Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars19
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2012
I agree that some of these wonderful films have been released before in different formats but I think it's great to find them all on one reasonable priced DVD. But the one that stands out for me is All That Mighty Heart. For those of us Londoner's of a sertain age this is pure nostalgia and is worth of the price of the DVD on it's own. Don't understand the reviewer who said this film is narrated, it isn't and doesn't need it, the film tells the story.
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
If you are looking to showcase London Transport (now: "Transport for London") and looking at history and glimpses into the sixties and seventies, with one example then you are well advised to buy this DVD:

It contains "All that mighty heart" 1964: and you get guided by a narrator (the "old fashioned way") through various aspects of London's public Transport. You see old buses, rolling stock and interesting old back drops and can compare how 50 years of building have transformed London.

There is also "London on the move (1970)", again about the bus and tube, "The Nine Road (1976), a feature about the No.9 buses. Then the "newest" film "Moving London (1983)" and this is another narrative, describing the 50 years 1933-1983 and how London Transport has developed.
Finally, there is "London Ride (1972), and this specifically was a promotion for the sight seeing tours, departing Victoria and Piccadilly Circus.

For historian and public transport lover alike, this DVD - especially at the price (I paid under £7 with my student discount - date 14 Sep 2011) is a great addition.
0Comment23 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
I see no point in rating this DVD so badly just because its films have been released before. This is a great collection of well produced films dealing with London's transport between 1964 and 1983. I thoroughly enjoyed it all and found it to be good value. Strongly recommended for those with an interest in transport or in London itself during those years.
22 comments20 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 February 2012
This compilation represents the best collection of London Transport films I have yet found on DVD. Superbly reproduced, quality masters ensure that each film is a masterpiece in its' own right. It is interesting to note the way that London has changed since these films were made - both in terms of the city itself and the mix of the people who inhabit and frequent it. The Routemaster bus is featured large here, rightly so, but I found it incredible just how long the Routemaster had been around without seeming to age - unlike me. For anyone that's interested by the transport system of London there's something here for you. If you grew up in London or its' suburbs in the 50s or 60s, then you'll love it for the nostalgia. I found that once I had started to watch the disk, then I had to watch it right through - it's that kind of stuff!

I sincerely hope that the publishers are working on Volume 2 - meantime this is the best slice of LT that I've found and is worth every penny.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2012
This is one of the best 'nostalgia' dvds I have watched, providing a fascinating glimpse into a simpler time. The primitive technology used to keep track of the progress of the buses was interesting to see, and it provided an explanation of how and why we so often had to put up with the infuriating "All change please and get on the bus behind" experience. Was this the first known use of the now familiar barcodes? As is so often the case with films and documentaries of the period, it is rather startling to see how much smoking occured in those days compared to now, and how many advertisements there were for 'smokes' on the street and buses. Interesting, too, to see how much more ethnically diverse London has become.
The quality is good considering the age of the material. The Round London Sightseeing segment, though, adds nothing to the viewing experience and compares poorly to the other chapters, and a little effort could surely have put into editing out some of the repeated segments in the silent chapter, interesting though that was. But overall, this is highly recommended.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
If you are frantic to see "London Ride" by all means buy this. But the other four, plus many more, are available on the BFI's London Transport DVD Vol 10 "London on the Move". Same price as of March 9. BFI quality is unassailable.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
This dvd shows London life in the sixties with video of a day in the life of the capital. It has excerpts of the sporting events on that day, test match, wimbledon etc. A nostalga trip for us who remember the sixties and a wake up call to those who can't.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
This dvd is really good for anyone studing history of london or is interested in london tran transport. Or is just interested in buses in general
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
This is a wonderful collection and all that Mighty Heart is a feeling of a time gone by that I for one wish it hadn't, lovely
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Excellent DVD for what my enquiring mind required - goes back into history and that was just what I required.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Make the most of your London Trip, Save on Transport in London - more