Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original But Repetative
Let me start off by saying that I haven't played any of the previous Prince Of Persia games so I'm new to this character.

After reading positive reviews about this game, I decided to purchase it thinking it looked original and interesting. While it is an original game, it is not really that interesting. The game starts with the main character looking for his...
Published on 1 Jun. 2009 by The Sherinator

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars beautiful but repetitive
I will not spend time comparing this installment of the Prince with its predecessors, but will focus on couple of main issues I am having with this game.

First of all, let me say that this game is incredibly beautiful. Some of the levels are mesmerizing, especially when you revisit them after a healing. I would be happy if there was a 2 hours movie comprised...
Published on 27 Dec. 2009 by Jouissance


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars beautiful but repetitive, 27 Dec. 2009
By 
Jouissance (belgrade, serbia) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince of Persia (PS3) (Video Game)
I will not spend time comparing this installment of the Prince with its predecessors, but will focus on couple of main issues I am having with this game.

First of all, let me say that this game is incredibly beautiful. Some of the levels are mesmerizing, especially when you revisit them after a healing. I would be happy if there was a 2 hours movie comprised only of scenes from the game that i could play in the background as some kind of an elaborate screen-saver.

The mechanics of the game-play are not hard to grasp, but very soon after the initial novelty, the moves you will be using throughout the game become very stale. The "identity" move also basically performs itself, so you will often have a eeling that the game plays itself. The adventure and its tasks do not present a serious challenge, except that you might get lost in the start (which is more a frustration than a challenge), since the map you will be using is not very precise, but more of a overview of a general direction you are heading.

My main objection is the fighting though. First of all, the introductory fight is quite easy but does not manage to instruct you in any tangible way about what exactly are you supposed to do. I need to say that I am not expecting a kind of "hand holding" through something that is meant to be understood through playing itself, but the basics should have been better explained, and then the fights themselves made challenging. Like this, the mechanics of fights are vague at best, it took me a long time before I could do some moves with any certainty. The 'whack-a-mole' mechanics of defending yourself also get very tiring and frustrating. Or maybe I am just a lousy player. That I do not know :p

The worst "offender" though was the Epilogue (which is downloadable content (DLC) or even sold with some versions of the game), which present us with the same boss fight over and over... and over and over and over and over... and over... and over again. Now believe me that writing this sentence was actually *more* fun than playing the Shapeshifter boss fights in the Epilogue. Did the developer want to get a small expansion out as soon as possible so they just used whatever they already had? And even though the boss fights are just one aspect of this kinds of games, some variety is expected.

This repetitiveness is probably an outcome of the fact that Prince himself does not ever change weapons or in the fact that he is limited in his movement - he cant jump easily, cant use different speed of walking or running, cant use the environment directly (unless it is designed to be used), etc.

The most disappointing thing for me was that from the beginning till the very end, Prince learned absolutely nothing new, nor did any new abilities open up, which can be explained by the fact that they had to keep the bosses on the same level (since you can choose your own path of playing through the game, so what was the first boss for me could very well be last boss for you), but I still felt that sense of progress of the character itself, besides the obvious progression of the story line, was very lacking.

The biggest pluses, besides the design and art direction: music is excellent, atmospheric and energizing when it is suited for either, the dialogues and the story line are not bad, though sometimes cliche (but hey, no one is expecting Proust in this setting), the characters are likable and engaging, and even though some of his jokes were kinda lame, the Prince is a well rounded game character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince of Persia (PS3) (Video Game)
I've been a fan of the PoP games since the very first game back in 1990. This one is perfectly playable, but it sometimes feels as if the gamesplay has been sacrificied in the name of the game looking more impressive.

You control the Prince, who is accompanied by Elika, around a landscape features with platforms and traps, overcoming the obstables using your acrobatic abilities. This gameplay is broken up with the occasional generic baddy and boss fights. So far, so familiar.

If you're about to die, Elika will use her magic to "save" you. It means you never reach a "game over" screen, and the game flows very well. If you get "saved" then Elika puts you back on the last bit of solid ground you stood on. In a weird way it feels like cheating, but it's less annoying than having to repeatedly do long sections of jumps and runs and then dying before the next save point (I got really fed up with Sands of Time because of this).

You can make the Prince swing through an impressive range of gymnastic type moves. The thing is, they look great to the casual observer, but as a player you sometimes don't feel in control. You don't really need to time jumps, wall runs and so on precisely at all; you appear to get a comparatively long time to press the wrong button. But because what you're doing with the controller sometimes feels a bit divorced from what's happening on screen, it's easy to tap the "jump" button twice at the wrong moment and the Prince leaps to his death.

I also wasn't a big fan of the power plates; the Prince and Elika bounced around the landscape between them like pinballs. It was remiscent of Sonic the Hedgehog and just seemed a bit weird.

Another frustrating element is the fights. I've played through quite a few levels, and they essentially seem to be the same fight over and over again; the bad guy launches a massive combo attack that you need to block for what seems like ages, then you hit him back. Then he launches into a combo again, and the whole thing repeats. The bosses look and sound pretty varied and impressive; I just wish they fought a bit differently to each other.

The dialogue (which you can optionally hear by pressing L2 to chat to Elika during the game) is entertaining in a cheesy sort of way. The best example I've heard goes something like:

Elika: We need to get to the top of the tower.
Prince: We'd need a siege engine to get up there. You wouldn't happen to have one on you?
Elika: I don't have a siege engine in my pocket, and it looks like you don't either.

Oh dear...

I feel I've been a bit unfair by giving three stars (I would have gone for three and a half if Amazon let you do half stars), as it's essentially quite a fun game. It looks pretty, and for the most part I enjoyed playing it. However, the repetition, lack of precise timing, and the whole Elika-as-saviour thing mean that it feels as if it's been aimed more at kids than previous installments. It's still a must for PoP fans, but it's just not as good as my favourite game in the series, which was the Warrior Within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original But Repetative, 1 Jun. 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince of Persia (PS3) (Video Game)
Let me start off by saying that I haven't played any of the previous Prince Of Persia games so I'm new to this character.

After reading positive reviews about this game, I decided to purchase it thinking it looked original and interesting. While it is an original game, it is not really that interesting. The game starts with the main character looking for his donkey. He comes across a couple of ruffians that are pushing a young lady around. After stopping the bullies, he follows her to her castle where things are going a bit pear-shaped. The dark forces that are imprisoned beneath the castle are escaping and it's up to you and Elika to stop them! Thus begins a repetative tale of moving through a level and then killing the bad guy.

The graphics are very nice to look at and look even better on an HDTV but this cannot save the repetative gameplay. Jump here, wall run there, repeat until your eyes bleed. After dispatching with the bad guy on the level you then have to heal the corrupted land. You do this everytime, so basically your goal is exactly the same on each level. After healing the land, light seeds will appear and you have to collect them to advance through the game. This slows down the action somewhat but I can't help but feel that this was the game designer's intention to pad out the game length, but it's a little too much collecting for my tastes. The game really picked up in pace once I'd collected every single light seed that I needed but not long afterwards the game was finished. Also, you cannot die. That's right, Elika will save you every time which removes the challenge from this game. So, it's not a case of will you do it but rather how long will it take you. The controls are very simple and a three year old could play this game.

I could play this for an hour at a time before I got bored, so I don't think it's really ideal for a long gaming session but for casual gaming it's pretty good.

7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Repetative and tedious - poor follow up to previous Prince of Persia Games, 31 Mar. 2009
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince of Persia (PS3) (Video Game)
Having enjoyed all the previous Prince of Persia games, right from the old PC versions to the PS2, surely the PS3 was going to be something fantastic right?? Wrong! Firstly, the game should be retitled "Irritating, smart-mouthed buffoon in Persia" - nothing princely or heroic about him i'm afraid! The loveable rogue character that was obviously the model for this prince fell way short of the mark and we end up with a childish and irritating boy instead. This kind of character works well in a 21st Century setting like Drake's Fortune, but what ever happened to good old fashioned heroic prince characters. Sorry - it doesn't work for me.

Secondly, although the graphics and music are stunning, and the "sets" are beautiful, the gameplay is monotonous and boring. After you have healed the third or fourth area you realise that the routine is not going to change. Same vines, same slidy platforms, same hoops to hang on etc etc, baddies appearing in centre of a platform (very easily defeated, aided by the fact that you cannot actually die in this game which takes the challenge away completely!).

There are simply no "rewards" to this game, no "oh I must keep playing, I have to see what the next bit is like", because the next bit is just basically the same as the bit you have just done, and the bit before that... You just seem to be bouncing and sliding around ruins, going through the same routine, before moving onto the next area and starting again. You cannot die because Elika rescues you, so there is not even that to challenge you.

I may be showing my age here, but I remember when Prince of Persia had you actually taking part in a story properly, moving from one location and solving problems, killing baddies and finding your way out in and out of places to get to somewhere else to do something else, not just repeating the same action in the same pattern in very similarly set out environments that look pretty but you can't interact with! (would it have been too much to ask to have doors that you could go through?? to actually get inside the rooms of the ruined palace for example??)

After 24 hours this game was traded in for something a bit more intelligent!

I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who likes to think about the games they are playing, or at the least buy a trade in- don't pay full price for it - you will be wasting your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A light in the darkness, 25 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Prince of Persia (PS3) (Video Game)
S T O R Y
You play as an unnamed traveller steadily venturing across a windswept desert. After encountering a mysterious woman named Elika, you are both thrown into a strange kingdom where a dark presence lays dormant. The dark presence of Ahriman is released by Elika's father and corrupts the kingdom. All is not lost as you must battle to restore the land, using Elika's divine powers to stop Ahriman's rise.

The story is not at the forefront of the experience, bound by uninteresting support characters and a limited script. The chemistry between the traveller and Elika is surprisingly charming, giving the game greater purpose as you progress.

G R A P H I C S & S O U N D
The cel-shaded visuals of PoP have been wonderfully realised. The environments pop with colour and seamless shading. The land is split into a variety of different domains, each with a distinct architectural style and its own identity. Arabic and Persian structures create a striking backdrop throughout the game. Art assets are boldly outlined and blend well into each level.

The character models of the traveller and Elika are beautifully crafted, topped off with detailed outfits and believable real-world physics. Animations are also excellent, especially when the duo put their acrobatic skills to use and traverse many of the lavish environments. The voice acting from the traveller is a solid component, allowing Nolan North to add a touch of comedy to the traveller's VO work.

It's a shame that the enemy designs are recycled throughout the game, lacking in originality and imagination.

G A M E P L A Y
PoP is a highly accessible game, welcoming both experienced and novice gamers alike. Simply put, you cannot die in this game. Ever! However, the heartbeat of the game revolves around its solid platforming mechanics. You will have to journey to four different lands and free them of their corrupted states, which will in turn help Elika to unlock new powers. Many levels are broken up into a series of platforming challenges, ranging from wall running, climbing up poles, sliding down slopes and swinging across bars. The fluidity of the traveller's movements allow him to deal with all of these challenges with great ease. If you do mess up, then you will restart from the last flat surface point. Things are made a little easier as Elika can help you jump further, and will be able to give you a helping hand if you are to fall to your death. Level design will allow you to stay vigilant when taking on numerous obstacles.

As the game progresses you will collect Light Seeds, which will allow Elika to unlock new powers. Unlocking new powers will allow access to specific levels. Some of these powers will allow the traveller to run up walls, and even grant him the ability to perform distant jumps. The order in which you choose your powers is entirely up to you, as long as keep obtaining a healthy amount of light seeds. Light seeds are scattered throughout levels, which is a great way to test platforming reflexes and reach hidden areas.

PoP also employs combat to give the traveller a deadlier edge. Combat situations with enemies are forced encounters, which will alter the traveller's combat stance and create a designed combat area. The counter-attack nature of the combat is easy to grasp, as it will require you to repel an enemy attack and perform a series of combo attacks. Elika is on hand too to provide magical assistance. Elika can be used to perform combo attacks and push enemies back. The combat really livens up when the traveller's and Elika's attacks are combined to create long lasting combo attacks. Enemies do not take an easy beating; as the game progresses many become surrounded by darkness shields, which are capable of repelling Elika's attacks and rendering her unconscious for a few seconds. The bosses create much more interesting affairs, displaying speed and agility to really test your sword-wielding reflexes.

For all the polish and platforming goodness, the game's combat really comes up short. It lacks depth and will do very little to keep you invested. Enemy encounters are unsatisfying and laughably easy to overcome.

O V E R A L L
PoP oozes visual splendour and dazzling presentation. The story isn't exactly enthralling, but the protagonists grow into it. The graphics are artistically dreamy and paint a vibrant setting for the game. The platforming is a great deal of fun, backed by an undeveloped combat system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Game., 19 Jan. 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince of Persia (PS3) (Video Game)
Getting for Christmas was the best present I ever had for a long while and I couldn't wait any longer to play it. It starts with such beauty that your jaw drops to the floor, the scenery is just awesome and you just want to live there. The gameplay is easy once you know the controls, when you do it's easy to master but the constant blocking of your attacks against a enemy can be quite annoying. The music and sound effects are either calming or tenseful, when it's quiet you feel at rest but when the battle starts you can feel the tenison on your shoulders. The best thing about this you don't die! After playing the three Prince Of Persia's on PS2, the dying was a frusting thing for me and just wished there was a way you couldn't but you can here! The story is a passionate tale and the Prince is styled as a handsome and charming person that you just fall for him ( I did and more or less my mum and sister!) The previous princes were moody or just dark people you wouldn't want to mix with but this one you would want to. It's the best game of 2008, no doubt about it. Stuff it being easy, the battles can get hard and you really have to push the button harshly to get it right. When it finished yesterday morning, I couldn't believe it and felt really down I have completed such a brilliant game. I hope there is a second one because it just can't leave it like that. Brilliant and well worth your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a new trilogy begins, 27 Feb. 2009
By 
David Monks (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince of Persia (PS3) (Video Game)
This Game is amazing. If you loved the narration and acrobatic moves of the PS2 Prince of Persia games then this one will not disappoint. As an added bonus, most of the additional, non-essential, dialogue style narration was laugh-out-loud funny. One bit almost had me in tears, no joke.

However, there is one issue with this game for me. Although it didn't make this game any less fun, it did make the game less than what I expected. One of the major plusses in the original PS2 trilogy was the fact that all the environment based acrobatics could be applied in combat, allowing you to vault over enemies from the walls or swing round pillars to strike many enemies at once to name but a few of the possibilities. This element is missing from this game, as they focused more on the 'boss-battle' style and the chaining of attacks into cinematic sequences. While this is a very good system, it seemed to me to break up the game into two distint parts which were always intrinsicly linked in the original trilogy: the environment and the enemies.

Having said this, this is only a very minor gripe from a PS2 POP fan-boy: the game is still phenominal and well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I was hoping for, 7 Feb. 2009
By 
F. Dirkes "tailgunna" (Berlin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince of Persia (PS3) (Video Game)
Sorry gaming world, but this is one of the few games where I cann't agree with the pre-release reviews, which all tended to give this game a high rating. The graphics aside (which are gorgeous to look at), this game had me yawning about half-way through and desperate to get to the end. The gameplay is a bit too repetitive and the combat system too frustrating (no fast dodging or rolling away possible, the combos would rarely "groove", the Prince moved generally as if he had lead in his legs) to really make this game more than a pleasant experience. Add to that the 180 degree turnaround at the story's end, which I felt wasn't really mandatory, and only served to give the developers a reason to add some dlc in the near future to continue the story. I don't know... After ending the game I didn't feel a sense of accomplishment like I did with the other PoP titles, and the good voice-acting can't make up for other shortcomings which let this game fall far short of the experience in "The Sands of Time", which is something the developers were striving for. Altogether a rather stale experience that didn't leave me craving for more, unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hate it or Love it, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
Z. CARROLL "Mr. White" (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince of Persia (PS3) (Video Game)
Prince of Persia, in short, is an aweswome game, the graphics are original, the story is told in an interesting way and the classic POP game mechanics are still there, which is good to see. Like I put in the title, this is either a love it or hate it kind of game, one of my friends owns this game and says he hates it because its 'boring' but I still went ahead and bought this game and I don't look back. If you are a fan of Prince of Persia (Like me) this is a must have, but if your not, its best to try and test it out at a friends house, or just look at some reviews and trailers and make your own decision. This game came out a little over a year ago and yet its still (In my opinion) up to standard in accordance of todays next-gen games.

I have given this 4/5 stars for how fun this game is, purely because (Like all Prince of Persia games) it can get very repetitive, you need to be patient sometimes, trying time and time again to just time that jump right, or to press the right button at just the time to chain that combo, and that what m,akes it so awesome! looks great, plays great, it the Prince of Persia we all know and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun - but too short!, 3 Feb. 2009
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince of Persia (PS3) (Video Game)
I love the look of this and in many ways it is a great showcase for the PS3. The animation is very realistic and the buildings and backgrounds are very beautifully-realised - especialy when you restore a land after beating the end-of-level Guardian!

I liked the game play and the 3D puzzle element of finding your way around without touching the ground.

But it has one big drawback - after a couple of weeks it was all over - after you have liberated all the lands - and there are comparatively few - that's it - a big boss battle that looks spectacular, but is not that hard and the whole thing is over!

There was a short coda/postscript - but it made me sad to finish a game so quickly. I'm not a games hotshot and am really an old fogey - so if I can finish it, I think "Da Kidz" would be through it in one sitting!

Where are the games with lasting depth and immersion for the PS3 - I want another Oblivion - but it looks like I'll have to wait for the next FF?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prince of Persia (PS3)
Prince of Persia (PS3) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews