Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Clean Fun
What you get in this package is the 2 disk special edition vesion of Aladdin, plus the 2 sequals.
The original Aladdin feature is a full blow Disney spectacular with now expense spared. The animation is exactly what you expect from Disney. The voice acting is excellent and the characters are great. The story is pretty much what you expect from an Aladdin based story...
Published on 26 Jan 2005 by Richard Kelly

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why!?
Alladin has been my favourite disney film for as long as I can remember, my old VHS version is a little dodgy now so I thought to get it on DVD. Then I saw the box set and it seemed like a great idea because I hadn't seen the other two. I got to watching the second film, and just couldn't believe they would put that into a trillogy box set!! It doesn't have many of the...
Published on 11 April 2009 by Chris Marlow


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Clean Fun, 26 Jan 2005
By 
Richard Kelly (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What you get in this package is the 2 disk special edition vesion of Aladdin, plus the 2 sequals.
The original Aladdin feature is a full blow Disney spectacular with now expense spared. The animation is exactly what you expect from Disney. The voice acting is excellent and the characters are great. The story is pretty much what you expect from an Aladdin based story and with Robin Williams playing the Genie you can expect a barrel of laughs. We get the standard happy ending - but with an obvious queue for a sequal, which is unusual for a Disney film. The film is very very good - Jafar is an excellent character and brings some darkness to the otherwise ideal world that the characters inhabit. The extras are quite good as well - the vitrual tour of Agrabah is quite impressive for smaller children.
The Return of Jafar starts up where Aladdin finishes. This time it's by the Disney Television people, so the standard of animation suffers. Robin Williams is also absent and the newly genie isn't quite as good. The story is pretty good though and it involves Jafar escaping from the prison he was left in at the end of the previous film.
Aladdin and the Prince of Thieves is the final film. Robin Williams comes back to do the genie again. And this time the story of the 40 thieves has been shoe horned into the Aladdin story - Aladdins father is the Prince of Thieves! We get a sort of buddy film where Aladdin and his father travel together and sort out their problems.
Overall I'm giving this 9/10 and rounding it up to 5 stars. My 4 year old daughter loves all the films, and I don't mind watching them with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. Even the second one!, 16 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Aladdin Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
I liked all three of these.

The first Aladdin movie is almost perfect, with the frenetic genie almost (thank-fully not quite) overpowering the rest of the movie. The music and songs are nice, the animation style and quality are for the most part above average, and the script is a-okay for Disnet fantasy fair. Wonderful, something for kids and adults.

The middle of the three does suffer from lower animation/production values and the lack of Robin Williams's voice for the genie I still liked it. Dan Castellaneta is a very successful voice over performer, but unfortunately doesn't have the energy of Williams. Some good lines and the sort of story that reasonably follows on from the original.

The third film is a return to excellence. The writing standards remain high, and the visuals return to high standards. Plus, Robin Williams is back (albeit with a bit less screentime) voicing the genie. Some of the plot direction is not quite where I would have chosen to take it, but overall, for the whole family it's a good round-up for the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 8 Nov 2008
By 
R. Nicolson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Aladdin Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Well the first one is. Personally Disney dvds can become hard to come by so if you haven't picked up Aladdin yet to relive those childhood memories do. Personally I picked this one up over the release with just Aladdin in as the other two movies are good, especially for Disney sequels which can be hit and miss.

The songs are still as sing-along-able and the jokes still as funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Orient, less orange, 21 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: The Aladdin Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
'Aladdin' is one of the films usually fingered by prissy critics trying to prove that Disney has vulgarised classic tales and debased the imaginations of children world-wide. But what do you see when you compare the original Aladdin story with the Disney cartoon? In the original, the hero simply gets rich by magic and wins the princess. In the Disney version, we are asked to look at the implications of Aladdin making the girl he loves think he's a Prince when he is, in fact, a street rat - and to keep up the deception, he needs to use the Genie whom he has promised to set free. Magical success comes at a price. Is that so vulgar?
In fact there seem to be two Aladdin movies contending with each other on the same disc. One is definitely vulgar and includes crass Arab jokes you're surprised they could ever get away with ('Crazy Hakim's Discount Fertiliser'), Americanised heroes and contemporary American showbiz references for those scared of anything different, a lot of ugly hyperactivity in blue and orange, and the raucous and laboured 'comedy' of the Genie and Iago the parrot, the good guy and the bad guy outdoing one another in embarrassingness. The other is magical and takes over whenever the film-makers stop trying to be contemporary and let themselves swig 70 degrees proof romantic Orientalism straight from the bottle, and particularly as soon as any of the brilliant songs starts. The composer Alan Menken is the greatest hero of the Disney revival.
The two sequels are very different in quality. Film two, The Return of Jafar, aside from a good opening sequence and one excellent song, 'Forget about Love', sung by the parrot ('Love is revolting/It's even worse than when you're moulting'), is nondescript. Film three, Aladdin and the King of Thieves, is a different matter altogether. Cleverly working in the 'Ali Baba' storyline, it introduces a wonderfully edgy and ambiguous hero/villain, the blue-cloaked, flashing-eyed King of Thieves himself. He was my 5-year-old daughter's first film heart-throb. Another good batch of songs, including the joyous opening number, 'There's a party here in Agrabah', and the villainously infectious 'Welcome to the Forty Thieves', proved that even Menken's influence could be enough.
In short, lots of fun and plenty of plot for your money. Even the TV spin-offs weren't too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All fans of Aladdin should have this!, 28 Nov 2009
By 
D. Schofield (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Aladdin Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
I only rated this as 4 star due to the price - a little pricey I thought. I bought this xmas 2008 for my daughter who was then 3. She loved it and still does, in fact we all enjoy watching the DVD's (even the grown ups)! Pictures are great and sound great. The extra bonus games are brilliant. I would recommend this trilogy set for all fans of Disney!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandsons love it, 11 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aladdin Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for our 2 Youngest Grandsons 6 and 3.
They have watched the first one twice and love it.
Have not got feed-back off the second one yet but I`m sure they will like it whatever Adults say about it.
I guess they are going to love number 3 as well.
A good buy and a good service as always from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb! Great buy, 3 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. Is Sanghar (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Aladdin Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
If you like the story of Aladdin, this trilogy is a must have!
I didnt even know there was 3 Aladdin films! All of them are great, my favourite being the original, but they are all good and fun! If you have kids, I recommend this a lot! Even if you dont have kids, this is great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aladdin Trilogy DVD 1992, 4 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Aladdin Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
The lack of one of the games mentioned in the trailers ( Flying carpet game) for the special two disc edition makes this three disc edition seem less of a bargain as my grand-daughter loves playing the games after watching the films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASTERPIECE, 8 Nov 2008
By 
R. Nicolson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well the first one is. Personally Disney dvds can become hard to come by so if you haven't picked up Aladdin yet to relive those childhood memories do. Personally I picked this one up over the release with just Aladdin in as the other two movies are good, especially for Disney sequels which can be hit and miss.

The songs are still as sing-along-able and the jokes still as funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jonathan Freeman as Jafar; Yeah!, 15 Sep 2004
In my opinion, Aladdin is the best film ever made by Disney. Some of the things that make this movie so good, beside the beautiful animation, is the wonderful songs by late Howard Ashman, Tim Rice & Alan Menken, and Menken's wonderous score (with an arabian touch). Aladdin won 2 Academy Awards because of it's brilliant music. The film has a good story, interessting characters and beautiful and funny songs.

My favourite character is the villain Jafar (the best Disney villain!), voiced by the very gifted actor/singer Jonathan Freeman. To bad that he diden't got more songs in this picture (but there are more Freeman recorded songs for Aladdin; "Why Me?" and "Humiliate the Boy"). Robin Williams as the Genie is also very funny off course, but I think Freeman's Jafar is a better character.

In The Return of Jafar, Jafar is planning revenge, as he has escaped from the lamp... In this movie Freeman has a very catchy song for Jafar, "You're Only Second Rate". (Yes, I love Freeman's performances!)

In my opinion, the last movie in the Aladdin trilogy, Aladdin and the King of Thieves, is not as good as The Return of Jafar. Perhaps because there is no Jafar in it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Aladdin Trilogy [DVD]
The Aladdin Trilogy [DVD] by John Musker (DVD - 2008)
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews