Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than you'd expect
Too many J-horrors these days come with the same cover reviews: 'better than the ring/the grudge/dark water', etc. I expected this to be a corny attempt at cashing in, nothing more. I was wrong! It's horror, but a far cry from the slow burning creepiness of Ring or its kind; there are some deeply disturbing scenes, themes of child abuse, and the usual gruesome death, but...
Published on 29 July 2008 by Emily J. Leagas

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Killer hair?
A shipping container full of hair with a human corpse amongst all the growth is found and the body ends up in the hands of mortuary assistant Yamazaki who just happens to have a hair fetish and is delighted at finding a corpse that just keeps on growing hair.
Trainee hair stylist Yuko lives with her friend Yuki but is failing to get noticed at work and her private...
Published on 12 Aug 2009 by Mark G.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Killer hair?, 12 Aug 2009
By 
Mark G. (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXTE [DVD] (DVD)
A shipping container full of hair with a human corpse amongst all the growth is found and the body ends up in the hands of mortuary assistant Yamazaki who just happens to have a hair fetish and is delighted at finding a corpse that just keeps on growing hair.
Trainee hair stylist Yuko lives with her friend Yuki but is failing to get noticed at work and her private life is further complicated when her half sister dumps her small child on her doorstep.
Yamazaki meanwhile, sells the hair to use in extensions but of course it all goes wrong when the hair starts to attack it's new wearer.
If that all sounds a bit bizzare and strange, well that's because it is.
This isn't the best film ever but it is entertaining with a great performance by Ren Osugi who plays the eccentric Yamazaki.
And as has been stated in another review the ending is laugh out loud funny and well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than you'd expect, 29 July 2008
By 
This review is from: EXTE [DVD] (DVD)
Too many J-horrors these days come with the same cover reviews: 'better than the ring/the grudge/dark water', etc. I expected this to be a corny attempt at cashing in, nothing more. I was wrong! It's horror, but a far cry from the slow burning creepiness of Ring or its kind; there are some deeply disturbing scenes, themes of child abuse, and the usual gruesome death, but I urge you...

...WATCH IT FOR THE FINAL DEATH SCENE ALONE! you WILL fall off your chair laughing. And that's the strange thing about Exte; it's funny, and it knows it. If you're a fan of 'Im a cyborg' and quirky iptch-black humour, you'll get a kick out of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh no. Not the hair!, 20 Dec 2009
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: EXTE [DVD] (DVD)
**** slight spoilers ****

What is it that makes Japanese horror films like The Ring and The Grudge so creepy? Could it have something to do with lots of long dark hair concealing the stuff of nightmares? Just possibly. And that is what makes Exte so striking. Also striking is the powerful and very welcome presence of Chiaki Kuriyama, who has grown up from the beautiful but deadly schoolgirl in Battle Royale and Kill Bill into the beautiful young woman and it has to be said rather talented actress at the heart of this movie. The basic premise is an original one - cadavers harvested for their organs mysteriously sprout copious amounts of hair from every orifice and scar. The night watchman at the morgue (who, conveniently is an unhinged hair fetishist), harvests the hair and sells it to a hair salon, where it is woven into fashionable hair extensions (hence the Japanese term 'exte'). Unfortunately the hair takes on a life of its own.... Sounds a bit daft doesn't it? Well it is daft, cumulating in an absolute delirious finale that has to be seen to be believed! Be warned - you may well spit your tea/beer/sake out at that point! My only criticism is that Exte falls slightly between two stools in that it's not quite as nightmarish as the grand guignol horrors I referenced earlier, not is it as blackly comic as Ichi the Killer or Dororo. It is stylish enough to hold your interest though and, for me, its quirky originality and entertainment value which switches rapidly from funny peculiar to funny ha-ha, is certainly meritorious of 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your average J-horror., 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXTE [DVD] (DVD)
Shion Sono is definitely one of the best current Japanese filmmakers. In this film, he takes a fairly banal J-horror set-up and produces something both horrific and beautiful. Upon hearing about "Hair Extensions", my first thought was as if we haven't seen this a million times before "ghostly apparition with long black hair that walks funny", I was surprised that the film turned out to be quite different. It's self-referential, over-the-top, deadly serious, silly, melodramatic, funny and occasionally jaw-dropping. With social commentary. So it's messy but also quite engaging. A morgue worker discovers a corpse that keeps growing hair. He steals it in order to harvest the hair, hoping to sell it to salons. Of course, the hair is murderous. Chiaki Kuriyama, best known as the teenage girl from the Crazy 88 gang in Kill Bill, Vol. 1, stars as a hair stylist who brings some of the extensions home. This would have been terrible in most hands, but Sono is a master of suspense. There's also a lot of humor, although the villain of the picture gets to be perhaps a bit too silly in the climactic sequence. The film's creative premise and original deaths keep the viewer glued to the screen. We're also delivered some decent effects and a couple gags here and there as part of Sion Sono's style. The only problem I had with the flick involved a certain character who seemed to drag the film's pacing down quite a bit. Other than that, it's worth a check.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revenge of the killer hair extensions, 21 July 2010
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXTE [DVD] (DVD)
Better than I thought it was going to be. A woman is found dead in a shipping container containing massive amounts of human hair; unfortunately this woman was a victim of the organ harvesting trade and her vengeful locks set out to kill all those hairdressers and customers who dare to utilise her hair for extensions and the like.
Variable acting on display though I did like the autopsy woker/hair fetishist who stole the dead woman from the autopsy to keep at home and who ultimately harboured and tolerated the liberated hair pieces murderous rampages.
Some dodgy CGI on display and it did become a little bit silly at the end. I didn't find it at all spooky but there was some quite effective imagery with hair seeping out of body parts, skin abrasions, eyes etc.
Overall it was good and it's unsuprising that hair was the focal point considering how much hair features anyway in J-horror type films. Very Japanese though so some tolerance of bizarre narrative required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chaetophobics beware, 22 Oct 2009
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXTE [DVD] (DVD)
Chaetophobia is the irrational fear of hair, particularly long flowing hair, so if this in anyway describes one of your own very many (fascinating) fears avoid this film at all costs.

For me it was one of the most creatively interesting films from the J-horror genre inasmuch as it was totally original and genuinely creepy. I am not going to give away any more of the plot beside what it mentions on the box about killer hair extensions and that is killer in the literal sense of inducing mortality.
I doubt you will see such an original film this year so do yourself a favour and if you are a horror fan add this to your list right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best snip, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXTE [DVD] (DVD)
Not sure whether it is horror, a critique about body organ harvesting, film about child abuse or just exploitation. I suppose every director makes a dud. Has elements of Tetuo Iron Man but it did not cut it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You will never have extention again!, 17 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXTE [DVD] (DVD)
Very good Japanese horror movie!
With some very original scenes.
Okey killing hair sounds stupid, but it was scary enough too make you scream when you see a long black hair.
Very good acting, Very good story (Its more then only about hair)
LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars exte, 27 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXTE [DVD] (DVD)
Some dodgy acting and a crazy idea for a story, however it seems to work. Once you get past the first few minutes you find yourself getting sucked into the madness and hoping for a sticky outcome for the so called hero's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the Region 1 Edition You Wont Regret It!, 11 Aug 2011
By 
S. Clarke (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: EXTE [DVD] (DVD)
PLEASE READ ON TO SEE BREAKDOWN OF DVD CONTENTS FOR REGION 1 AND 2

This is a brilliant film. I love it so much! It's funny, dark, beautifully shot. The story is excellent. You need to see this film! It lends itself to Drama, Horror & Black Comedy.

The Film centres around wannabe hair stylist Yuko and the people around her, the girls at the salon, her abusive sister's daughter Mami, her roommate Yuki. Yuko somehow becomes engangled in the strange horror of killer hair extentions! (pun intended, sorry!). Yamazaki's strange hair fetish urges him to steal a body from the morgue as its hair grows strange things start to happen when he sells the cuts as hair extentions!

A Beautiful performance from Chiaki Kuriyama japanese Actress turned popstar! Her Supporting cast work brilliently together to create a film you will not forget in a long time. Ren Osugi's Yamazaki is a brillient portrayal of loneliness that you will warm to. Any Hikari Mitsushima fans look out for her in the scenes in the Salon, shes great!

IMPORTANT DIFFERENT DVD CONTENTS EXPLAINED:

=====EXTE UK Region 2 DVD [PAL] presented by Revolution Entertainment===

EXTE [DVD]

Single Disc

- Exte [16:9 Anamorphic, in Japanese Digital 2.0 Stereo with English Subtitles]
- Chapter Selection

[I found that this disc would not play without a lot of noise from the driver in my Sony PS3 and also rather alot of driver noise from my Panasonic BluRay player... On a more positive note the disc plays smoothly and quietly on a cheap Alba DVD player I have kicking around]

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

=====HAIR EXTENSIONS (EXTE) US Region 1 DVD [NSTC] presented by Tokyo Shock=====

[ [ASIN: B0018JKLT2 Hair Extensions [DVD] ]

Double Disc Special Edition (Comes with Metalic Design Card Sleeve wrap for dvd box)

Disc One
-Exte [1.85:1 Anamorphic, Audio in 2.0 and 5.1 in both Japanese and English(American Dubbed), Subtitles in English (Optional)]
-Chapter Selection
-Film Trailer
-Tokyo Shock Trailers

Disc Two
-Behind The Scenes Featurette
-Deleted Scenes (2 scenes between Yuko and her boss)
-Music Video (Yamazaki's 'My Hair' full music video)
-TV Spots

[This presentation of the film is the better of the two, special features like the behind the scenes and the music video make it a must purchase for fans of the film! Please remember this is a Region 1 DVD though so needs to played back on a Region 1 or Multi Region Player]

-------------------------------------------------------
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

EXTE [DVD]
EXTE [DVD] by Shion Sono (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: 2.57
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews