Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value for money
26 ten-minute episode (plus extras) and you've got well over 4 hours of Thomas and his friends. Yes, it might be extremely repetitive, but my two-year-old just can't get enough of it.
Published on 14 Aug 2009 by G. Nicholson

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so useful!
There's no faulting the content of this DVD, even if our household do prefer the original episode format (this is the first series made in the computer enhanced, longer episode format with the "Engine Roll Call" theme song).
The reason I've marked it down is because of the mess Hit have made of the presentation.
One star is lost because of the trailers at the...
Published on 4 Aug 2008 by Mr. R. Scillitoe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value for money, 14 Aug 2009
By 
G. Nicholson (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thomas And Friends - Classic Collection - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
26 ten-minute episode (plus extras) and you've got well over 4 hours of Thomas and his friends. Yes, it might be extremely repetitive, but my two-year-old just can't get enough of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so useful!, 4 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. R. Scillitoe "robstar69" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thomas And Friends - Classic Collection - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
There's no faulting the content of this DVD, even if our household do prefer the original episode format (this is the first series made in the computer enhanced, longer episode format with the "Engine Roll Call" theme song).
The reason I've marked it down is because of the mess Hit have made of the presentation.
One star is lost because of the trailers at the start of the DVD, which can't be skipped. This is an inexcusable liberty (it takes long enough to load up as it is), which thankfully wasn't taken with the previous series 1-7.
The second star is lost because of the fact that you have to sit through the entire introduction and extended theme tunes at the start and end of every episode, whether you choose to "play all" or "select an episode". This gets tedious very quickly.
My advice to Hit for series 9 is simple: Drop the trailers, and instead include the introduction ("Welcome to the island of Sodor", "Who's that puffing down the track?" etc.) just once, before the options screen. Then start and end each episode with a cut down version of the theme tune.
If these mistakes were corrected I would have given it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT, 18 Aug 2008
This review is from: Thomas And Friends - Classic Collection - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this dvd. We all LOVE the song after every episode & the fact we can all sing along with my child, who at 2 yrs thinks this is fantastic. Stories are great as usual and love it - can't fault it except you can't skip the ads at beginning - THAT IS ANNOYING & they need to sort that out for the next series, which i hope will still include the song :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gd, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas And Friends - Classic Collection - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
thanks my lil guy loves this dvd ive sat and watched it with him good for adults to sit and watch to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabbo, 6 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas And Friends - Classic Collection - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic - my little lad loves it. Great value for money and plenty of minutes of entertainment for the whole family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thomas dvd, 23 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. E. ricks "emma ricks" (cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thomas And Friends - Classic Collection - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
the dvd was well worth the money as it was as good as new. it came on time and would buy from this seller again.there was a qite few storys and my son plays it over and over. i would recomend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy customer, 8 July 2009
By 
Brian Adams "Barney Elf" (Coleraine, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas And Friends - Classic Collection - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
I have recently taken delivery of a dvd in the Thomas & Friends series. It is called the classic collection - series 8 Thomas And Friends - Classic Collection - Series 8 [DVD] and I have to say that my 1 year old grandson and I are very pleased indeed. Fast response time and fast delivery equalls a shop worth returning too - time and time again. The dvd had great colourful characters, brilliant storylines, attention to detail on the model railway layout and perfect sound. No jumps or misses. A first class dvd and of course, highly recommended. Thank you Amazon.
Kindest regards......
Brian Adams, Coleraine, Northern Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 4 Jun 2009
By 
Rachel Craveiro (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thomas And Friends - Classic Collection - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Different short stories, this is exactly what I was looking for. Ther kids loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars By far the worst Thomas Series, 26 Oct 2008
By 
G. A. Pitts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thomas And Friends - Classic Collection - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
This is by far the worst thomas series. Series 8 is the second series under HIT but the first to be without David Mitton. Where do I start? Well, first they've scrapped the original theme tune, bringing along a load of other cheesy music. They've changed the character's personalaties. Issues that were resolved in the first series (e.g. Thomas refusing to wear his snowplough) seems to have miraculasly reappeared again. The storys and plots are over the top and unrealistic (it's almost as if the engines have no drivers). As for the DVD itself, there are some annoying trailers that you can't skip at the beginning of the DVD, as well as the intro opening titles (the one where the narrator goes through a long winded speech about Sodor and Thomas) before EVERY episode. EXTREMELY TEDIOUS. I would not reccomend this series to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful world of Thomas, 22 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas And Friends - Classic Collection - Series 8 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is to be recommended. I bought it for my son, 20mths, and he is just obsessed with it. The advantage over other DVDs for the mums and dads is that there are over 20 episodes so as you'll be watching it ad nausium, you'll at least see a variety of episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thomas And Friends - Classic Collection - Series 8 [DVD]
6.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews