Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not quite what I was expecting!
I did enjoy this album, but I have to be honest, it wasn't quite what I was expecting! After reading other reviews and some interviews with the band (who seem VERRRY weird and subversive!) I was expecting something a lot edgier, more challenging and difficult. And while there is the occasional strange wig-out and the vocals are often quite harsh and dischordant, large...
Published on 4 Mar 2009 by Mr. C. Day

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, fine, not bad. But-
This is a curious album. On the whole it's got some reasonably good light housey/electro tunes, with a distinctive French disco influence. It's not a revolution in music, it won't blow your mind and make you re-consider everything you know to be music - but it's not bad as background music. If someone had recorded this in 2005, it might have been brilliant...
Published on 30 Jan 2009 by Peter Ritchie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not quite what I was expecting!, 4 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. C. Day "christopher-day" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crystal Castles (Audio CD)
I did enjoy this album, but I have to be honest, it wasn't quite what I was expecting! After reading other reviews and some interviews with the band (who seem VERRRY weird and subversive!) I was expecting something a lot edgier, more challenging and difficult. And while there is the occasional strange wig-out and the vocals are often quite harsh and dischordant, large parts of the album are fairly conventional melodic electronica, and really quite gentle at that, you could almost say ambient! In fact, I was sometimes reminded of Aphex Twin's 'Selected Ambient Works Volume 1', or of Boards of Canada during their more upbeat, melodic moments - especially because of their similar use of vocal samples. Not that there's anything wrong with that at all, just, as I said, not quite what I was expecting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Discordant electronica, 13 April 2008
By 
R. A. Langham "Rob Langham" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crystal Castles (Audio CD)
I have been waiting for this album for a while since the track "Air War" was included on a Rough Trade compilation from a couple of years ago. The Toronto duo have turned out a fascinating clutch of songs which reminds one of the best of leftfield electronica of the past thirty years. There are scrappy, distorted tracks such as "Alice Practice" that evokes a saturday afternoon in an amusement arcade and then there are smooth, haunting recordings such as the six minute "Magic Spells" and the single "Crimewave". Definitely a band to take notice of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, fine, not bad. But-, 30 Jan 2009
By 
Peter Ritchie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crystal Castles (Audio CD)
This is a curious album. On the whole it's got some reasonably good light housey/electro tunes, with a distinctive French disco influence. It's not a revolution in music, it won't blow your mind and make you re-consider everything you know to be music - but it's not bad as background music. If someone had recorded this in 2005, it might have been brilliant.

Unfortunately, it seems that an insane woman (possibly an ex, she seems very angry) has broken into the studio at nights and screamed over a few of the songs. Whether the three songs affected were left in by accident as nobody at the record company noticed, or they were included for some sort of post-something art expression, I'm not sure. Either way, if you delete the mp3s of the songs the album becomes a surprisingly bearable listen.

Also, someone seems to have mistakenly added a bit of DFA1979 to the end of the first song, but it sounds good nonetheless.

How curious indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for a while but far too long, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Mr_Thyroid (newport pagnell, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crystal Castles (Audio CD)
Crystal Castles' music is reminiscent of old 8 bit computer game music punctuated by vocals that are in equal parts angry and intense, and soft and melodic. The first 6 tracks play out really well, changing pace and tone with each track. Sadly however this album is far too long and 8 tracks follow that are mere filler and I begin to feel as if they have run out of ideas. Then follows track 15 which is a brighter and more in keeping with the first part of the album. Finally comes track 16 which is a welcome change and for the first time we hear some soft guitar.

In short, there is enough on here to make a very good 10 track album but unfortunately it outstays its welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crystal Castles (Audio CD)
Great album, love every song, very good price and it came one day earlier than i expected, a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you like drinking electricity or the cabs this is for you, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crystal Castles (Audio CD)
totally love this album went straight out and got the other two
brilliant a fantastic mix of crazy beats and electronic wizardry
compared with some of the stuff thats out there this group should be massive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One to tap your feet to, 24 Dec 2012
By 
Barry Cross - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crystal Castles (Audio CD)
The Castles are great and this is a good place to get to know them. However, iii is much superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: Crystal Castles (Audio CD)
Came across a few tracks on Youtube recently, and loved them so much I bought 2 albums :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique and enjoyable dance collection, 20 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crystal Castles (Audio CD)
I first heard about Crystal Castles through brilliant teenage drama Skins where after a traumatic incident involving one of the character's fathers, he was caught up in an emotional battle that was escalating and when in a club Crystal Castles' Alice Practice played and the mixed used of lyrics fused together with such an emotional storyline made the moment and music memorable and me, not particularly aware of such a diverse electro dance group, decided to check out this album and was not disappointed in the slightest.

This 2008 album collates tracks of various tones and meanings. From that enigmatic hard hitter to the slowly paced but verbally eccentric `Magic Spells' The Castles have tackled different styles with their funky outlook to music. What is striking is their ability to convey such strong meanings through using difficult to interpret vocals along with slow and fast moving rhythms and instruments, juxtaposing significant elements to generate a vibrant and unique flavour of music. I certainly have never heard such a band and after enjoying this collection pursued more similar stylings but for me, this was where it all started and the American duo have yet to be topped.

`Untrust us' is an unusual searching sound which is followed by Alice Practice, the shouty hard hitter that seems to get better with every listen. `Courtship dating' is a knockout an unusual almost positive sounding track that when I googled the lyrics left my eyebrows raised. An unusual antidote to the premature outlook on self harm, if you can call the song that. There are many meanings to gather from their collection and another reason I love this band is because they are very hard to pin point and generalize because they are so various with their choices in sounds, lyrics and purposes, and these reasons, among many more, are worth checking this album out.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bouncy Castle Bohemians, 21 Feb 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crystal Castles (Audio CD)
Imagine this.

Imagine a time when our inveterate need to compare became less important
than sitting back in our easiest chair and listening without prejudice.

Sometimes the smallest things can be the best.

Crystal Castles defy logic and design in delivering these
sixteen extraordinarily compact little pieces to our door.

Ms Glass and Mr Kath are to be congratulated for both their vision
and economy in keeping this album tightly focussed and contained.

The buoyant rhythms are lovably naive, deceptively simple and thoroughly intriguing.
Sometimes delicate, sometimes blisteringly violent . Always interesting.
The vocal arrangements are elusive, ambiguous and strangely affecting.

Despite it's willful perversity there is, nonetheless, a finely honed pop
sensibility running all the way through the project like a golden seam.

Highlights include the joyful bouncy castle wonder that is 'Courtship Dating';
the bizarrely moving 'Knights'; the cheeky duck and bleep of 'Air War' and
the gently rolling wizardry of 'Magic Spells'.

Refreshingly uncompromising.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crystal Castles
Crystal Castles by Crystal Castles (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews