Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To everything tere's a season
What if you discovered that you had a superpower -- great strength, flight, teleportation, or amazing healing? And what if you could use it to save the world?

Superheroes are everywhere in entertainment, from comic books to movies. But they suddenly got new attention in "Heroes," which explores the repercussions of "ordinary" people who discover that they have...
Published on 16 Jan 2009 by E. A Solinas

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Get ready for an anticlimax!
Season 1 is brilliant - Can't really fault that season and therefore the price of this package is well justified (is a bargain in fact!) However season 2 starts off almost as good but only offers 11 episodes because of the writters strike! Thats right! Out of 24 episodes only 11 were ever made! Any episodes that were ment to be part of it ended up being moved to season 3...
Published on 5 Aug 2009 by Mr. Martin J. T. Barber


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To everything tere's a season, 16 Jan 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Heroes: Complete Seasons 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
What if you discovered that you had a superpower -- great strength, flight, teleportation, or amazing healing? And what if you could use it to save the world?

Superheroes are everywhere in entertainment, from comic books to movies. But they suddenly got new attention in "Heroes," which explores the repercussions of "ordinary" people who discover that they have strange -- and sometimes dangerous -- powers. The first season is a a solid comic-book style TV series, although the second season trips over itself.

It opens with Mohinder Suresh (Sendhil Ramamurthy) reflecting on the human quest for knowledge -- even knowledge that we shouldn't have -- right before learning that his father has been killed, possibly murdered. Suresh's dad believed that "special" people were cropping up, much like in X-Men.

And we are introduced to the "heroes": stripper Niki (Ali Larter) harbors a secret dark side, cheerleader Claire (Hayden Panettiere) heals from any injury, cubicle worker Hiro (Masi Oka) bends time and space, Senatorial candidate Nathan (Adrian Pasdar) is able to fly, his brother Peter (Milo Ventimiglia) can copy others' powers, cop Matt (Greg Grunberg) can read minds, and junkie artist Isaac (Santiago Cabrera) sees the future.

Their lives are dramatically changed by their powers -- some explore them, some are haunted by them, and a superpowered serial killer is hunting and murdering the others. Even worse, Hiro witnesses the explosive destruction of New York a mere five weeks into the future -- and a future version of himself says that saving the cheerleader will save the world.

The second season is a much shorter one (because of a writers' strike) and doesn't quite measure up to the epic heights of the first season. The Heroes are struggling to deal with the aftereffects of the past season, especially the now-alcoholic Nathan and amnesiac Peter. Meanwhile, Hiro uses his powers to travel to medieval Japan -- and finds out some shocking facts about his boyhood hero.

Unfortunately while the malevolent Sylar has lost his powers, he's still dangerous -- especially since he's teamed up with a woman who emits poison. The season revs up when a trip into the future reveals that the Shanti virus is going to kill over nine-tenths of the world. With no time to waste -- and a mysterious man who may or may not be an ally -- the Heroes must save humanity once again.

Unlike most shows about people with superpowers, "Heroes" isn't really about the action or flashy battles. It's half epic save-the-world-as-a-team story, and half exploration of how real, ordinary people would react if they suddenly found out that they had superpowers, and how this would change -- or NOT change -- their lives.

And the first season is a brilliant piece of work -- incredibly intricate and complex, since there are a dozen subplots and a lot of time travel, and a lot of exploration of the Heroes' previous lives. These complex storylines are enhanced by lots of suspense and tightly directed action, and the makers always know how to throw in a shocking twist (a sword-carrying future Hiro showing up) and some dark humour (Claire wakes up in mid-autopsy).

The second season is not quite as good -- the forcibly truncated length means that it's a bit oddly paced, and the vision-of-a-disaster-that-must-be-prevented is too similar to the first season. But it's still worth watching with all those creepy moments (such as the poison-woman with black eyeballs), and especially the malevolent Sylar.

The actors are pretty much all good -- Larter gives a great double performance, Zachary Quinto is a wonderfully twisted villain, and Panettiere gives a good performance as a teen whose adolescence has a lot more than hormones in store. Masi Oka is the standout, though -- his Hiro is sweet, endearing, geeky, heroic, sad, kindly, funny and thoroughly lovable, and grows in maturity as he works his way through the series.

The first two seasons of"Heroes" start off brilliantly and continue a bit less brilliantly, but overall it is a solid, unusual sci-fi-drama that's well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanastic Series, 27 Feb 2009
By 
Sean Bell "Rainbird" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heroes: Complete Seasons 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I never really got on the Heroes bandwagon when it started purely because I watched an episode half way through the first series, big mistake as it was quite confusing. I thought I would have learnt this lesson form previous experiences: 24, Farscape and Sopranos, all of which I watched so far into the series and was put off.

Anyway like the other series I purchased the first seasons on DVD and watched them from the start and much like 24, Farscape and Sopranos; Heroes belongs right up there. It is a very gripping series with great characters, the inter-relations between characters has been well planned and thought through and subtlety delivered.

I heard people say it was a 'poor mans'' X-Men. I'm sorry but they are idiots. This is much deeper than that and to a degree less tounge in cheek. The US continues to deliver high class tv that the BBC could learn from.

I fully recommend this to anyone who has not thought about watching this and to others umming and arghhing get the money spent and enjoy a world class tv series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Addictive Series, 4 July 2009
By 
Dismal Angel "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes: Complete Seasons 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is such a hard series to watch that in the sense, you start and it becomes very difficult to NOT want to watch the whole season in one go.

This box set was at SUCH a reasonable price compared to high street pricing and came with the two first seasons. The first season was incredibly addictive as we follow a group of normal individuals who suddenly find themselves discovering they have amazing powers just like comic book heroes.

Mohinder Suresh, a brilliant scientist, discovers that his late-father's research points towards a new breed of individuals in the world who possess a certain string of genes that give them special abilities was actually more than just a wild unproven theory. When he finds himself being tracked by a mysterious man in horned-rimmed glasses, he realises that there may be something more to his fathers crazy ramblings.

Claire, a stereotypical blonde cheerleader, finds herself feeling like an outsider after discovering she can heal up through any injury no matter how severe, while Hiro, a Japanese Trekkie who works for a large corporation is only too happy to discover he has the power to affect and change time. Isaac, a talented but heroin addicted comic-book artist, begins to realise he can paint what seems to be a horrible impending future, while the hospice nurse caring for his girlfriend's father, Peter, begins to believe that his dreams of flying are prophetic and that he actually may be able to fly, much to his brother Nathan's distress as Peter's insane claims come as he's trying to run for Mayor.

Niki, a devoted single mother struggles to make ends meet and protect her son from Gangsters she owes money to when she makes a horrifying realization that the black outs she's experiencing are the result of a split personality called Jessica who is a murderous calculating schemer. A dis-enchanted beat cop named Matt discovers he suddenly can read minds, leading him to working with the FBI to help track a maniacal serial killer by the name of Sylar.

Incidentally, it seems that the mysterious Sylar is after the "heroes", although for what, they're not exactly sure. As time goes by, they will begin to come together as Isaac paints their future for them.

The first season was explosively amazing, however, by the second season (and you can feel that this is mainly because of the writers strike that occurred around the time the series was being worked on), that things were being pushed along too quickly. The first season has over twenty hour long episodes while the second season boasts around ten-to-twelve forty-odd minute ones.

But it's worth going for this JUST for season one, and you will be hooked much on the series just as I was. It's gory, it's funny, it's action packed, it's inventive, and well thought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT Kiddie Friendly, 23 Mar 2009
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes: Complete Seasons 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Just wanted to add a small bit to the other reviews. I'd not seen any of the series and bought this set. I kept wondering if it was kiddie friendly and weather my kids would be OK to watch this as they do X-Men or Daredevil...but I'm glad I did'nt let them see it. There really are some gruesome scenes in the show. So, yes , a superb series but not family entertainment. For once, the rating is probably pretty acurate.
On another note, the actual packaging is a bit lame. It's nice to have slimline cases that dont rake up much room, but just to have them loose in a Heroes printed box stops this from getting full marks.
One more point...the unseen Pilot episode looked extremely similar to the actual pilot "Genesis", not sure what a great extra feature this is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 20 Mar 2009
By 
C. Tinkler "Tinman" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heroes: Complete Seasons 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I missed the start of series 1 when it was aired on tv, this has given me the chance to catch up! Love it! Is Great value for money and have spent many hours watching from start to finish! Can't wait for Series 3 to arrive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 17 July 2009
By 
Suze (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heroes: Complete Seasons 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
i never watched heroes on tv so when i saw it at such a bargain price on here i thought i'd give it a go since everyone at work said it was so good! Seriously, series 1 is one of the best tv shows i've ever seen - the cast a brilliant and the story is so interesting and despite the subject (people with amazing powers) they somehow manage to make it seem realistic. It also has the greatest villan ever - sylar - who you actually quite like despite him being bad! Series 2 wasn't quite so good, but i think this is due to the writers strike that took place at the time, they never really got to finish telling the story. Can't wait for series 3 to come out to see what happens to them all now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroes complete seasons 1 and 2, 11 July 2009
This review is from: Heroes: Complete Seasons 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely love this series......... so addictive and compelling, brilliant acting by all, especially the youngsters, that I have never seen before..... EXCELLENT stuff. Am now enjoying the 3rd season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see!, 11 July 2009
This review is from: Heroes: Complete Seasons 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best tv series of all time! Extraordinary. Don`t miss any of the seasons!

A taste of heroes - quotes (Season 1-3):

Sylar:- "You were right mom. I am meant to be special just like you wanted. I can be anything. I can even be President."

- "I understood it before, the killing. I had a reason--to take what others didn't deserve. It was natural selection."

- "This is usually the part when people start screaming."

- "Turns out you're the villian, Peter. I'm the hero."

- "They are out there... I can feel them."

- Dale Smither: "That sound in your heart, what is it?"
Sylar:"Murder."

- "I wasn't begging for my life. I was offering you yours."

- "That was for the haircut."

- "I believe in fate and karma and I'm not just saying that 'cause you're Indian."

Mr Bennet: -"I bet Suresh is a common name where you come from. Like Smith... or Anderson."

- "Memory is a funny thing... I think it's a blessing that you don't remember."

- "You'd be surprised what a father would do for his daughter."

Peter:- Peter: "What are you doing here?"
Hiro: "Adam Monroe killed my father...and for that, he must pay!"

- "Hey, you know what? I'm just gonna fly off the terrace yeah? No? Hey, I can fly. Nathan so can you. Tell you what. Why don't you just race around the Statue of Liberty real quick. Huh? Give this tweedy cat something to write about."
- "I just have these amazing dreams everytime I close my eyes."

- "I'm telling you, I can FLY!"

- Peter: "I already have a job."
Nathan: "Yea, watching old people die, that's a career."

- "It's my turn to be somebody now, Nathan."

Hiro: "Stop! We have come for the formula."
Daphne: "It doesn't belong to you."
Tracy: "And you are..."
Hiro: "Hiro Nakamura. It is my sacred duty to see that it is destroyed."
Tracy: (starts to leave with formula) Sorry, I've got plans for this little piece of paper, Pikachu.
Hiro: "Pikachu--?!"
(stops and turns to her)
Hiro: "Excuse me."
(punchs Tracy and takes the formula)
Daphne: "Time to go."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heroes review, 9 July 2009
By 
Richard Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heroes: Complete Seasons 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
It's one of them. You'll either love it or hate it, miss an episode and you wont know where the plots going. I loved series 1 and 2. Well worth watching, excellent value, the whole family enjoyed. Rated at 15 but no swearing whatsoever and mild scenes of violence and sex. My 13 and 10 year old boys love watching it. The human race is evolving, people are discovering that they have abilities, some can fly, time travel, flames, ice, read minds. Not the easiest show to follow but you're always left at the end of an episode with that " gotta watch the next one now"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroes, 1 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes: Complete Seasons 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
What to say, absolutely brilliant TV... waiting with baited breath for next series now the writers are back at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heroes: Complete Seasons 1 & 2 [DVD]
Heroes: Complete Seasons 1 & 2 [DVD] by Hayden Panettiere (DVD - 2008)
22.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews