Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent family fun
My 9 and 13 year old love this game, they play it as a team so if there are 2 playing they get 20 secs to look at card then I ask alternate questions, passing to the other if the first doesn't know answer.Makes a great change from seeing them on the ps3!!
Published on 6 Dec 2009 by Einir Thomas

versus
69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing purcahse
History Brainbox is the fifth game we have bought. The others have been excellent in every way, and totally enjoyable. This one is disappointing due to number of errors on the cards. No big deal if you are playing for fun, but not so good if you expect educational value.

A sample of errors include a Lancaster bomber in the Battle of Britain, and 58,000 soldiers...
Published on 4 Oct 2010 by Barnard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing purcahse, 4 Oct 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BrainBox - British History (Toy)
History Brainbox is the fifth game we have bought. The others have been excellent in every way, and totally enjoyable. This one is disappointing due to number of errors on the cards. No big deal if you are playing for fun, but not so good if you expect educational value.

A sample of errors include a Lancaster bomber in the Battle of Britain, and 58,000 soldiers killed on the first day of the Battle of Somme. The illustration of British soldiers uniform in green is also a novelty. In the 100 years war, an english king in full armour with heraldic dress is labelled as a french soldier. The omission of Agincourt from the card may not be an error, but does seem curious. And did Shakespeare really write books, or plays?

If you don't mind the errors, go and buy, it is a challenging and fun game. But for us its a shame that the manufacturers did not do their homework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent family fun, 6 Dec 2009
By 
Einir Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BrainBox - British History (Toy)
My 9 and 13 year old love this game, they play it as a team so if there are 2 playing they get 20 secs to look at card then I ask alternate questions, passing to the other if the first doesn't know answer.Makes a great change from seeing them on the ps3!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed, 1 Feb 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BrainBox - British History (Toy)
We were looking forward to receiving this game as it was a 'late Christmas present' and as we love History hoped it would help build up our knowledge.

Whilst the game is quite good fun it is a bit thin on actual historical questions. Most of the questions revolve around observation of the picture on the front eg is Robin Hood wearing a hat? and on Margaret Thatcher - 'is Margaret Thatcher wearing earrings?'

Good for improving memory and observation skills, with some interesting facts, but not as educational as it could be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quick fun game, 29 Dec 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BrainBox - British History (Toy)
quick fun game, can be played with as many people as you want for as long as you want. Kids might even learn a few facts whilst playing, which is a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History in a box, 8 April 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BrainBox - British History (Toy)
I bought this game for my 9 year old grandaughter who adores history. The game is easy to follow, you can use it by yourself or with friends. My grandaughter is learning as she plays! Will buy more in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brainbox history - a triumph!, 7 Nov 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BrainBox - British History (Toy)
An inspired decision to purchase Brainbox History - the recipient loved it. This is the second Brainbox given to the same child as a gift (the first was animals)and I have been left in no doubt as to what W wants for Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for the whole family, 7 Jan 2010
By 
J. Lapham (Penzance) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BrainBox - British History (Toy)
Played this with "kids" aged 10-40 and ended up in fits of giggles. Now the youngest is asking for the other boxes too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9514juliem, 28 Jan 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BrainBox - British History (Toy)
WOW what a fantastic game. My daughters were very impressed. It is a fun memory game which can be played by a group or solo. You can choose how long you wish to play for and will also help your childs concentration and memory skills. We were so impressed that we bought another 4 brainbox games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite games, 24 May 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BrainBox - British History (Toy)
I bought this game for my seven year old daughter and the first time we played it we loved it. It was such good fun we are going to buy some different ones. It just proves that learning can be fun. We love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for memory, 26 Jan 2011
By 
chocolate fairy (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BrainBox - British History (Toy)
I was recommended these Brainbox games by my 8 year old son's school to help him with his visual and memory skills (he suffers from dyslexia). He really enjoys it although to avoid frustration we allow him double the amount of time to look at the card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BrainBox - British History
BrainBox - British History by The Green Board Game Co.
7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews