Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weezers most versatile album yet!
This album is great, I know everyone has their opinions, but this is my own opinion. As a Weezer fan from 1996, this album has every single band member singing and writing on at least one tune together (respectively.)

Now, track one is Troublemaker and it gives an impression of old school Weezer, with catchy lyrics and clever hooks, this is a good opener. Track...
Published on 24 Feb. 2010 by C. Mcbride

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Limper Biscuit
I'm flummoxed as to why other reviews are calling this album 'experimental', to me it just sounds like a concept album about the life of a nu-metal musician done in an appropriate style. So, clever. But not that listenable unless you like that sort of thing. As usual there's some good lyrical turns but it mostly sounds very dated and not as fun as they have the potential...
Published on 30 Jun. 2012 by E. J. Reed


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weezers most versatile album yet!, 24 Feb. 2010
By 
C. Mcbride "Conal" (Meigh, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Weezer (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
This album is great, I know everyone has their opinions, but this is my own opinion. As a Weezer fan from 1996, this album has every single band member singing and writing on at least one tune together (respectively.)

Now, track one is Troublemaker and it gives an impression of old school Weezer, with catchy lyrics and clever hooks, this is a good opener. Track two is The Greatest Man That Ever Lived, to me this is Weezer mixing a lot of genres into one tune. Great to sing to as it bears a sound similar to that of The Beach Boys. Track three is their comeback single Pork And Beans. This particular number is a great one as it continues on from the great lyrical genius of Rivers Cuomo. Track four is Heart Songs and this is a bit of an ode to a list of artists of which has influenced frontman Rivers from early life to this point, listing the likes of Bruce Springsteen and Joan Baez in the process. Track five is Everyone Get Dangerous and this tune has got its kicks from both Rivers and bandmate Brian Bell and cheekily gives you a taste of Rolling Stones' Sympathy For The Devil.

Now on to track six and this clever little tune sounds like something that could be included on Pinkerton and has great driving melodies and hooks. Track seven Thought I Knew is a nice little acoustic tune of which guitarist Brian Bell wrote and sang on as Brian sings 'Sorry about my past life, sorry but we just missed'. Track eight is (in my opinion) Weezer's darkest song and quite ironically named Cold Dark World. This little tune was co-written by Weezer bassist Scott Shriner and lead vocalist Rivers Cuomo and it is quite the cool tune if one wants to hear a darker Weezer. Track number nine is Automatic and this tune was written by Weezers drummer Pat Wilson and is a relitively catchy tune with Pat taking up vocal duties. To finalise this, track ten is The Angel And The One and this concludes an epic album in its own right, a song written by main lyricist Rivers and it stands out being the longest tune on the album

Quite simply a great album by Weezer 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Weezer, you'll LOVE most of this, 13 July 2008
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Weezer (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
Or the "Red Album" if you're losing track as this is the third self-titled Weezer album out of six. It's also the first since the debut (the Blue Album for those keeping track) to see Rivers Cuomo slightly loosen his autocratic leading of the band to let his bandmates show us their own songwriting chops.

Things didn't seem all that promising at first; not only were there rumours that this album was to see a highly experimental Weezer but record label Geffen were apparently of the opinion that the album didn't have any hits on it. The result was Pork and Beans, the album's lead single and one written entirely as a sly knock to the label's opinions. "Timbaland knows the way to reach the top of the charts" sneers Cuomo, "maybe if I work with him I can perfect the art". Ironically, of course, it turned out to be Weezer's biggest American hit in years.

Long-term Weezer fans are certainly catered for here; alongside Pork and Beans the likes of Troublemaker are the catchy pop nuggets you've come to love.

That said, there are definite departures from what you might expect. Heartsongs, which sees Cuomo list the songs and artists that have shaped his musical identity may eventually "rock out" but it's lilting and saccharine sounds take some getting used to. Nothing I write could amply explain The Greatest Man That Ever Lived (Variations On A Shaker Hymn) to you but if you imagine six minutes of sonic eccentricity that takes in such different musical styles as metal, hip-hop, male voice choir, folk and glam rock then you get some idea of the huge scale we're talking about. More amazingly, it's a catchy track too.

Of the band members contributions, I Thought I Knew is passable, but nowhere near becoming a Weezer classic, Cold Dark World is plodding and only drummer Patrick Wilson's Automatic comes close to matching the best of what Cuomo can deliver.

Naturally, the "Red Album" is no Pinkerton (still Weezer's finest collective moment for me) but, to put it into perspective, it's nowhere near the disappointment that was Maladroit. It might not convert to many new listeners to Weezer, but those of us that have been with them for over a decade will find much to enjoy on this fine collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A treat: weezer has grown musically - and become even better, 4 July 2008
By 
Bjorn Clasen (Rollengergronn, Luxembourg, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Weezer (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
'The Red Album' is weezer's masterpiece so far. Don't let it fool you that the opener 'Troublemaker' is an archetype of the dynamic and melodic power rock known so well from earlier releases, 'cause what follows adds new and surprising dimensions to weezer's style. The second track 'The Greatest Man That Ever Lived (Variations On A Shaker Hymn)' plays with the surprised but spoiled listener in its style variations based on the same rough yet harmonious theme and is, in my opinion, not only weezer's best composition ever, but no less than one of the most surprising, catchiest and simply... best rock songs released in years!

Yes, you read right: weezer goes from straight-forward melodic rock craftmanship to boasting out their musical talents in touching semi-epic progressive rock. From the 3-minute outbursts, they even dabble with songs twice as long. The other - brillliant - example is 'The Angel And The One'.

Before these highlights on an overall treat, it is almost relieving to give your concentration a break with the average 'Thought I Knew' and 'Cold Dark World', which surprisingly have found their way to the standard version, contrary to the sweet, almost symphonic 'Pig', the country rock style 'The Weight' or a more than decent cover of Talk Talk's 'Life's What You Make It', featured on the UK Edition. If you can get your hands on this release, or even better the Deluxe Edition, it is worth the search and the investment, as all of its tracks are wonderful and each has its own unique soul.

But even if not, weezer's Red Album is a gift to the rock public, proving courage and an unexpected maturity from a band that has so far not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alternative Rock at it's experimental best!, 2 July 2008
By 
J. Ody (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Weezer (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
Weezer are one of those bands that stand out on their own, quite happy to mix it up with different musical styles over an Indie-Alternative-Rock backbone. Personally I got into the band on the back of Weezer's first of their 3 eponymous albums (with this one being the third) that have an unspoken subtitle of colours (`94's Blue album; 01's Green album; and this one the Red album). In 1994 the rock scene had changed from Party-Rock to Grunge, and whilst the likes of The Offspring and Green Day were starting to make waves to stardom, it was also Weezer who grabbed my attention with what used to be known as Geek-Rock, but was a slightly Harder Indie-Rock with a few Beach Boys-esque harmonies (in Britain we had Silver Sun), and their breakthrough single, `Buddy Holly' was over played everywhere.

So here we are with the Red album and I am pleasantly surprised that it both plays nicely along side the Blue and Green album (and of course the band's otheres), whilst still having a fresh mix of songs. First song, `Troublemaker' is a quick and catchy Pop-Rock number that has chunky riffs and the ability to stick into your brain straight away. This then goes straight to the longer and more complex song, `The Greatest Man That Ever Lived' which is slightly Prog-Theatrical-Rock in the different changes of tempo and melodies, starting from big riffs, before switching to a marching band, then a piano and vocal part, before chugging guitars carry on. This is where people will say that this is a show of the band's maturity, however I think that this says more abut the creativity of the band, and how sometimes they let their collective muse get pissed and go on a rampage with excellent results.

I don't need to go into `Pork And Beans' as it's the first single off of the album and so is bound to have been played loads on the radio and television music stations by the time you read this. It's another catchy and totally Weezer-like song with harmonies and fuzzy guitar riffs. Good stuff. Next is a gentle and slow song in, `Heart Songs' which sounds very much like Red Hot Chilli Peppers in the slow melodic guitar and Rivers' gentle voice as he sings about his music influences like, Quiet Riot, Iron Maiden, Debbie Gibson and Michael Jackson. Then in `Everybody Get Dangerous' we have a more funky Red Hot Chilli Peppers in the verse before a rocking catchy chorus.

Now, `Dreamin'' does take me right back to the Blue album as it sits there with it's arms snugly around tracks like, `Undone- The Sweater Song' and `Holiday'. Then we have the rest of the band getting involved in the writing of the songs. Firstly guitarist Brian Bell wrote and sings his way through, `Thought I Knew' which is a middle-of-the-road rock song, then bassist Scott Shriner co-wrote, `Cold Dark World' whist drummer Pat Wilson writes and sings on the `70's influenced, `Automatic' which is a great chunky and meaty number that has a nice raw edge to it. The last original song is the epic, `The Angel And The One' which is a slow and thoughtful number that starts off gentle and rips into a raw power-ballad of a song.

The last two songs are covers, the first being the great Folk-Rock of `The Weight' which was originally done by The Band and always sounds a little like, `Lodi' by Creedence Clearwater Revival, before the slightly Psychedelic fuzzbox Rock of, `Life Is What You Make it' originally done by Talk Talk.

It's been said before that Rivers Cuomo is a little bit cuckoo, and that at times the engine is running but there is no one behind the wheel, however whatever your feelings on his mental state, there is no denying that he is a musical genius, and once again Weezer have produced an album that not only is very good, but is also very hard to pigeon hole again.

It's funny how one of the purveyors of Geek Rock are now more Jock-mixed-with-Stoner Rock! In between the colours albums we've also had, `Pinkerton' (96), `Maladriot' (02) and `Make Believe' (05), and whilst the Red album is a little more complex than previous albums there is nothing here that Weezer fans won't be scared by, and more so a little more depth suggesting that they have fully let their proverbial hair down. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amaing album, 28 Jun. 2008
By 
This review is from: Weezer (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
Awhile back i bought The Blue Album (Deluxe Edition) to see what it was like and it was awesome. The other day i was watching tv and i saw the song Pork And Beans and i loved so i immediatly downloaded this edition and it was amazing. I love every song on this album. This is an awesome rock album by Weezer. If you're a Weezer fan and have heard Pork And Beans then buy the deluxe edition. I'll be buying that edition when i have the money. Deffinetly an album worth buying for any fan of music. You just dont find that many rock bands like this anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy the Deluxe Edition !!!!, 20 Jun. 2008
By 
This review is from: Weezer (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
Attention all weezer fans
dont even contemplate spending £9 on this when the deluxe version is only £13
the extra tracks are worth £13 on their own!!!!

GO BUY THE DELUXE VERSION

Apart than that its another classic Weezer Albulm
highlights being ..... well all of them really but especially the bonus tracks
PIG,THE SPIDER & KING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect!, 28 Sept. 2009
By 
J. G. Vd Warenburg (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weezer (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
For some reason I never noticed Weezer. So when a friend told me this group is really good I listened. And I was flabbergasted. I think I heard the cd until now some 50 times and I am still excited. Afterward I bought other Weezer cd's, but to me this is the best. Fresh, rough, and melodic music. Shred them again in november (2009), boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once you've bought a Weezer cd, you have to have them all!, 15 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Zeewolde, The Netherldands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weezer (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
I am a huge Weezer fan and this just has to be in my collection. Great cd from a great band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Limper Biscuit, 30 Jun. 2012
By 
E. J. Reed - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Weezer (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
I'm flummoxed as to why other reviews are calling this album 'experimental', to me it just sounds like a concept album about the life of a nu-metal musician done in an appropriate style. So, clever. But not that listenable unless you like that sort of thing. As usual there's some good lyrical turns but it mostly sounds very dated and not as fun as they have the potential to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Weezer (The Red Album)
Weezer (The Red Album) by Weezer (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews