hardcore D&D player too. The game is so in depth that one can finely tune their character to whatever role suits their personality. The classes can be mixed and matched, so if you choose, you might want to create a warrior/sorcerer. Doing so requires experience however, as certain combinations can have negative repercussions, such as heavy armour influencing a spellcaster's abilities.

Alignments also play a part in the game. One can choose to play a character in a number of ways, from chaotic to lawful, and from good to evil, or somewhere in between. This has an impact on your game, as certain classes can only have certain alignments. Monks for example can only be lawful. The various actions you take in the game influence your alignment. So if you choose to do immoral things or speak to people harshly, you'll quickly find yourself on the evil side of the spectrum.

I hesitate to comment on the graphics. The graphics are as one would expect from a game originally being around since about 2002. If you're a gamer who plays for the looks of a game, this might not be for you. But as more games are becoming more and more graphically enhanced, the life and essence seems to get more and more sucked out. But this is what NWN has: essence. It has substance. There are deep stories to be told and adventures to be sought. The game has hundreds of hours of gameplay available, not only with the main game, but with the expansions, which open up more parts of the world to explore, and seek fame, fortune, or power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!, 7 Sep 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Neverwinter Nights - Deluxe Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I loved this game, my only sadness is that I have played it so many times now, it's getting a little tiring. I have played all the characters, my favourites being the Cleric, the Wizard and the Druid. I find fighters very boring to play, although my Barbarian was quite fun.

I think the graphics are far better than some games I've seen, but I do play it from the 'far away camera' angle - I think some people play it 'face to face' mode, which may be why they don't like the graphics.

I have been good and evil, except that I don't like being evil. My Pale Mster can't advance any more because I talked nicely to someone. I'm now running through the game again, but with a specially created blade and armour so I can move quickly from one level to the next.

There are hours and hours of game play, which is good, but one disadvantage with this game is the fact that magic users have to rest after using their spells, which can take up a long time (if you're playing for a while), and sometimes can't be done (if there are enemies near by).

The only other complaint is that there are no complete instructions on how to use the tool set to design your own dungeons. They might be online, but I don't have interent access at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NeverWinter - perfect!, 29 Nov 2009
By 
Charlotte Hall "RPG nerd" (Derby, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Neverwinter Nights - Deluxe Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I was looking for a great RPG, with good interaction, combat and graphics, and NeverWinter delivers.

The graphics are great for a game of its age, and the controls arent too confusing, so you can get things done easily.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this game very highly! The plot is wonderful, and the online capacity for roleplay is wonderful too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its Still Got It, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neverwinter Nights - Deluxe Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Even after all these years NWN still has what it takes to keep me busy. I play on a server called Amia and the RP there is quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not for me, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neverwinter Nights - Deluxe Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
The game is fine delivery very good just not my cup of tea that's all great value though and I am sure other people will enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neverwinter Nights - Deluxe Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Wow, still haven't played through 50% of the game but it's smashed my expectations. I was looking for a long RPG which has a involving story, and NWN was exactly what i was looking for. You will find this game good if you also played Baulders Gate (1&2) and Dragon Age Origins!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa65bc06c)

This product

Neverwinter Nights - Deluxe Edition (PC DVD)
Neverwinter Nights - Deluxe Edition (PC DVD) by PC Gamer Presents (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
Used & New from: 9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews