Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars33
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2009
Thought this would make a nice gift for my daughter who is a serious animal lover. The game is easy to play and was enjoyed by all- learning about animals on the way. Great product would buy more in this range!
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
Bought this for a friends sons 9th birthday and my son loved the look of it so much he put it on his birthday list. So nice to find a present that is full of facts and that liked by children to.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
Really good game for all the family, even if you do not have much knowledge of dinosaurs. Great for all age groups.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
i bought this for a present for some young children where they thoroughly enjoy the games and pictures. It took a long time to arrive and had to be reordered, but it was worth the wait for the children to enjoy it so much.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2010
Bought this game for boy aged 9yrs. who is mad about dinosaurs.It was well received and reports back are great game for all the family to play or it can be played by yourself,by letting the child read(educational)facts.Boy loves playing game,so a must for any dinsaur fans.Money well spent.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 1 February 2013
My little seven year old home-educated relative has a few of these BrainBoxes. Up until now we have had to adapt the rules quite significantly in order to prevent the sulking / hissy fits that seemed to be the inevitable consequence of her memory 'failing' and her getting a question wrong. We've been playing these games in a much more relaxed manner, allowing her to see the card throughout and asking her all eight of the questions on the back of it. Much better for the general ambience than making her feel inadequate in any way. That is, up until now.

The 'Dinosaur' BrainBox cards are among the most informative of any of the sets we have used. Each card gives you the name of a dinosaur, the pronunciation of its name and the meaning of it, a picture of the creature with some kind of idea as to its relative size, its diet, where it lived, when it lived, how much it weighed and at least one additional interesting fact about it. For anyone even remotely interested in dinosaurs this is a fabulous way in which to present data. You can even dispense with the 'game' aspect altogether and simply group the animals into categories or arrange them in geological time order. More to the point, you can bung a few cards in your pocket and whip them out anytime, any place, anywhere - which can also be pretty vital in preventing the odd random sulk / hissy fit.

Having adapted the game for the past two years purely to suit my little friend, I was both surprised and a little nervous when she confronted me the other day with one of these cards and invited me to 'ask her some questions'. That's a bit of a variation on the rules anyway, because you're supposed to memorise the data, throw a die, ask the ONE question that corresponds to that number, pocket the card if you get the answer right and then move on to the next one (or the next player), trying to collect as many as you can in ten minutes. She wanted to try her luck with the whole eight questions, without the benefit of a safety net.

I was a little reluctant, fearing the consequences if she were to get an answer wrong. However, there is obviously something particularly appealing about dinosaurs that makes it incredibly easy for kids to remember facts about them. She got 100% time and time again. When she turned the tables on me things took a rather significant turn for the worse. On the positive side though, at least it was excellent for her own self-esteem. Although by the end of it I felt like having a monumental hissy fit myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
This is a lovely game for all ages. The cards inside are really sturdy and just the right size for small and larger hands alike. Adults may think it easy until they start to play - lots of little grey cells being used. Good gift idea which is fun but they do learn something too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
would recommend this game for dinosaur fans. So i would certainly buy this again, as it is great fun. Products details are exactly right as you can play the game for as long as you want..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
As with the others in the series great fun as a game on your own or with others. Always surprised by some of the questions; annoyingly good at showing you up on the observation stakes ;-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
I saw the bears game in March and bought it for my grandson who was 4.He really enjoyed playing the game.He loves dinosaurs so although more challenging,I'm sure this will be a big hit
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)