Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic
I used this CD to help me with my music quizzes. It's got some classic tracks on, many of which I'd not heard for years. It was well worth the money.
Published on 6 April 2009 by Leonie N. Prime

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like the New Seekers? Watch out for a dodgy remake!
Considering this album is released by the mighty Sony BMG you'd think they'd get it right. Alas, not all tracks are the original hit recordings. There's an awful version of "You Won't Find Another Fool Like Me" by the New Seekers, though the insert says it's from 1973 it seems that a remake was supplied and quality control (if it exists these days) didn't notice...
Published on 31 Dec 2009 by Al


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like the New Seekers? Watch out for a dodgy remake!, 31 Dec 2009
By 
Al (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 70's Dinner Party (Audio CD)
Considering this album is released by the mighty Sony BMG you'd think they'd get it right. Alas, not all tracks are the original hit recordings. There's an awful version of "You Won't Find Another Fool Like Me" by the New Seekers, though the insert says it's from 1973 it seems that a remake was supplied and quality control (if it exists these days) didn't notice.

Grrrr!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 6 April 2009
By 
Leonie N. Prime (High Peak, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 70's Dinner Party (Audio CD)
I used this CD to help me with my music quizzes. It's got some classic tracks on, many of which I'd not heard for years. It was well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabby!, 24 Sep 2008
By 
Kathryn Reynolds (Nottingham, U K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 70's Dinner Party (Audio CD)
I love this album. The best 70's album I've heard. The tracks blend together so well. I remember putting these old 45's on my record deck. Whoever put these together deserves to be congratulated each track follows the last perfectly, no bad apples here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational 70s set of CDs!, 8 July 2008
This review is from: 70's Dinner Party (Audio CD)
The great thing about this set is that it surprises you from one track to the next. At least 3 of the tracks (Raffaella Carra, Drupi and New Edition) have never appeared on CD before. If you are a fan of 70s music, this collection is a must have buy and would indeed be a perfect accompaniment to a 70s dinner party! Fondue anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheese, cheese, cheese :-), 14 Oct 2008
This review is from: 70's Dinner Party (Audio CD)
Brill album, so many winners on there :-) takes me back to a carefree time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brill album, 25 July 2008
This review is from: 70's Dinner Party (Audio CD)
This item is a must for fans of the 70's. I bought this because i still own the original vinyl 45's,and they are getting abit worn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE VERY FINEST CHEESE..., 28 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 70's Dinner Party (Audio CD)
Despite owning some of these tracks already on other CDs, I loved the theme behind this compilation and so bought it anyway.

Born in 1978, I don't remember the '70s but sometimes wish I could go back there, and listening to this album makes that seem almost possible. Beneath the layers of cheese coating the likes of Demis Roussos' 'Forever And Ever', Telly Savalas' chart-topping rendition of 'If' and the corny Euro-pop of Baccara's 'Yes Sir, I Can Boogie', there really are some lovely records on here, each one recalling a time that in reality probably wasn't all that innocent but which seems more fun and carefree than the present day all the same. Guys And Dolls' 'There's A Whole Lot of Loving', Minnie Riperton's 'Lovin' You', Sally Oldfield's 'Mirrors' and an untypically mellow Bonnie Tyler singing the lilting 'Lost In France' are just a few of the gems on here.

Listening to this good value three-disc set will make those of a certain age want to re-lay the shagpile carpet, dust-off their bell bottoms, tear open a few packets of Angel Delight and invite a few friends over for an unashamedly nostalgic evening.

Go on, you know you want to...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must buy, 7 Feb 2009
By 
L. A. Claybrough "mother of two" (Pontefract, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 70's Dinner Party (Audio CD)
fantastic value, sing and dance for hours with this cd, takes me back to my school days wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dig out your fondue..., 16 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: 70's Dinner Party (Audio CD)
Magic, From New York To L.A., Lost In France, Chanson D'Amour, Love To Love You Baby - 3 CD's of 70's cheesy gems feature here and it's a great collection with all (bar one) of the tracks being the original single version.

Demis Roussos, Barry Manilow, Tom Jones, Dana, New Seekers, Dolly Parton, Crystal Gayle... ELO, Kiki Dee, Chicago, 10cc, Sad Cafe - the diverse cast and track list writes this review for itself.

Yes there are a few bummers - Telly Savalas anyone - but they provide a giggle while the gems shine through - Substitute from Clout, Dancing In The City from Marshall Hain, Never Let Her Slip Away from Andrew Gold...

Children of the 70's could put this on and not have to skip a track and while many other compliations feature the same old songs, this triple effort includes some favourites that don't often appear which makes it additionally entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 17 Sep 2010
By 
A. Mepham (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 70's Dinner Party (Audio CD)
This CD is just what it says on the tin. Its perfect for background and yet its lovely to have louder later on, and everyone knows at least one of the songs, (most of us know lots of them) and its just a great CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae1c1b4c)

This product

70's Dinner Party
70's Dinner Party by Various (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews