Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONG-BAK GONE CRAZY!
I saw this on a recent trip to Thailand (where the movie was filmed) when I was taken to see the movie by a journo friend who was bigging it up. I expected a pretty poor imitation to Ong-Bak if I'm being honest, but I was pretty BLOWN AWAY! From the Ong-Bak / Warrior King producers, Chocolate is a new all-action, stunt-packed, martial arts fest featuring some truly...
Published on 2 Sep 2008 by Contenderas

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jeeja Yanin - WOW!!!!!!!
Zen(Jeeja Yanin)an austistic - like teen with an incredible gift for mimicing martial arts is forced with a family friend Moom to collect old debts from characters in her dying mother Zin's past.Obviously they are reluctant to pay and hovering in the background is a vengeful former lover of Zin's.
Cornball story, replete with transsexual heavies and the usual over...
Published on 16 Oct 2009 by Mark Pearce


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONG-BAK GONE CRAZY!, 2 Sep 2008
This review is from: Chocolate [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this on a recent trip to Thailand (where the movie was filmed) when I was taken to see the movie by a journo friend who was bigging it up. I expected a pretty poor imitation to Ong-Bak if I'm being honest, but I was pretty BLOWN AWAY! From the Ong-Bak / Warrior King producers, Chocolate is a new all-action, stunt-packed, martial arts fest featuring some truly memorable moments. The story follows a teenage girl who visits several of her mum's ex-mafia partners to collect debts to pay for her now sick mother's hospital bills. Of course, no one wants to pay up, so she takes matters into her own fighting hands. I loved the fact that the lead action star was female for a change. Her skills are just amazing - what else can I say? I also loved the fact that half the movie wasn't devoted to trying to make her a sex symbol for the male audience. Instead, the movie concentrates on making her seem like a real fighter with a real cause - refreshing stuff!

So in conclusion, a more than worthy successor to Ong-Bak, Tony Jaa and Warrior King. If you like these, you will love Chocolate. PS. Look out for the stunts-gone-wrong out-takes over the credits at the end - totally crazy stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full of Eastern promise !, 9 Oct 2009
By 
David McDonald (Kirkcaldy in Fife .) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chocolate [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Well what can you say , the makers of Ong Bak and Warrior King have simply got better and more brutal with this little gem which should have all lovers of this genre rooting for more, more and more again . The fight scenes are once again done with no stunt doubles so god help the actors and actresses after a whole days shoot . The story goes something like this , woman is lover of feared notorious gang
leader in Thailand . She has child who seems to be autistic but very bright and good at imitating everything she sees . The woman soon develops leukemia and becomes very sick . Her daughter , Zen develops into a very formidable martial artist simply imitating every fighter she sees while growing up . To raise money for her mothers treatment Zen seeks out her mothers old underworld contacts who owe her mother money , but they just do not want to pay up so Zen does everything in her power to get the money at all costs even if it means going up against her mothers old boss Number-8 . Chocolate contains some of the most breathtaking action you will ever see and its young star , Jeeja Yanin spent 2 years in training so this is a must see movie !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Female Martial Artist, 23 Mar 2009
By 
J. Cronin "dudara" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chocolate [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I've just been blown away by the awesome Muay Thai skills of petite newcomer Jeeja Yanin in the fantastic martial arts movie Chocolate. Director Prachya Pinkaew (also behind the amazing Ong-bak and Tom yung goong) has created some awesome choreography which Jeeja Yanin pulls off with precision.

Yanin plays Zen, an autistic girl whose mother is battling cancer. Her mother had a past involvement with the criminal underword and when Zen discovers a diary detailing the money her mother is owed, she decides to go collect it in order to pay for her mother's medicine. Understandably, the gangsters aren't too keen on handing money over to a little girl, but Zen has an gift for mimicing the moves of others, and soon finds herself fending off all sorts of bad guys.

Just like Ong-bak, there are memorable scenes and bone-crunching, joint snapping action. It's an action film and a half, and it's great to see a new female martial artist burst onto the scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best chocolate i ever had, 4 July 2009
By 
Mikesg001 "Troll" (Wales, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chocolate [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
absolutly superb film from the makers of 'ong bak'. Jeejee is a very worthy successor to tony jaa. Man,that girl can fight. excellent fight cheography, very brutal and realistic. and very well acted from lead actress, at the end i actually felt for her. i would recommend this film to any martial arts fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Amazing!!!, 11 April 2009
By 
Kayon Phillips (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chocolate [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film and it was truly amazing! Her fighting skills are magnificient. There were a combination of many different fighting skills and anyone who really appreciate different kinds of martial arts should watch this movie. The story line was not at all bad and I really felt for the characters. A great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The girl kicks ass!, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chocolate [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
As a female Wing Chun practitioner, I was keen to find a decent martial arts film with a female lead that had the skills to match the likes of Tony Jaa. This film did just that. Having watched it though, I still don't know why it's called Chocolate..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Martial Arts Movie From Thailand!, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chocolate [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Chocolate is one of my favorite martial arts movies from the 2000's. It's classic blend of over the top melodrama and fast, well choreographed action. But with a twist - the main character is an autistic girl. This major difference adds another layer to this movie - actress must be good both dramatically and physically. I personally wasn't really impressed with Tony Jaa because he just felt flat as an actor and had no charisma. As an martial artist he is unmatched but he is not very good actor. But Jeeja Yanin had both acting skills and really good martial art skills. She actually reminded me a bit of young Michelle Yeoh. The action in Chocolate isn't as good as Ong-Bak but it's still light years ahead of Hollywood. The story is very simple and has a lot heart and passion which really helps driving the plot which isn't very good. The last 20 minutes of the movie are very good action set pieces after another. I liked it better than Ong-Bak climax. But that's my personal preference.

The video and audio is top notch. There are no English dub thank God! It's Thai with English subtitles. There are a bunch of featurettes covering films production, behind the scenes footage and interviews with the cast, director and action choreographer. There are also outtakes, deleted scenes, trailers and training footage. It's around about hour and a half long. Not bad for single disc edition. If you are interested in martial arts movies you definitely check this one out. Don't snob it because Jeeja Yanin isn't as good as Tony Jaa or Jackie Chan, give her a chance to impress you. Where do you else will find a girl who can do her own stunts and act well at the same time? Not in Hollywood...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 29 July 2012
By 
D. A. Williams Peck (s,wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well ive seen some films in my time, and this as got to rate as one of the best ive seen the acting really really good action well thought out wish i knew about this film sooner blue ray really brings it to life the leading actress has a brilliant furture in front of her and i be looking out for more of her films, all in all you need to watch to really understand in what i mean 10/10 this is a must have for any collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough Chick, 8 Oct 2009
Chocolate...

...you've probably never heard of it before, unless you're a hardcore martial arts fan. The name doesn't do it any favours.

But, Once you start watching it, you'll realise that you're in for an exciting 80-90 odd minutes. Almost halfway through it, you'll understand where they got the name of the film from. But by then, you won't really care.

It's about an autistic girl who has the ability to learn martial arts from movies and games. A dream for many, to be honest. The plot is simple, but it won't matter. You'll watch this film, and, be amazed at the skills of the girl as she takes on the yakuza/mafia/gangs (call them what you want), with her uncanny kung fu skills. You're jaw will drop and may even dribble, whilst staring disbelievingly at the action. You'll laugh at times, and at times, you might even cry...

...But it won't matter. Cos you'll watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Choc-tastic, 27 Feb 2009
This review is from: Chocolate [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliantly imaginative nonsense from the people behind Ongbak and the Warrior King, the story is not what is important; it is the ingenious fight sequences and the bravery from the people who pull it off. Having said that Prachya Pinkaew has blessed us with characters you care for and root for and the message that anyone can be a hero, can be more than what people think is pretty cool. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chocolate [2008] [DVD]
Chocolate [2008] [DVD] by Prachya Pinkaew (DVD - 2008)
15.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews