Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5--Going home is not always a vacation....,
"Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins," one of the better recent efforts from the funny wing of Black Hollywood. (It is certainly better than "First Sunday.") The film is written and directed by Malcolm D. Lee, who directed but did not write the hilarious 2002 film "Undercover Brother." Lee definitely has some jokes in this one--especially involving canine love--but it seems...
Published on 27 Sep 2008 by Jenny J.J.I.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad overall
The written reviews on amazon regarding this dvd were about right. The overall movie was very good with some very funny parts. My only negative comment was that at times the story line seemed to drag slighty however the dvd is still worth watching.
Published on 2 Dec 2009 by Mr. K. Charles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5--Going home is not always a vacation....,, 27 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins [DVD] (DVD)
"Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins," one of the better recent efforts from the funny wing of Black Hollywood. (It is certainly better than "First Sunday.") The film is written and directed by Malcolm D. Lee, who directed but did not write the hilarious 2002 film "Undercover Brother." Lee definitely has some jokes in this one--especially involving canine love--but it seems likely that the film's comedic quartet offered some choice jokes to the script and fed off of each other, upping the comedic ante as they went along.

Roscoe (Martin Lawrence), is a talk show host who is depicted as a decent but ambitious man who revels in the celebrity life he shares with his fiancé, Bianca Kittles (Joy Bryant). As a winner of the television show, "Survival," Bianca has transferred all the driven, maniacal aspects of her personality needed for that win to her day-to-day life. In a very L.A. sort of way, not seen on screen since perhaps Robin Givens played several roles as a Black man eater, Bianca keeps her world on a tight leash of accomplishment. She knows exactly what she wants, how she is going to get it and what is clearly unacceptable in her realm of the high life.

Sure, Bianca's depiction is extreme--women are sort of thrown under the bus in this one--but the men don't come off looking much better. Martin Lawrence, Mike Epps and Cedric the Entertainer compete with Mo'Nique to be the sorriest and funniest of them all when they all gather in the South for a wedding anniversary celebration for Roscoe's parents. Down home, the successful Roscoe finds himself at the center of the, by now, stock story of the rich Black relative who comes home and has to deal with his relatives who are either ghetto (Mo'Nique), country (Cedric the Entertainer), broke and/or walking around with a loose screw (Mike Epps). The ways that the dysfunctional rich fit perfectly into this odd stew help to make this film funny in surprising ways. Another thing that works is the individual funny that each comedian brings to their role.

The final element that "Roscoe" has going for it is the fact that, unlike some movies, its storyline is not laughable. It actually makes sense and, despite the comedy, the script makes all the characters very human--flawed, but human. There is even some romance thrown into the mix that allows Nicole Ari Parker to once again play the role of the sweetheart. At the corners of ruckus--the obstacle course competitions, the predictable slapstick and overwrought throw-downs--the movie sets aside a few minutes to showcase rowdy exchanges among the veteran comics, passed through a PG-13 filter. Recommend to fans of the likes of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins [DVD] (DVD)
Very good quality, excellent would recommend it to friends and family. We really enjoyed it was wonderful. Just what we needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins [DVD] (DVD)
A Funny and feel good movie, would recommend to friends. Great performances from all - very similar to other plots, but still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious film, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins [DVD] (DVD)
At first I thought that this was another movie made out of desperation, but it is actually really funny. Another classic by Martin Lawrence.

I will not say more, just sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny film., 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins [DVD] (DVD)
I haven't seen the movie before but it's pretty funny, it's kinda of like Johnson family vacation and I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars 12 RATING???, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins [DVD] (DVD)
I a woman and a mother that is noticing that many "family" movies are getting more bold in displaying sexual content and the use of strong language that is suitable for people above the age of 15. I bought this movie hoping to have a fun evening with my family expecting a good laugh but I was left apologizing for the profanity and sexual innuendo displayed. It was too much and because of this, I was no longer interested in connecting with the great cast and good story. A thumbs down!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant side splitting comedy.
With Def comedy Jam's funnest comedians and the others actors just as funny, this has got to be a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny! Hilarious!, 17 Aug 2013
By 
Marion Williams (Tottenham, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins [DVD] (DVD)
Oh My Gosh!!!! Martin Lawrence.... Funny guy! A great movie... has a great line-up of actors/ actresses... Has some comical as well as some serious scenes... Not recommended for the under 15yrs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins [DVD] (DVD)
Really laugh my head off when watching with my kids.

Good Family movie ...... will recommend you watch it.

Cool !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Black Comedy, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant comedy featuring some of America best comedians. This film made me laugh from the beginning to the end. Hilarious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb61c9a08)

This product

Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins [DVD]
Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins [DVD] by Mo'Nique (DVD - 2010)
5.70
Usually dispatched within 11 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews