Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy memories...
Watched this on TV when it first came out, and I was present at the match shown at the start - Everton - and Spurs gave out silly foam hats with a cockerel that stood up at the front. I still have it.
.
This is a lovely tale of schooldays innocence and friendship, woven around Spurs glory, glory days of the early '60s. Wonderful stuff!
Published 15 months ago by Peter T.

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars those glory days were glorious but this movie doesn't capture those heights
With the recent Spanish conquest of footba' (ok last ten years or so) of one pass play moving forward; exciting, skilled and a need to play as a team. Think Spurs (or Tottenham Hotspurs) nineteen sixties double team. Ok, albeit in grainy black and white of memory with concrete balls of leather and boots better suited to a builders yards. For all the Man Uke Inc, the...
Published on 18 April 2012 by "Belgo Geordie"


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy memories..., 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those Glory Glory Days [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this on TV when it first came out, and I was present at the match shown at the start - Everton - and Spurs gave out silly foam hats with a cockerel that stood up at the front. I still have it.
.
This is a lovely tale of schooldays innocence and friendship, woven around Spurs glory, glory days of the early '60s. Wonderful stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic Magic, 12 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those Glory Glory Days [DVD] (DVD)
Took me back to the great days of 60's football. A lovely film made better knowing that it was a true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute gem..., 8 May 2009
By 
Mr. Graham Betts "Pickwick Papers" (Amersham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those Glory Glory Days [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst the film has obvious appeal to Spurs supporters, given the basic plot, it is also a film that has a wider appeal. The plot is described in the product notes, so I won't dwell on that much further. Rather, I would point out that this is a film that Spurs fans have been trying to get their hands on on DVD for some considerable time, with the American release (thankfully produced in zero ragion) being imported in considerable numbers over the last couple of years. This UK release appears to have slipped out - why haven't 4dvd put announcements or advertisements in Spurs Monthly, organised a competition for the programme in order to publicise the release or even arranged to have the DVD sold in any of the Spurs shops? Believe me, if more people were aware that it was out there, they would sell more copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GLORY GLORY JULIA,TONI,JAILBIRD,AND TUB!, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those Glory Glory Days [DVD] (DVD)
WITH THE RISE OF GIRLS AND WOMAN IN FOOTBALL THIS SHOULD BE A MUST SEE.THIS IS A TRIUMPH FROM THE FIRST WOMANS FOOTBALL REPORTER JULIE WELCH,WHO THROUGH FOUR SCHOOLGIRLS DESCRIBE THE PASSION THAT GRIPS US ALL.THOSE FOUR ACTORS ARE SUPERB,AND A SPECIAL MENTION FOR ZOE NATHENSON WHO PLAYS JULIA HERRICK, THE DIZZY DAFT SPURS NUT.I SAW THIS ON CHANNEL 4 WHEN THAT STATION DID SOME VERY INTERESTING THINGS,UNLIKE TODAY WITH ITS OBSESSION WITH WEIRDO'S AND BODY PARTS!.THIS IS ABOUT LOVE AND IN DANNY BLANCHFLOWER,POTENTIAL NEW FANS OR PLAYERS COULD HAVE NO GREATER ROLE MODEL.PLEASE GIVE IT A GO..FROM AMAZON UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars those glory glory days dvd, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those Glory Glory Days [DVD] (DVD)
This story is just pure nostalgia.It captures the innocence of a bygone era.If your thinking was it really like that back then.The answer is an absolute yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hate football, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those Glory Glory Days [DVD] (DVD)
But..... this is a great period film and well worth the risk, its not all about football and is very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those Glory Glory Days [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely product if you are a Spurs fan, its a must have. Quality through and through. I recommend the purchase of this product, excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories!, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Shelley (UK Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those Glory Glory Days [DVD] (DVD)
such a lovely gentle film and great to see Danny Blanchflower. I sent it to another old spurs fan who also enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars football fans, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those Glory Glory Days [DVD] (DVD)
one of the best football dvd it is very entertaing and funny l would recomend this to the football fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars those glory days were glorious but this movie doesn't capture those heights, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those Glory Glory Days [DVD] (DVD)
With the recent Spanish conquest of footba' (ok last ten years or so) of one pass play moving forward; exciting, skilled and a need to play as a team. Think Spurs (or Tottenham Hotspurs) nineteen sixties double team. Ok, albeit in grainy black and white of memory with concrete balls of leather and boots better suited to a builders yards. For all the Man Uke Inc, the double team has not been bettered and Bill Nicholson is El Fergies equal (not to mention Busby). Now I have to fess, I am a Toon fan through and through but I am a Greaves man meself; my boyhood idol. But despite a few aberrations on my part to be 100% loyal, I have to say the Tottenham Hotspur double team still remains the best I have ever clapped a pair of goggle eyed balls on. So here we have it a movie about it "Glory Days". But no! A criminal offence! A filum with a few minutes of Mr Blanchflower (Lord Danny) amidst a dated movie and lack lustre plot. Think "Hard Day's Night Without The Beatles" or Woodstock with Frank Sinatra. Again, it is something that could have worked. Take 'Purely Belter' (Geordie sublime film) a similar plot but got well over the line by being side-cracking-ly funny. With even the big Al (Mr Shearer) having the mick taken. Mind you he probably does still listen to Celine Dion or some such bollocks. But this film did not do that team or era justice. Acting was not bad but script was woeful. This is the kind of movie for a wet afternoon stuck at home, with a head cold and the cat on your lap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Those Glory Glory Days [DVD]
Those Glory Glory Days [DVD] by Philip Saville (DVD - 2008)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews